We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (344)
Filter reviews
344 results
Traveller rating
146
121
43
19
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
146
121
43
19
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire pit across the street great pool starbucks coffee ocean view pool bar quiet location sofa bed galveston island business trip seawall blvd sea wall the shuttle driver would stay here again spring break very nice hotel pleasure pier
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 344 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at the hotel and it was nice and rooms were clean and service pretty good except we had to always ask for shampoo and conditioner and also coffee - everyday.

We were a little disappointed with pool cleanliness as it seemed very cloudy although it was well designed with shallow area for children at both ends of pool and also a nice waterfall. We had some pool toys for kids to dive down and find and when they were at bottom of pool you could not even see them with naked eye. We almost lost them but gathered up some of the kids and between around 10 of them were able to find. The pool hours were great up until around midnight. Pool towels are supplied but they never put out very many at a time so grab them fast when they come. Nice outdoor area by pool with fire pit and comfortable sofas.

The parking was also good and I recommend you park in the basement after you check in because you have a short walk to elevator and then straight up to your floor. Also gets car out of hot sun.

The beach across from the hotel is all large rocks and it is about a quarter to half mile down to sandy beach area. Best to drive and park.

Front desk staff were great, exactly what you would expect at Marriott. Check in and out was good.

Picture is looking at pool area from our room on 2nd floor.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank 329stanleyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

Went down to Galveston for a quick weekend getaway with the kids. The room was nice, the pool area was AMAZING! Loved the entire outdoor area which was set up for hanging out with friends or family- lots of comfortable shaded seating areas, a fire pit, games for people to play while visiting outdoors. My only complaint is the coffee in the room only offered a single serving of caffeinated coffee. Not enough for this Bustelo loving family! One of my favorite things about this Courtyard by Marriott is it gave my husband and I the feeling we were having a grown-up vacation (thank you, poolside bar), while still being family friendly. There were quite a few children at the hotel, and I saw them on our floor as well. But inside our room, I couldn't hear any tell-tale signs of having other children right next door. Definitely going back again! I'm embarrassed to say, we enjoyed our stay at the hotel so much, we didn't even make it to the beach.... which is LITERALLY across the street. (smh)

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Guide794631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

The rooms were very spacious. The workers were all amazingly nice and helpful! I have a family of 6 so the room being bigger than normal was a plus!! Very clean, great pool. Great view of the beach as well.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Alisha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

Not wanting to sound like a whiner as things happen. I obviously travel a lot and this is the second time I have visited this hotel. This time was a little frustrating as a maintenance person set of the fire alarm sometime after midnight. If you have not heard the new ones, they are painful and really freaking loud! It was not a great way to spend the night before a cruise! Stuff happens, it did, they get an "average" rating this time.

Room Tip: There are rooms facing the ocean, get one of those!
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerfromArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal W, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island and providing your honest feedback.

Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and we sincerely apologize for falling short of meeting your expectations. As a teachable moment, we have shared your feedback with the appropriate hotel team to ensure the necessary guidelines are in place to prevent this from occurring in the future.

Once again, thank you for your valued feedback and we hope to serve you again whenever your travels bring you back to Galveston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Very nice hotel room....we got a suite for 4 of us, with an oceanview and it was perfect! The staff was very friendly. Love that they can make STARBUCKS coffee!! The shuttle service had something wrong with the back door of the van so we had to improvise with the luggage, but they worked it out and got us to and from our port without any trouble and with a smile! I would definitely come here again next trip. No issues at all.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal W, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

Thanks for staying with us. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Galveston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews