We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let the bright flashing lights put you off. Food and service are great!”
Review of India Garden

India Garden
Ranked #86 of 410 Restaurants in Garland
Cuisines: Indian
Good for: Romantic
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Reviewed 24 March 2017

We used our GPS to find a close Indian Restaurant. It came up with The India Garden and we were only about 2 miles from it. When we drove up we were met by bright, garish blinking colored lights and almost didn't go in. I won't say it's the most attractive Indian restaurant I have been to, but then I'd rather have excellent food. VERY glad we did go in because the food was extremely good and the service was great too! Turns out India Garden has been open for over 20 years! As usual, we ordered way too much. Seems our eyes are almost always bigger than our stomachs. While not on the menu, we asked if they had Onion Bhaji and they did. They were THE best I have had anywhere. We also enjoyed the mint/Cilantro green sauce very much. We then had tasty Aloo Gobi and mild was plenty hot. We ordered Chicken Tikka Masala med. and Chicken Makhani (a/k/a Butter Chicken). Both were super. We also tried the Garlic Naan and Pappadums. Everything was terrific and we can't wait to go back again.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NewmansTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Headed from Goodnight Texas to lake Fork. After a stop in Dallas we decided to stop for the night and Garland was a good stopping point. We just googled restaurants and saw this. Man, are we glad we tried it. Clean; inviting . The first sniff inside the door just made us all the more hungry. We were not disappointed. Excellent. I ordered a goat dish; wife lamb... and we ended up switching and very happy. And the naan was flavorful and full of garlic. Hope we can get back.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank Cecil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

So good. Fresh and full of flavor. Nice selection of dishes on the buffet. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank Debbie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2016

The restaurant was very quiet when we visited in the early evening in midweek, and we were served quickly. We both chose meals with lamb and with medium spiciness, and were very satisfied, with both quality and quantity--we took a good portion home for lunch the next day. The aloo paratha was a little disappointing, and regular leaf tea seemed not to be available--only chai. But the main dishes made up for these small disappointments.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Biotourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We ate here on a Sunday for lunch buffet and the restaurant was quite crowded. The service was not the best and we had trouble getting drinks and refills. The salad portion of the buffet was my favorite. The main buffet was good, just not great. Some of the sauces could have been a little more spicy. The naan was a little overcooked and had been sitting in the buffet for quite a long time. I prefer when the naan is brought to your table fresh and warm. Desserts consisted of rice pudding, carrot halwa and a custard. Service was disappointing and the food was okay - nothing great, nothing horrible.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 860SusanB860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to India Garden? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing