We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
109
21
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
109
21
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe barnrail carfarm animalstether ballfire pitswimming holepaluxy riverwalking trailsloved the animalsbig rocks parknorth wingfossil rimplay areafeed the animalsmy sona large family gatheringgranola bars
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 137 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2010

This is perfect if you really want to get away. There is so much to do and there is really no one around to bother you. The cottages are nice and cozy, The river is just a short walk to perfect way to cool off and fish. Little could make this place better.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meghann2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

This was our fist time to a B&B and loved every minute of it. The place is peaceful, beautiful, relaxing and my two little kids had a blast. Our only regret is that we only spent one night. We will definately return and maybe bring some friends with us the next time. Breakfast in the barn was a hit with the kids.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mezzie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

awesome, quite place. The location is perfect, right next to the river. The cabins are well designed and planned. the people are extremely friendly. Great for a camp fire and for kids.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pavan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2010

We rented an entire house and so spent about $350.00 a night and we were all disappointed in a number of things -- dishes weren't clean, lots of dust, house was freezing cold, and no table large enough for us to all sit around (five adults) and eat together. The place is ideally situated and we had two small children who loved the animals but it really needs some maintenance - upkeep. I think we will choose someplace else next Christmas even though we liked the setting. For the price one pays you expect better maintenance/cleanliness. Oh, and since it was cold there was no breakfast...which was a bit of a disappointment.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuziQinTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1947helen, Owner at Country Woods Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2010

Oh I wish you had called us! ( We have a 24/7 caretaker ) The thermostat is above the phone, a bit tricky to find. Our units are designed for 4, but you can certainly move chairs and tables from your adjoining unit. Thank you for bringing to our attention the dishes/dust and our apologies. No excuses. We have since implemented a follow up walk through before guests arrive to catch any oversights. Our breakfast is an option and we discount our guests if they prefer to use their kitchen. If the weather prevents using the barn we put breakfast in each unit. Again, we are sorry you were disappointed and hope you give us a 2nd chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

This was a great family retreat for small kids. We went to fossil rim and then enjoyed the rest of our time at Country Woods Inn. The Paluxy River wasn't that exciting...not very good for swimming but our young boys (4 &5) enjoyed "fishing."

The Country Woods Inn has a lot of animals for the kids to pet and feed which they enjoyed. The playground for toddlers is a bit rustic but our kids enjoyed it as much as any park. We love the campfire circles where we enjoyed s'mores each night.

We went at the perfect time. Not too hot. I am sure we wouldn't go in the middle of Texas summer as there is not a pool and it would get too hot!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaraD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews