We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what you expect”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunday House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunday House Inn
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Crosby, Texas
2 reviews
“Not what you expect”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We recently ended up in Fredericksburg, after a wonderful day of looking at the Bluebonnets. After trying 3 other hotels we were referred to this place by the clerk at the Hampton Inn. We checked in and were placed in the family room, the room was ok, larger than most and could very easily sleep 6 to 8 people. The room upon entering was hotter than heck, (it would have been too bad if we had just wanted to go to our room and relax, because we had to leave to let it cool down ) with very poor lighting. The beds were hard as rock and the matteress were very thin. The bathroom ceiling tiles had mold and the entire room was very out dated. It took nearly 2 hours for the room to cool down. The parking lot was very hard to get around in due to the way the parking spots were marked. The breakfast was fair, the Kolaches were the best (they were fresh), the breakfast area is way to small too many chairs and tables crammed into a small area.

Room Tip: don't stay here unless you have no other option. And then it would help if you brought your air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    146
    73
    24
    31
See reviews for
116
147
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

This place was our last resort because all other places were booked. The parking is extremely limited. We had to park on the other side of the hotel due to inefficient parking spots. The water that came out of the sink was filled with dirt. After running the water awhile, there was still pepper like flakes. Someone walked completely into the room while my spouse and I were in bed. This was the worst motel I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigjones3234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

I don't often post reviews and when I do it's because of something special. In this case, the "special" was cockroaches. When we first entered the room I witnessed a cockroach scurrying across the sitting/living room area. Having lived in Texas for some time I didn't consider this a showstopeer. However, when I turned on the bathroom lights and found 2 HUGE cockroaches I felt that perhaps I had chosen the wrong hotel. When I reported this to the front desk the staff suggested that perhaps I had brought the bugs in with my luggage. It doesn't get better. I also found a dried coffee filter (with dried grounds) under the kitchenette sink - and I don't drink coffee. The room was generally unkempt and dated. This coupled with the poor attitude of the front desk staff leads me to NOT recommend this hotel to my fellow travellers.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel unless you want cockroaches and garbage from the previous night's occup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy1Texas_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keller
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

My wife and I recently had a two night stay at this disguesting facility.

The room came with two double beds. The first evening we decided to sleep togeather in
the same bed.

The second evening my wife having sinus problems decided to sleep seperately in the other bed.

When she pulled down the bed spread, blanket and top sheet the matress sheet revealled a blood stained matress sheet (See Attached Photo).

For obvious reasons we sleep togeather in the bed we slept in the first evening.

Upon check out the next morning we explained the situation to the clerk and showed him the photo. He was very apologetic. We asked to be refunded for one night stay of whitch we were informed that due to the fact we booked throgh Expidia tha it would take approximately two weeks to recieve a refunde via the mail.

Refund never came. I called and ask to speak to the manager. Shannon, the manager informed me that she would need to speak to the owner and she would return my call, the call never came.

I called back and Shannon infomed me that the owner wanted me to speak to someone. The next thing I know I am back speaking to the same clerk that checked us out.

He declined ever telling us that we would be refuned, I demanded to speak to Shannon the manager.

I informed her that I was puzzled as to why I am back speaking to a clerk. I got Expidia involved and the Sunday House refuses to refund us.

Bottom line; I would stay in my car before I would ever again stay in this poorly managed and unkept facility.

Shawn Keefe
Keller, TX
[--]

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shawn k k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEAWOOD
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

This lodging is vastly overated. The room was dated, the shower contained mold, the kleenex container fell off the wall, and the bathroom faucets were worn. Don't be fooled by the photos on the website. It's just another motel with average rooms at best. The place needs a major renovation. The continental breakfast, however, was OK and the front office staff were friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
0.3 km away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.5 km away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#2 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
1.3 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#13 of 25 in Fredericksburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
1.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fredericksburg
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fredericksburg
#8 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunday House Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunday House Inn

Property: Sunday House Inn
Address: 501 E Main St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,844 - ₹ 10,437
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunday House Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunday House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunday House Inn Hotel Fredericksburg
Sunday Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing