We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upsclae food without the pretentious attuitude” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverhouse Grill

Riverhouse Grill
Ranked #3 of 43 Restaurants in Glen Rose
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
429 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
“Upsclae food without the pretentious attuitude”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

After a day of exploring and hiking Glen Rose, my daughter and I were ready for a good meal. The strip on Hwy 67 doesn't have a lot to choose from so we ventured to the old downtown area and were rewarded. Even though the place looks kind of upscale, we called ahead of time and they were perfectly fine with us coming in t-shirts and shorts.

The restaurant is an a restored 1900's mansion and is beautiful inside - but it was a cool Spring evening so we ate outside on the large wrap-around porch. The service was friendly and extremely attentive. The food was outstanding. We started with the spinach and artichoke dip and both got the steaks with a side of mac and cheese au gratin. Everything was amazing - with my 13 year old eating all of her vegetables....and she normally hates zucchini!

While the food and service with top shelf, the atmosphere was all small town Texas. Best off all, you can walk off your dinner shopping in the downtown square that is minutes away.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TexasTraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    64
    11
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weatherford, TX
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A pleasant experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

While there was nothing outstanding about the food, it wasn't bad. The prices are a little high, but you're paying for the ambience, which is exceptional. Service was efficient and friendly. Setting was beautiful. It helped that we were there on a beautiful spring day, and sat on the covered porch. I'll go back when I'm in town.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GrammyKay_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
University Park, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Child Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012 via mobile

My family went to lunch enroute Fossil Rim. Great ambience. Wonderfully restored home on a corner lot. Lots of room for kids to stay entertained if you arrive without a reservation. The food was delicious and service was great. One negative- if sitting on then patio it can be hard to hear conversations with the frequent motorcycle pastings on the neighboring streets, but to take this out of the equation sit inside. We endured the passing motorcycles, and still really enjoyed our time.

Helpful?
Thank dixierooster01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Food and Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

The food was very good and the unique atmosphere was great. We sat outside on the porch while our kids played with chalk on their sidewalk. Service was pretty good, not exceptional, but better than average. The menu was limited, but good enough. Overall a very good place to have dinner. The only negative was the entrees were a little expensive.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DFW Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Gorgeous building and so-so food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The menu was inventive but missed the mark a bit. The historic home is beautifully restored.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank DubyaDubya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Riverhouse Grill also viewed

 

Been to Riverhouse Grill? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing