We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend getaway”
Review of Country Woods Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Country Woods Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Glen Rose B&B and Inns
Coppell
2 reviews
“weekend getaway”
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Went to Country Woods Inn to escape the craziness that is my life in Dallas.
My two dachshunds and I went for three nights and it was so peaceful and relaxing. Since i was staying during the week, I had the entire inn to myself and it was such a relaxing and peacful few days. Plan to bring my family sometime and I also plan another solo visit to relax and meditate.
Thanks Helen for a glorious place.
Bevdea

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoppellBevdea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    19
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
76
5
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

This place is so amazing! We stayed 1 night in Farmhouse East and we are planning our next stay next month. The country house was decorated to every inch, no detail was missed. Our 3 yr old daughter had her own cute room just off the master. Master included canopy bed and sofa. Wrap around porch off each bedroom! Tire swing, hammock, fresh Coffee, fridge, sink, claw foot tub, too cute!! Then there are the animals... What an incredible experience for this young suburban family! We fed goats, brushed horses, held bunnies, kitties, the cutest pig named Sammy. The location is amazing!! We walked to Big Rocks Park, walked along riverwalk into Glen Rose for dinner and exploring. It feels like you are on a movie set, it's that unreal from city life. This is the best kept secret family road trip in all DFW!! Really romantic for couples too!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Acurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, TX
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2011

My family (including our 2 dogs) stayed at Country Woods Inn during the month of August 2011.
To say that the property was amazing would be an understatement.
My two 9-year old girls were outside the entire time playing on the rope swings, feeding the animals, or just exploring.
Even though we had a tv in the cabin, we only turned it on once (for Dad to "catch some sports highlights!").
the cabin was equipped for anything the girls could imagine....mason jars with "holes" in the lids for fireflies, a picnic basket, bird-watching guides, games, etc.
We will be coming back to this property very soon!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

An old high school friend and I decided to make a tradition of taking our kids on short summer vacation in Texas. We never dreamed this would raise the bar so high! The setting at Country Woods Inn is incredibly relaxing. Really makes you leave all your stresses at the front gate. The house we stayed in was like a storybook - so rustic, yet very comfortable and homey. Our kids loved being able to run around the yard, play tetherball, lay in the hammock, or take turns on the tire swing. And the ANIMALS! Getting to see and pet and feed so many different farm animals was such a thrill!

Glen Rose is a great little town, and Country Woods is just a few blocks off the courthouse square, though the location makes you feel like you are miles from anywhere. We found it very convenient to get to Dinosaur Valley, Dinosaur World, and Fossil Rim. There is a snow cone/ice cream stand up the road, and it was fun to share some childhood memories with our young ones. We went into town each night to eat, and also enjoyed shopping on the square and letting the kids run around the 1930's bandstand outside the courthouse.

Since the house we stayed in had a full kitchen, we were able to bring groceries and make breakfast, then pack lunches to take with us each day. We were so pleased with Country Woods Inn, and felt it was worth every penny. The kids loved it too, and kept asking if we could just move there!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasDia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2011

If you have kids, this is the place to stay. Our son (and us parents) had the time of our lives feeding and petting the farm animals which were right outside our door. We woke up every morning to the crow of the rooster; not something we have in the city. The accommodations are beautifully decorated with lots of thoughtful touches for the traveler. We watched the deer play in the pasture in the morning as we ate our breakfast. Visited Dinosaur Valley State Park and saw awesome dino tracks and then ambled over to Dinosaur World for more dinosaurs. To cool off we had a dip in the Oakdale Plunge! A place we will love to visit again!

Room Tip: Carriage House great for kids!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvelynaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glen Rose hotels
2.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Glen Rose
1.6 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Comanche Peak
1.1 km away
Best Western Dinosaur Valley Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Glen Rose
1.5 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 8 in Glen Rose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.9 km away
Inn on the River
Inn on the River
#1 of 6 in Glen Rose
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Woods Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Woods Inn

Property: Country Woods Inn
Address: 420 Grand Ave, Glen Rose, TX 76043-5325
Region: United States > Texas > Glen Rose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Glen Rose
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,047 - ₹ 10,211
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Woods Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to an adventure! Secluded cabins, century old guesthouses, Main Lodge, even a restored Santa Fe Railroad Car or an authentic Airstream Land Yacht. 40 wooded acres on the Paluxy River with a river walk to the historic downtown square. Minutes from Fossil Rim, Dinosaur State Park, Dinosaur World and The Promise, this Award Winning inn is the perfect setting for Family Reunions, Church Retreats and Weddings in the breathtaking Chapel in the Woods! 45 minutes from Fort Worth/Dallas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Woods Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Woods Hotel Glen Rose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing