We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic break”
Review of Country Woods Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Country Woods Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Glen Rose B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We had a great time at the Country Woods Inn. My 2 year old son loved running about and interacting with the farm animals. Prairie Wing south was lovely and cozy and had the living room was just big enough for my son to play whilst my 7 month could practise crawling on the floor. Such attention to detail, picnic hamper, bird spotting guide, star gazers guide even a hair dryer! Felt really homely. great location with easy access to tourist haunts but the truth is with little ones you can have a lovely day just staying put. Plenty of space for the kids to run about and play. we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Vicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 98 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2011

Went to Country Woods Inn to escape the craziness that is my life in Dallas.
My two dachshunds and I went for three nights and it was so peaceful and relaxing. Since i was staying during the week, I had the entire inn to myself and it was such a relaxing and peacful few days. Plan to bring my family sometime and I also plan another solo visit to relax and meditate.
Thanks Helen for a glorious place.
Bevdea

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoppellBevdea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

This place is so amazing! We stayed 1 night in Farmhouse East and we are planning our next stay next month. The country house was decorated to every inch, no detail was missed. Our 3 yr old daughter had her own cute room just off the master. Master included canopy bed and sofa. Wrap around porch off each bedroom! Tire swing, hammock, fresh Coffee, fridge, sink, claw foot tub, too cute!! Then there are the animals... What an incredible experience for this young suburban family! We fed goats, brushed horses, held bunnies, kitties, the cutest pig named Sammy. The location is amazing!! We walked to Big Rocks Park, walked along riverwalk into Glen Rose for dinner and exploring. It feels like you are on a movie set, it's that unreal from city life. This is the best kept secret family road trip in all DFW!! Really romantic for couples too!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Acurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

My family (including our 2 dogs) stayed at Country Woods Inn during the month of August 2011.
To say that the property was amazing would be an understatement.
My two 9-year old girls were outside the entire time playing on the rope swings, feeding the animals, or just exploring.
Even though we had a tv in the cabin, we only turned it on once (for Dad to "catch some sports highlights!").
the cabin was equipped for anything the girls could imagine....mason jars with "holes" in the lids for fireflies, a picnic basket, bird-watching guides, games, etc.
We will be coming back to this property very soon!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

An old high school friend and I decided to make a tradition of taking our kids on short summer vacation in Texas. We never dreamed this would raise the bar so high! The setting at Country Woods Inn is incredibly relaxing. Really makes you leave all your stresses at the front gate. The house we stayed in was like a storybook - so rustic, yet very comfortable and homey. Our kids loved being able to run around the yard, play tetherball, lay in the hammock, or take turns on the tire swing. And the ANIMALS! Getting to see and pet and feed so many different farm animals was such a thrill!

Glen Rose is a great little town, and Country Woods is just a few blocks off the courthouse square, though the location makes you feel like you are miles from anywhere. We found it very convenient to get to Dinosaur Valley, Dinosaur World, and Fossil Rim. There is a snow cone/ice cream stand up the road, and it was fun to share some childhood memories with our young ones. We went into town each night to eat, and also enjoyed shopping on the square and letting the kids run around the 1930's bandstand outside the courthouse.

Since the house we stayed in had a full kitchen, we were able to bring groceries and make breakfast, then pack lunches to take with us each day. We were so pleased with Country Woods Inn, and felt it was worth every penny. The kids loved it too, and kept asking if we could just move there!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexasDia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glen Rose hotels
0.9 km away
Inn on the River
Inn on the River
#1 of 6 in Glen Rose
133 reviews
0.6 km away
Live Oak B&B
Live Oak B&B
#3 of 8 in Glen Rose
3 reviews
1.6 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Comanche Peak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Best Western Dinosaur Valley Inn & Suites
2.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Glen Rose
1 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Glen Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Woods Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Woods Inn

Address: 420 Grand Ave, Glen Rose, TX 76043-5325
Region: United States > Texas > Glen Rose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Glen Rose
Price Range: ₹ 7,179 - ₹ 9,038 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Woods Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to an adventure! Secluded cabins, century old guesthouses, Main Lodge, even a restored Santa Fe Railroad Car or an authentic Airstream Land Yacht. 40 wooded acres on the Paluxy River with a river walk to the historic downtown square. Minutes from Fossil Rim, Dinosaur State Park, Dinosaur World and The Promise, this Award Winning inn is the perfect setting for Family Reunions, Church Retreats and Weddings in the breathtaking Chapel in the Woods! 45 minutes from Fort Worth/Dallas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Country Woods Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Woods Hotel Glen Rose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing