We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
katrina50
Austin, Texas

Wonderful Historic Hotel

Review of Grand Galvez
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 May 2017via mobile
We had a wonderful stay at the hotel. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The beds were comfy. Bathrooms are smaller but they did a great job with making that small space work. We enjoyed the pool and the use of the free bikes to explore the island. You can't beat the location. Lots of history at this hotel. We are already planning a return trip.
Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Grand Galvez, responded to this review
Responded 15 May 2017
Thank you for giving Hotel Galvez & Spa a try. We are pleased you enjoyed the hotel and and our courtesy bikes. We look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
₹21,089
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    ₹21,070
  • Hotels.com
    ₹21,070
  • Priceline
    ₹21,070
1.7 km from Grand Galvez
Free Wifi
Restaurant
₹17,626
  • Hotels.com
    ₹17,626
  • Skyscanner.com
    ₹16,328
  • Expedia.com
    ₹17,642
3.7 km from Grand Galvez
Free Wifi
Pool
₹19,382
  • Priceline
    ₹19,382
  • Skyscanner.com
    ₹19,083
  • Hotels.com
    ₹19,382
4.2 km from Grand Galvez
Free Wifi
Pool
Longboard Pool Bar at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
₹17,092
  • Priceline
    ₹17,092
  • Skyscanner.com
    ₹16,828
  • Hotels.com
    ₹17,092
0.3 km from Grand Galvez
Free Wifi
Pool
₹23,984
₹17,653
  • Booking.com
    ₹23,957
  • Priceline
    ₹19,658
  • Hotels.com
    ₹23,956
6.7 km from Grand Galvez
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹8,652
  • Hotels.com
    ₹8,464
  • Vio.com
    ₹7,527
  • Expedia.com
    ₹7,961
4.6 km from Grand Galvez
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹22,476
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    ₹23,777
  • Vio.com
    ₹15,130
  • Expedia.com
    ₹23,804
4.9 km from Grand Galvez
Free Wifi
Pool
₹9,732
  • Priceline
    ₹9,732
  • Skyscanner.com
    ₹9,581
  • Expedia.com
    ₹9,743
5.3 km from Grand Galvez
Free Wifi
Pool
₹6,639
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    ₹14,352
  • Skyscanner.com
    ₹6,499
  • Priceline
    ₹7,216
7.7 km from Grand Galvez
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₹38,138
  • Priceline
3.8 km from Grand Galvez
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Galveston
Reviews (5,502)
Filter reviews
5,502 results
Traveller rating
2,979
1,287
622
338
276
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,979
1,287
622
338
276
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ghost tour rooms are small city view beautiful historic hotel swim up bar across the street self parking pool area valet service pleasure pier hotel restaurant brunch spa melissa wyndham gulf seawall
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,814 - 1,819 of 5,502 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

Upon check in at scheduled 4:00pm time we were told our room was not ready, but they would be happy to "upgrade" us to a room that was ready for $30. Not wanting to wait, I regrettably agreed. The room was smaller than our room on the cruise ship. The carpet was soaking wet, mushy and there was visible black mold on the walls. It smelled musty and gross. The pool was nice.
Valet parking took forever and cost $17. I definitely will never stay here again!!!

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ginger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Grand Galvez, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Please accept our sincere apologies. We hope you notified the front desk of the issues you mentioned so they can be addressed immediately. Again, we apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017

Food was excellent. Anne was a great server. My only complaint is that the 4th floor smelled musty. They need some de-humidifiers. Also we purchased the package deal, which included the Sunday brunch. However, when we checked in. We were told the Brunch was full. It was never communicated in the package that we needed to make advance reservations. After speaking the the manager, they were able to squeeze us in. Great historic hotel and a great weekend getaway.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bl1163
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Grand Galvez, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Thank you for booking the Food & Wine Package. We apologize for any issues you experienced. And, we hope you enjoyed the festival. We hope to see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

The hotel is 102 years old and the lobby, check-in, restaurant and bar areas are beautiful!! So much history with a hall of history down stairs. Mr. Bobby, the hotel historian, was so wonderful!! He gives the hotel an added touch of class!! The food in the restaurant is good and they carry a great red wine selection (I love Educated Guess); great wait staff and the décor is lovely.

The spa is fantastic!! My masseuse was Karen and my daughter's was Pauline. We both loved our treatments!! It was a great experience!

The only suggestion I have for the hotel is to upgrade the AC system and change the artwork in the rooms. The first 3 rooms I tried were very musty, moldy smelling and the dingy looking beige paint, bedding, headboard and very cheap artwork with no color made the rooms feel extremely depressing. Brooke, the wonderful hotel manager ended up helping me find a wonderful room on the 6th floor. Apparently that floor has it's own AC with a filtering system making the rooms allergen free. Really made such a difference in the air quality. The hotel is such a fine piece of architecture but the rooms do not reflect the quality of the hotel except on the 6th and I suspect floors above 6. The ground floor (check-in, bar, restaurant and various ball rooms) reflects the beauty of the age the hotel was built but it did not translate into guest rooms on the lower floors. The room Brooke suggested on the 6th floor was very nice; great air quality, nice colorful artwork, a brighter shade of beige but that ugly shell picture remained a part of the décor but in the bathroom. Apparently, the owner's daughter takes photos of shells which explains how they got into the room. It would be wise if the owner let the interior designer pick quality artwork reflecting the beauty of the 102 year old hotel.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, especially Brooke!! I loved Mr. Bobby, he could do the hotel a great service by writing some of his encounters with the Rat Pack, President Truman, and many other historical individuals. He was a true kind, helpful and enlightening GENTLEMAN!! The Galvez is lucky to have an individual of such quality!!

The pool area is incredible!! So beautiful and great staff attending to guests.

I would absolutely stay at this hotel again but only on the 6th floor.

Room tip: Get an allergen free room.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Grand Galvez, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

We appreciate your insight regarding your stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. We are pleased Brook was able to accommodate your room change and you were happy with the changes. Thank you for mentioning Mr. Bobby and our Hall of History. We are pleased you enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017

Hotel is nice. Cleaning lady never came. Had to call at 6pm and request room to be cleaned. Also put us on floor right above a ballroom w prom going on. Had to get moved at 9:00 at night. Hotel was half full. Why put someone where you know a problem will be.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Grand Galvez, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Thank you for sharing the pros and cons of your stay. We will pass along your feedback to our front desk staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017

We spent three nights at the property. It's a beautiful and well maintained facility. The rooms are updated and relaxing. Rooms are small but to be expected given the age of the hotel. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Monique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at Grand Galvez, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your birthday at Hotel Galvez & Spa. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at our historic hotel and we hope to see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews