We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Too Expensive for Location and Size of Room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
250 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Too Expensive for Location and Size of Room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We paid $141 for a "suite" with a balcony at this Hampton Inn. My husband is a diamond member and we stay in Hampton Inn Studio Suites frequently. This was the smallest suite I have ever seen. There was a king bed, a sofa and table. There was a wet bar - but it was smaller than the regular rooms. We also paid extra for a balcony that overlooked the Wal Mart parking lot with the Gulf of Mexico in the far distance. The balcony faces the west so you will get full sun and heat in the evenings. Our co-worker had to move rooms because of a non-functioning air conditioner - she was moved to another room and the light in the bathroom was out...The area outside the pool was littered with cigarette buts and a beer can. There are better options for the price and the location. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonGalveston, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
I appreciate the review of your recent stay at Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston. I apologize for the room assignment not meeting yours and your coworker’s expectations. While we strive to meet every room type request, we understand that it can be difficult when satisfaction is not met. I invite you to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to Galveston.

Neel Shah, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    189
    99
    52
    48
See reviews for
321
170
29
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haslet, Texas
Level Contributor
192 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

This comfortable hotel has clean, comfortable rooms and a great sitting/breafast area. The breakfasts are decent with hot waffles everyday with a rotating hot menu. There is always fruit and cold cereals. The staff was relatively friendly, but the cook was very friendly. She will go out of her way for you unlike many other hotels I have stayed at.

The pool is very clean and has a decent hot tub to relax in as well. I love the covered parking in the basement. The kids loved the fish display in the lobby and the staff let the kids "help" feed them.

All in all, I would definitely stay here again and plan on doing so this summer.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly remodeled rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danda0624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
138 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

The room was clean and had a view of the Gulf and WalMart across the street. The stay was typical for a Hampton Inn. All the regular amenities. The A/C did not perform as one would expect. The room was always damp and by morning everything we had out was damp, including the carpet. Now , this could have been because of the close proximity to the Gulf or the high humidity theat night. Whatever the reason, it made for an uncomfortable night's sleep. And for $209 per night, this was the most expensive Hampton Inn I have ever stayed in. Certainly not worth that price!!

Room Tip: Make sure the A/C is performing properly, and if not, change rooms or change hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caribbeanlover2263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
293 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Was in town for a conference at Moody Gardens and this is fairly close location and a decent price. Breakfast was standard Hampton fare, basic but always consistantly good. Rooms are quiet and comfortable, and the front desk and breakfast staff are very polite. For a seasoned traveler, it's always nice to have a mini-fridge and microwave when going out to eat again just gets to be boring.

Room Tip: Limited parking up front, so if you don't do stairs, park in back and take the parking garage el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Ok they are what you expect from The Hampton this is my favorite Hotel chain overall of all the chains I stay at. There hotel doesnt face the beach but if you can live without seeing the beach or the beach front hotels are full then stay at The Hampton if your use to certain ways of living. There roos are small at this inparticular hampton but they are oh so nice not to mention there beds and if you have ever stayed at a Hampton you know what I am talking about. There so big and huge if you looked up clouds in the dictionary they would have picture of The Hamptons beds. Plus ice box and microwave which is what makes them my favorite becuase of my girls I always need a way ot keep milk cold and to heat up snacks. The TV's are great and they do have a outdoor pool and hot tube and you park underground which is kool for the kids. The have the best free breakfast in the hotel world. Hot Food ( eggs / bacon / sausage) make your own Waffels that the kids love with tons of juices and ceral. They are super family friendly. The front desk staff was great the kids loved the late night ice cream at the store down stairs. Plus you get a balcony with a side glimpse of the beach and the fresh air bathroom is the bomb and your next door to Walmart. Perfect Place!! Good job guys!!

Room Tip: High Floors on right side facing walmart the other rooms views are worst.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bethany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.6 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
5.6 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.6 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
0.4 km away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
4.9 km away
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Address: 6431 Central City Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-2059
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#8 Business Hotel in Galveston
#11 Family Hotel in Galveston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,159 - ₹ 14,796
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston hotel is right by the Galveston Seawall, Moody Gardens, the beach, and historic sites. The hotel offers a free full hot breakfast every day, free high-speed internet and Wi-Fi, outdoor pool and whirlpool, fitness center, and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston
Hampton Inn And Suites Galveston
Hampton Inn Hotel Galveston
Hampton Inn Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing