We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and great value for the price!”
Review of Super 8 Galveston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Galveston
Ranked #27 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean and great value for the price!”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I was nervous when I booked with Super 8 due to all the negative reviews.

However, from the moment I arrived until when I checked out, my experience has been nothing but positive! The staff was friendly, the room was clean, everything worked as it's supposed to and it was surprisingly quiet.

The motel is also very conveniently located near the seawall and there is a Walmart, Kroger and Randall's all equally nearby in case you need anything.

For the price we paid, it was EXTREMELY worth it. We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Weili W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    131
    120
    60
    60
See reviews for
198
115
25
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lufkin, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This motel was clean and served its purpose. We went to Galveston to get away for the weekend and didn't want to waste lots of money on a room when we were going to be there very much. The room was clean and the staff was friendly. We booked a room with one king bed through Priceline and when we checked in they didn't have any available. They gave us a larger room with two king size beds at the same rate. Can't really say anything bad about the place and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perse534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I had some trepidation about staying here since I didn't check the reviews till after I booked. I was pleasantly suprised. My room was perfectly clean every day and there were definitely no roaches in sight. The staff were always courteous and professional. The beds were comfortable and the room was quiet (yes it was winter time, would be a different scene summer). I had been on a long haul flight so I appreciated the black out curtains that helped make sure I slept well. Free wi-fi and breakfast and a room rate of $40/night means I really can't complain. Most people at the event I attended were paying $180/night to stay elsewhere - I would not have been any happier staying in those rooms!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RozKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2011

I will never return to any Super 8 motels again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pepeluish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Galveston hotels

Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2011

I stayed here for a week in room 222 (smoking room). My friend in 215 (nonsmoking).

Room 222 is roomy with a separate area with a couch. Room 215 had table and chairs.

The bed is very firm (no bed bugs) and the 3 pillows range from hard to soft. There is a hair dryer, coffee maker, alarm clock, microwave, fridge and the air conditioner worked great.

PROS: The room was very quiet, couldn’t hear the neighbors or much outside noise.

Shower was hot and had different shower head settings.

Fighting (drunk) neighbors were responded to quickly by hotel and police. (I'm not complaning - turned out to interesting Saturday night and the cop was cute as hell)

Other guests were friendly and helpful. Some staff (Latoya) were nice - no hassle about wanting more towels.

Lots of power plugs and storage space. Tiled entry made for less track in of sand. Black out curtains worked well if tucked up on to window sill (blown by air conditioner if not tucked).

Deadbolt and security bar on door.

Beach is a three minute walk away. (From hotel to beach)

CONS: There is NO ocean view.

The shower wall had not been cleaned in a while - shaving cream from previous guest(s) was still there. Did get black feet after walking on carpet. Mirror was really streaky. Lighting in bathroom pretty dim. (Rest of the room seemed clean - counter tops, coffee maker, microwave, fridge, tables, bed smelled good)

Counted 4 roaches during my stay - though to be fair - I saw just as many during my stay at the Hilton 2 weeks before hand.

There was only one washer, dryer and ice machine (take your bucket and fill upon your return in the evenings) all on the first floor, in the back. (Which can be a pain if you're in the front part of the hotel)

MISC: The pool is small, but nice enough to lounge in - the security light is really irritating though - blinks on and off, blinding you when you least expect it. There wasn't a fitness area.

The WIFI worked well enough - though I don't think it would be good enough for anyone needing high speed. The phone didn't work in my room - I think you have to pay $10 fee for it to be turned on?

Snack and coke machine had fresh stock. There is soap, shampoo and condtioner supplied in room. They sell little boxes of laundry soap and fabric softener in lobby for $1.25 each. Washer and dryer is $1.50 each - the dryer works well and runs for like an hour, got a thick beach towel dry in about 20 minutes?

You have to swing around in a parking lot down the street to get back to the hotel (no U turns allowed on this street) - though this isn’t Super 8's fault, but the city. Careful pulling out into traffic on 61st St. - there is a big palm tree blocking the view. (I used the Baymont Inn's parking lot more often because of this)

Many restaurants (Waffle House, Chinese Buffet, McDonalds, Golden Corral (Wendy is the best waitress) and stores (Walmart, Gift shops, pharmacies) very close by. Surfboard rental down about 2 blocks or so.

Certain beaches are $8 - though off season this seems to only apply on weekends. Monday - Friday I didn't pay anything. (No signs mention this - couldn't see any body to take money, so I just drove onto the beach waiting for some beach police to come collecting). Pay meters on the Strand - would have been nice to know. Constantly felt like I was breaking the law, not knowing when fees did and didn't apply.

And everything is expensive - Galveston will nickle and dime you to death. What normally costs $1 at home will cost you $3 there.

Room Tip: The hotel is behind the Waffle House making it difficult to see from the road. Top floor rooms seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jami3232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.1 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Galveston
2.1 km away
Inn at the Waterpark
Inn at the Waterpark
#26 of 51 in Galveston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
2.8 km away
Days Inn & Suites Galveston West/Seawall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Howard Johnson Galveston
Howard Johnson Galveston
#40 of 51 in Galveston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.3 km away
Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center
0.2 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Galveston? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Galveston

Property: Super 8 Galveston
Address: 2825 1/2B 61st St, 61st Street & Seawall, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-2002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,813 - ₹ 18,741
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Galveston 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Galveston Hotel Galveston
Super Eight Galveston
Galveston Super Eight
Galveston Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing