We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this "resort" fulfilled my dream family reunion”
Review of Country Woods Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Country Woods Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Glen Rose B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2010

We planned to take our children and grandchildren on a trip to celebrate our 40th anniversary - they of course were all hoping for a grand cruise somewhere. I think they were silently disappointed when we told them we had found our "dream" destination at a farm in Glen Rose, TX! We found the Inn over a year ago and knew then that everyone would have a great weekend. We booked the Main house and the Prairie house for 2 nights. Although the accomodations describe "sleeps 12" (Main house) or "sleeps 8" (Prairie house), we knew that wouldn't be the case for us, as all of us own King Size beds and the beds at the Inn are all doubles. That said, there was plenty of sleeping space for the 12 of us between the 2 houses, including one Aerobed we brought with us. The one disappointment was the Big Rocks watering hole of the Paluxy River. We assumed we would spend the entire afternoon in the river. The property had access to the River, but our family found it difficult with small children due to slimy rocks and mud entry...next time we go, we will bring water hose play equipment as there are hose connections all over the property and that would certainly have satisfied our grandchilren as well as cooled us all off. The kids were happy to be outside with the animals and the playyard. The adults were happy to be in the shade and play table games. As for meals, breakfast in the barn was more than we expected for a continental breakfast. We brought our own dinner for the first night and went to Ranch House Barbeque the second night...good bbq but they were already out of major items by 6 PM. We can't wait to plan the next trip there, maybe in the cooler seasons. I'd be happy to chat with you about our weekend if you contact me at e.kessner@verizon.net

Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
Thank Cookiemaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 112 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2010

This is perfect if you really want to get away. There is so much to do and there is really no one around to bother you. The cottages are nice and cozy, The river is just a short walk to perfect way to cool off and fish. Little could make this place better.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meghann2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

This was our fist time to a B&B and loved every minute of it. The place is peaceful, beautiful, relaxing and my two little kids had a blast. Our only regret is that we only spent one night. We will definately return and maybe bring some friends with us the next time. Breakfast in the barn was a hit with the kids.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mezzie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

awesome, quite place. The location is perfect, right next to the river. The cabins are well designed and planned. the people are extremely friendly. Great for a camp fire and for kids.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pavan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2010

We rented an entire house and so spent about $350.00 a night and we were all disappointed in a number of things -- dishes weren't clean, lots of dust, house was freezing cold, and no table large enough for us to all sit around (five adults) and eat together. The place is ideally situated and we had two small children who loved the animals but it really needs some maintenance - upkeep. I think we will choose someplace else next Christmas even though we liked the setting. For the price one pays you expect better maintenance/cleanliness. Oh, and since it was cold there was no breakfast...which was a bit of a disappointment.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuziQinTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1947helen, Owner at Country Woods Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2010

Oh I wish you had called us! ( We have a 24/7 caretaker ) The thermostat is above the phone, a bit tricky to find. Our units are designed for 4, but you can certainly move chairs and tables from your adjoining unit. Thank you for bringing to our attention the dishes/dust and our apologies. No excuses. We have since implemented a follow up walk through before guests arrive to catch any oversights. Our breakfast is an option and we discount our guests if they prefer to use their kitchen. If the weather prevents using the barn we put breakfast in each unit. Again, we are sorry you were disappointed and hope you give us a 2nd chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glen Rose hotels
0.9 km away
Inn on the River
Inn on the River
#1 of 6 in Glen Rose
133 reviews
0.6 km away
Live Oak B&B
Live Oak B&B
#3 of 8 in Glen Rose
3 reviews
2.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Glen Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Comanche Peak
1.1 km away
Best Western Dinosaur Valley Inn & Suites
1 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Glen Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Woods Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Woods Inn

Address: 420 Grand Ave, Glen Rose, TX 76043-5325
Region: United States > Texas > Glen Rose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Glen Rose
Price Range: ₹ 7,198 - ₹ 9,062 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Woods Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to an adventure! Secluded cabins, century old guesthouses, Main Lodge, even a restored Santa Fe Railroad Car or an authentic Airstream Land Yacht. 40 wooded acres on the Paluxy River with a river walk to the historic downtown square. Minutes from Fossil Rim, Dinosaur State Park, Dinosaur World and The Promise, this Award Winning inn is the perfect setting for Family Reunions, Church Retreats and Weddings in the breathtaking Chapel in the Woods! 45 minutes from Fort Worth/Dallas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Country Woods Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Woods Hotel Glen Rose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing