We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Galveston Island Resort
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront(Galveston)(Great Value!)
US$ 102
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Galveston(Galveston)(Great Value!)
US$ 102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor House Hotel & Marina at Pier 21(Galveston)(Great Value!)
US$ 103
US$ 94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 106
US$ 98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$ 159
US$ 154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center(Galveston)(Great Value!)
US$ 229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 148
US$ 144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 213
US$ 206
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The San Luis Resort(Galveston)(Great Value!)
US$ 317
US$ 310
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,474)
Filter reviews
2,475 results
Traveller rating
1,161
625
356
198
135
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,161
625
356
198
135
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe executive loungeswim up barrainforest cafegalveston islandconvention centerlandry's seafoodacross the streetbalcony roomhousekeeping staffpool areagulf viewgreat poolshuttle servicecruise terminalsan luis resortspring breakseawall blvd
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,193 - 2,198 of 2,475 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Exceptionally friendly staff! At every interaction, whether intended or simply in passing, the staff greeted me, asked about my stay, and reminded me that they are there to help.

The location is both easy to find and convenient walking distance to several restaurants and activities. It is about 3 miles from downtown Galveston’s shops and restaurants, but the situation along the seawall allows one to walk even this distance with ease and a relaxing view. There is ample parking at no cost and the building is next door to the convention center.

My primary complaint is the door situation for the bathroom. This is not a fault complaint so much as a negative observation. The bathroom door opens quite nearly into the toilet. Any traveler of more than a few places has likely experienced a similar design/layout lapse, and it did not impair the stay. This situation of the door did make it impossible to start the shower without either climbing over the toilet or closing the door. Maybe that isn’t a problem for you, in which case ignore the issue, but I like to let the hot water build while ensuring all bath products are in the room.

My secondary complaint is more particular to this property: the showerhead was not up to par. It worked and was clean, but these days most guests expect dual shower heads, detachable shower heads, or at least setting/dial adjustments. This was a plain, chrome, nozzle shower head with the type of movement and pressure modification that is more akin to a home guest shower or dorm.

If your stay is for business, this is an outstanding property. It’s efficient staff, functional facilities, and ease of access are all positive attributes. The size and layout of the rooms is probably not conducive to a Spring Break trip with more than two people per room though. The patio has two chairs, but many rooms’ balconies face away from the beach… so not a problem for the business traveler who wants to take in the sea breeze after meetings and not interact, but not encouraging for the younger crowd aiming to people watch.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaiser_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2012

Thank you for your positive posting of a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate yor comments of the bathrooms as well and will look into this matter. I hope that you will stay with us again when in the area.
Mike Pistone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Spent weekend of April 27 with another couple who are longtime friends. With an oceanwiew room directly across the road from the beach, it was a perfect location. Pool with swim-up bar a bonus. Friendly staff completed a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Oceanview without a balcony fully faces ocean . Balcony rooms are angled towards ocean.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeke421912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne S, Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you had an enjoyable stay with us. We hope that you will return and stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I have stayed here many times and have been satisfied every time. The hotel is located on the south end of the seawall blvd which I prefer. The convention center is next door, Landry's, Ihop, The Rainforest are all very close and within easy walking distance. The beach is directly across the street, and the hotel pool area is large with lots of options. The property is older, but has been remodeled and generally is in good shape. The rooms are bright, clean and well furnished. In the main part of the building, the rooms are built on an angle, so you get a good partial view with a small sitting area. The tower section gives full beach view, but further away from the beach and I don't think you have a patio area?

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelnow39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2012

Thank you so much for your review of our property. It is very valuable to our staff to get input from our guests so that we may get even better. Please consider us in the future when visiting the area.
Mike Pistone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We actually boarded a cruise out of Galveston so we were looking for a hotel that had shuttle service to port. Not only does this hotel offer that, they also offer free parking while you're on your cruise - and the shuttle picks you up. Great service.
Rooms were decent - very, very slight mildew smell - but that's hard to not have at the beach hotel! Great location across the street from beach. You do have to walk down about a 1/2 block to an actual crosswalk.

Room Tip: Pick an oceanview vs parking lot view
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DallasNewlywed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

Cruise ship business has been a big part of our shoulder season business. We are very confident with handling this market. We appreciate you taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor about Galveston Hilton. We hope that you will consider us in the future.
Mike Pistone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed three nights at the Hilton in Galveston. The hotel was ok. For a Hilton chain I would have expected more. The bathroom was not very clean and the beds were ok as well. The staff was nice, but surely not over the top. Also, the hallways leading to our room on the 7th floor smelled awful. They could have done some sort of smell control.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator and the ice machine and request an ocean facing room
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denmon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kristin s, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2016

I am sorry this response is so late, however we wanted to thank you for your business and wanted to let guests in the past know we have renovated the guest rooms and the hotel has undergone management changes. Thank you again and we look forward to you visiting in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews