We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible place, worst customer service, stealing your money”
Review of India Garden

India Garden
Ranked #85 of 405 Restaurants in Garland
Cuisines: Indian
Good for: Romantic
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Reviewed 8 May 2018

On 05/06/2017 we went to this restaurant at around 1pm with family and friends. We were 20 adults and 5 kids. Due to a previous experience, we asked the family member of the owner if they have enough food for us. He said YES and took us to a room inside which fits all of us. They we were asked to go and get the food, but no plates, no spoon or forks. We waited for few minutes for those to come. When it arrived, we saw the food trays almost empty and not enough for all of us. We asked to fill in those trays which are empty and waited. No food coming. Instead of us waiting in line, we took whatever was there and again on the way to our seat we notified the same guy that no food is stocked in the trays. He said they are working on it and please be seated and will let us know. No one came for a while. We complaint to a guy who came up to us to see how many of us are there. He said that they cannot make food for all of us unless we tell them we are coming. Even after complaining about lack of service and they making a statement that they could handle these many people they still had new guest coming in and they seated them. This has become their new style of functioning; not giving food, and taking the full buffet price. We questioned the attitude of their staff; his comment was to consider this as charity. This guy knew what he was doing, Taking money without providing service. This is a horrible place, no customer service, no regrets for that they are doing.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DGeorgerowlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

This is worst restaurant experience ever. Walkin to not enough spoons. Then when going through buffet line, there are signs of food, but empty, 20 minutes later still only some have food. They are very slow to refill, then ran out of plates, but who needs plates if no food. Then when complaining about paying for service not provided demeaned us compared to apologizing. Please dont support , the lack of any responsibility for poor service is appauling. They discriminate us , when we told about that they told as we do lot for charity and will take bill as this compared to apologizing for lack of food, plates, or spoons.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank alwynthomassaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

After a long day of work, we stumbled this great Indian restaurant late on a Friday night. The place was clean and immaculate. The ambiance and decor is great, as your eyes are drawn to the rich decorations on the walls, your ears are drawn in by the mellow Indian music, and your nostrils get inundated by the smells of a kitchen busy making delicious food.

The place wasn’t particularly busy, and although they were seriously understaffed, the waiter was attentive, prompt, and efficient. He took care of our order promptly while also taking care of another 5 tables.

We had an appetizer, two main dishes, and a dessert. Every item was cooked to perfection and presented in an attractive way. The food was both flavorful and spicy, and we enjoyed the mouthwatering experience with every bite.

We shall be visiting this delightful eatery again ... because we had a great experience. If you’re in the area, you owe it to yourself to visit.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank MarcoSal67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

The food seems blander than normal and less of it. Also noticed they have closed off the bar and the wait staff weren't the usual guys who smiled more. It's still not bad but seemed below par this last time. I'll try again later and see if it's truly gone south. Hope not, it's been a great place to eat lunch Indian buffet!

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Jack50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

This restaurant has been in Garland for 15+years, and I can't believe we are just now trying it out. The food was absolutely incredibly delicious. We didn't know what to order, being unfamiliar with India cuisine. The waiter sent one of the chefs to talk with us, and he narrowed it down to an appetizer and two entrees. I can not rave enough about the food as well as the service. We learned that the chef is world renowned nation wide. He gets flown to various venues in New York, Chicago and other places to as the head chef for thousands of participants. The pride they take with their dishes certainly reflect this. We will be back, and very soon. You will not be disappointed. This place is a sleeper! It is off of I-30 in the back of a strip center. Im thinking we just passed it by since when we were on this west bound service road at Beltline, we were always on our way home and just did not see it. Great atmosphere as well, may I add. Their website is indiagardengarland.com. Give it a try!

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank kathey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to India Garden? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing