We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“There's good and there's bad... but mostly it's bad.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Frisco, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“There's good and there's bad... but mostly it's bad.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

If this hotel is really the 10th highest rated in Galveston, I would hate to think what number 11 is like! It has a few redeeming qualities, but this hotel is certainly not worth the $190+ rate.

SERVICE: The staff were generally very friendly, however when I booked our room (two months in advance) I requested a room on one of the upper floors. I then called the morning of to confirm everything, but "Laura" informed me that rooms are strictly "first come first serve". I wasn't in the mood to argue, but needless to say we ended up on the 1st floor.

CLEANLINESS: The hotel is generally pretty clean, but the grout in our bathroom was seriously gross (see photos). The entire property is in desperate need of refurbishing.

LOCATION: The location is pretty decent in terms of hot spots in Galveston, but even in an ocean front room you can forget about hearing any waves crashing on the beach just 100 yards away. The noise from the traffic is terrible. Our balcony could have been great but all we could hear all day and most of the night were attention-starved bikers on Harleys, trucks with no muffler, and music blasting from the ever-growing abundance of Galveston rif-raff. (How about a nice strong noise ordinance, City of Galveston??)

PROPERTY: The exterior of the Casa del Mar is not bad. It looks nice and the landscaping is good. However, the elevator was broken for the first part of our stay, and walking through our interior hallway felt like walking through a jail house. The interior windows have bars on them (bars??) and there is a constantly changing assortment of bad smells: it seemed to fade from mildew, to dead fish, to yesterdays cooking, and back to mildew.

ROOMS: It's nice to have a stove and a very dented fridge, and I was told that most of the rooms now have flat screen TV's.. but that's where the fun ends. The rooms are very small and look like they have not been renovated for at least 20 years. Our bed was a joke. The mattress was so sunken in the middle it felt like sleeping in a spongy hammock. Every single light fixture is filled with ultra-bright, eye-killing florescent bulbs, even in the bedroom and living room. (I bought a regular light bulb at Kroger and screwed it into the lamp just so we didn't feel like we were serving time.)

OTHER ISSUES: There was rust on the fridge, in the bathroom, on some of the light fixtures, and the patio door frame was VERY rusted. (I know it must be difficult to maintain things when you're on the water, but at least try! One of the closets had a water-heater stuffed into it, and EVERYTHING in the room (fixtures, TV's, counter tops, linens, towels, decor) was the lowest quality I've ever seen in a 3-star hotel. I know you pay for the beach location, but you shouldn't feel like you're staying in a $59 road-side motel.

Amazingly, this property seems like it is constantly booked so they MUST have the funds to renovate. We definitely won't be back until they do.

Room Tip: (1) Choose a better hotel. (2) Get there early... As I was told, it's "first come, first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    138
    60
    24
    15
See reviews for
217
83
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

This is a mid level condo property, right at the corner of 61st and Seawall. We used vrbo.com to find an owner and rented directly through them. Condo was clean, and had all the amenities we needed for the long weekend. We especially love that one pool is heated, a big plus during the spring, and that the property offered free wi-fi. We also use the outdoor showers next to each pool, and the ice machines in each hallway (a quarter a bucket)...little things that help make the stay nice.We prefer to set up on West Beach for long days, but like that this property is a short walk across Seawall for a quick stretch of beach. There is also a Mickey D's and gas/convenience store right across 61st.

We saw lots of maintenance keeping things clean and in check and parking monitors to make sure only renters used the spaces. Overall it's basic and comfortable, but would recommend something with more space for more than about a 3 day trip. For what we paid, a good experience and review.

Room Tip: Room tip: check out the property map and try to get an interior west view toward the front...east v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank confetti70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We went to Galveston to celebrate our anniversary and decided on Casa Del Mar, because my boyfriend had stayed there when he was a kid. This hotel has been around for a long time and we weren't sure how well it had been maintained; the recent reviews on tripadvisor persuaded us to give it a try. We were not disappointed. The pictures of the rooms on the website are very accurate. The room was clean and looked recently painted. The kitchen was outfitted with basic dishes, glasses, and flatware, a frying pan, sauce pan, and a larger pot which was large enough for pasta. There was a toaster, can opener, and microwave. There aren't any sharp kitchen knives, so if you plan on cooking bring yours from home. The refrigerator was spotless and had ample space for our food. The freezer had ice trays w ice already in them.

We stayed in a room with a view of the Gulf and it was totally worth the price difference. The hotel staff was also very accommodating. We were able to check in at 3:15 when we arrived from Houston. The first room we were in was on the first floor and didn't have the best view. My boyfriend called the front desk and we were moved to a higher floor. They also have suggestions on places to eat.

It was a great weekend and we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viva_La_Viajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

We booked this hotel because of the "kitchen" and the price. We are a retired couple on a lengthy road trip and wish to have the option of preparing our own meals.

The on line photos are exactly what you are getting. Our unit was on the 3rd floor and we had an ocean view from the balcony. The hotel is across the street from the seawall and a small sandy beach area. We were able to sit on the balcony and see and hear the waves from the gulf.

Check in was smooth, staff very pleasant . The unit is showing its age in it's decor and ammenities. It was clean, bed was comfortable, towels were plentiful, housekeeping staff excellent.

The fully equiped kitchen had a few minuses.......would like to have had a colander/strainer, salad or mixing bowls, veggie peeler, drying rack for doing the dishes, scrubbie for the pots and pans a sharp knife or two !

The unit can sleep 6 but would be very crowded with 6 and not enough seating for 6 .The Master BR with its Queen bed is small and the bed is against a wall , not great if you have to get up at night! Our rate of 80.00 seemed appropriate for what we got. When we inquired about 2 extra nights (Fri/Sat) because it was Spring Break the price more than doubled......I would never spend 160.00 on this unit !

It worked for us, but was not a unit worth close to 200.00, but I guess you pay for the location and the season.

Room Tip: 3rd floor and to the rear of the complex, away from Seawall Blvd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank windsorwand31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Me and my husband came down here for our anniversary trip. Which was also our 1st trip to galveston. When we got to hotel we were booked for a partial ocean view room. We upgraded (I asked for the very front room that faced the ocean) and paid about 50.00 extra. We stayed here 6 days. We were on the 3rd floor. We loved our room it was perfect for us. The kitchen was very nice also had plates/bowls/silverware. Slept very good on our bed. The balcony view was beautiful!! Had a nice tv in the other room. Housekeeping did a great job. There's a golden corrall to the right of the hotel. Your on the seawall where everything is which made this location perfect it's right in the middle of everything. There's a nice heated pool we swam in for a couple hours. There's a security man that walks the property at all hours of the day. Overall we would defintely stay again. Loved the hotel, view and the location!!

Room Tip: Ask for the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bubbles0212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.2 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
0.2 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
5.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
5.4 km away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites

Property: Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Address: 6102 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-2031
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Galveston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,591 - ₹ 20,728
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted Best Condo Rental on the Island! Our on site Galveston team personally handles your reservation when you book direct. We guarantee the best service, rates & packages! Casa del Mar Beachfront Suites - always a super value; ideal for a family vacation or a weekend getaway for two. When you’re looking for the ideal lodging choice, why stay in an ordinary hotel when you can have all the comforts of home in a beachfront suite ? Casa del Mar Beachfront Suites are a super value, ideal for a family vacation or a weekend getaway for two. Each fully furnished suite offers a private balcony for you to relax and enjoy the view as well as a small living area with a newly remodeled studio kitchen. There is a small private bedroom with a queen size bed and in the living area, a queen sofa sleeper and a set of Junior bunks designed for small children under the age of 10. We have two tropical pools (one seasonally heated), a trellised Bar-B-Que area, laundry facilities and Complimentary Wi-Fi is available in all suites and throughout the property. Our beautifully landscaped property also features conference and catering facilities ideal for family reunions, small groups and corporate retreats. Casa del Mar is conveniently located right on the Seawall beachfront, central to all of the Island's great restaurants, shopping and favorite attractions. Relax by the pool, take a sunset stroll on the beach or enjoy Galveston's rich Island history. Casa del Mar and Galveston Island offer something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Hotel Galveston
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing