We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needing a night away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Gainesville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Gainesville
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Gainesville
Pilot Point, Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Needing a night away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

There were three large events going on in town and the Hotel was booked. However the service we received was remarkable. My wife and I enjoyed relaxing in the jacuzzi tub. If you look past the roof repairs that are currently underway then you have yourself a great place to visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank txusmc94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    22
    14
    13
    12
See reviews for
15
27
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We always ask for a top floor room away from nioise. When we checked in, we were told the inn was being re-roofed, guests were only staying on the first and second floors, and no one was occupying the third floor due to noise and that the roofers may have to go in and out of the rooms. After two hours in our room, we called down to the front desk due to the significant noise overhead, and we were told that the roofers were staying on the third floor in our section of the inn. We were told the roofers were not staying on the third floor on the other main hallway of the hotel, so we moved to a second floor room. There was again someone overhead in that room. After talking to the Holiday Inn Customer Relations folks, and the off-site manager, we decided to drive the 350 miles home to stay in our own home.

We have stayed in many wonderful Holiday Inns in the past year. This is not one you want to stay in. The rooms are out of date;the furniture is old and nicked. The wallpaper in the second room we were in was peeling off the wall, and a desk lamp was damaged and the lampshade was ruined. The desk clerk may not have know ahead of time of the roofers staying on the third floor, or choose to lie to us about people staying on the third floor. When we moved to another second floor room in a wing that was not occupied by the roofers, we still had people living over head. I am concerned about staying in a hotel where the front desk clerk is not aware of what is going on in an entire floor of the hotel. I am also concerned about staying in the hotel where the desk clerk announces "I am going to cry" when she goes to call the off-site manager to call us regarding our attempts to secure a quiet room in a hotel that is not very full. I am concerned about staying in a hotel where the desk clerk and manager cannot guarantee you a "quiet room" with no one over your head, even if it is the room directly under the room that you are leaving. Are they going to give someone else the room that we just left after occupying it for 2 hours? I am concerned about a manager who does not know about the Holiday Inn membership rewards program. Or rather choose to ignore us since he does not get any monetary benefit from out staying there. We drove past 20 or so Holiday Inns on the way home that night, and we didn't think to stop at a single one. The Holiday Inn 1-800 Customer Relations rep was very nice. Supposedly we will get back our membership points used plus the amount and a bit more for the $40 payment we made that we can not get back. Unfortunately what is not easy to get back, is the idea that Holiday Inns are not consistently the type of hotel we want to stay at during our travels. If you want a quiet stay and a feeling that the front desk knows what is going on in the hotel, don't stay here! They received one bubble because none was not an option.

Room Tip: There do not seem to be any good rooms in this hotel since the workers seem to have a "run"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank usedphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gainesville hotels

Waco Tx
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

My husband and I stopped at this hotel on our travel to Oklahoma. We got a suite with a jacuzzi and the price was alittle high for this area. They put us on the first floor and not letting us know they were working on the room above us. The coffee maker ran water all over the place and the ice bucket still had the water in it from the previous guest. They did get us another coffee maker but we had to go get it.The refrigerator was dirty and I couldnt put anything in the freezer dept. I called front desk and told them about the noise and the manager asked me why we didn't complain during the night! You can't get anyone to answer the phone during the night!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirkkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

The hotel itself was great. Friendly staff, clean rooms, the breakfast was just so-so (I guess my stays at other HI Express hotels have me spoiled to their superb breakfasts).
However my only complaint, and it is a major one, has to do with the trains that run nearby somewhere. They blew their horns it seemed all night every thirty minutes or so.
I got very little sleep and what sleep I did get I dreamt about trains (not joking!).
The room was oriented in a south-easterly direction so maybe if you're on the other side of the hotel you'd be okay.
Or if your a heavy sleeper, or if train horns don't bother you than I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. Otherwise, you've been warned!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the north west side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

Had a wonderful stay. We signed up for the rewards and got so many extras. It was loud because our room was located next to the elevator. But once everyone went to bed it was fine. We had to move the couch to make room for a blow up bed, and under the couch was a terrible mess. I left a note for the cleaning crew so I'm hoping they cleaned it up. The breakfast was ok, but overall the stay was nice. Loved the late checkout and it was also nice to have an indoor pool/hotub.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 30soon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gainesville
6.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville
1.7 km away
Comfort Suites Gainesville
Comfort Suites Gainesville
#4 of 12 in Gainesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
5.3 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Super 8 Gainesville TX
Super 8 Gainesville TX
#3 of 12 in Gainesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
15.0 km away
WinStar World Casino Hotel
WinStar World Casino Hotel
#1 of 4 in Thackerville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,680 reviews
13.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Red River Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gainesville

Property: Holiday Inn Express Gainesville
Address: 320 N Interstate 35, Gainesville, TX 76240-6407
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Gainesville
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,580 - ₹ 13,846
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Gainesville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gainesville. We feature an elegant three-story interior corridor layout with easy access from Interstate 35 and Highway 82 in historic downtown Gainesville, Texas! With dozens of dining, shopping and entertainment choices just minutes away, our hotel is the perfect rest stop. Winstar Casino is less than seven miles away. Complimentary shuttle Fri-Sun. We are at the heart of antique shopping in the downtown Gainesville area. We are located just 2 miles from the Gainesville Outlet Mall and only 0.5 miles from the Frank Buck Zoo. North Central College is just 1 mile away. Whether you are relaxing in our indoor heated pool, enjoying the complimentary breakfast, whirlpool, dry sauna, fitness center or the free high-speed Internet access, you'll find our hotel is the perfect retreat away from the hustle and bustle of the business office. We're close to major local businesses like Weber Aircraft, Molded Fiber Glass, Spraylat, Polypipe, Complete Energy, Carol Rose Quarter Hoses and Babcock Ranch. We also can host your upcoming meetings in our spacious executive boardroom, our large meeting room or our breakfast area. Don't forget to check-out our free hot breakfast bar in the morning, featuring gourmet coffee, the best cinnamon rolls, omelets, bacon or maybe even a helping of good old country biscuits and sausage gravy! Join us on your next visit to Gainesville, Texas and Stay Smart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Holiday Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing