We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveller rating
156
14
3
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
156
14
3
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue moongarden roomcookiesfront porchmy husband and imain streetteddy bearsbreakfast was deliciousbed and breakfastan excellent cookorange sorbetconvenient place to stayjacuzzi tubporch swingfew blocksin towneach morning
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 177 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2016

We are frequent B&B travelers so have lots of experience in all types of B&Bs and Inns. There are things you should know about this property when considering places to stay. First, you will not have access to any area of the house other than your own room. You will be locked out of the main house at all times other than breakfast. Second, there is only one outside sitting area - the front porch - and it is badly in need of cleaning, maintenance, and a good mosquito spray. We tried to have wine and cheese out there and had to move our group back inside to our small room. If you go for the weekend, as most do, you will get only one breakfast on Saturday. Ours was simple - scrambled eggs, bacon, skillet biscuits, fruit. We were so disappointed that there was no fall twist to accompany the season and nothing we don't make at home on a regular basis. No one will greet you when you arrive (remember the locked house?) so you'll find your key in an outside location. On Saturday, you'll be given an $8 voucher for breakfast on Sunday, which won't be enough to cover a standard breakfast, so you'll owe an additional $15 or more to your local restaurant. You won't return to your room to a made bed or a clean coffee pot, so very little housekeeping is provided. And if there are more than two of you, you won't get much sleep on the lumpy, thin, duck taped sofa bed mattress.

The man who runs the B&B is friendly when you see him and does leave some cookies in the room, but honestly, this B&B probably has less service than any we've ever experienced. It has location going for it, and if it was a good price, I'd say overlook the problems and go for the location. But it is NOT cheap - with taxes and two extra people it came to $250 a night, making it one of the more expensive establishments - and definitely not worth that cost. I'm not sure where all the rave reviews are coming from, but if you frequent B&Bs for the excellent breakfasts, the home-away-from-home experience, and the uniqueness you won't find in a hotel, you really won't find those things here either.

Room Tip: Twiggleys is two floors with a tight, winding staircase and one bathroom up. Not ideal for anyone who can't navigate steep stairs.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingDoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Location in Fredericksburg is absolutely perfect. It's just off main street, on a curved corner so there's plenty of parking room. We stayed in the Garden Room, which is towards the back/side of the house, and couldn't have been more pleased. Had cookies awaiting us, fridge full of soft drinks/water, cable tv, comfy bed, comfy couch. Huge bathroom with tub/jacuzzi. Water cooler as well was available, even an ICE MACHINE on the front porch, wow! We stayed Saturday and Sunday night, vouchers were given for Sunday morning breakfast at 4 or 5 different locations within Fredericksburg. Monday morning breakfast was served in the house and it was perfectly delicious! Denis, the owner stopped by on Sunday to check how everything was going and if we needed anything, and even brought more cookies! I would highly recommend this place to anyone who wants a relaxing weekend or longer. We also thought the price was EXCELLENT compared to other places we've stayed at in the past, so we especially loved that we got a great deal for what we paid for. Thanks so much, Denis! We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

This place was amazing! The owners were amazing as well! We will be back for sure!!! Cookies and breakfast were AMAZING!!!! very clean rooms. The price was perfect as well. Very quiet neighborhood all around relaxing cozy place.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Devyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed Fri and Sat night in a downstairs room.

Good:
-Comfy bed, quiet neighborhood
-Excellent a/c
-Roomy bathroom
-Very nice breakfast Saturday, coupon for Sun breakfast in town
Not good:
-Owner was out of town. Life happens but we would have preferred to have been notified.
-The person on call, although nice, was difficult to reach. We arrived by 1:30 pm Fri, called about a running, non-flushing toilet, and didn't hear back until after 6. We plunged our arm into the tank each time to flush until plumber came Saturday
-No shower. A slippery jacuzzi that was difficult to get in and out. (We are 60 but agile and not overweight.)
-We do lots of BnBs and notice details. The yard was not well cared for and lawn furniture was in disrepair. Fake flowers in window had faded to blue.
- Very pricey for the quality and hassle.
We cannot recommend this BnB.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank deffntish1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis O, Owner at Corner Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Steve,

Sorry to hear your experience wasn't up to par. From fresh-baked cookies when you arrive, meticulously clean rooms, and delicious breakfasts, we strive to meet and exceed our guests expectations. Even B&B owners get a vacation every once in a while - you happened to come when my wife and I were attending our son's graduation from boot camp (Go Army!). While I mowed before I left, with all the rain we had, I needed to mow when I returned on Monday. Thankfully the plumber was able to come out Saturday to take care of the running toilet. My apologies for having to deal with this inconvenience. I hope you'll give us a second chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2016

Denis provided excellent breakfasts and advice on local attractions. Great attention to the little things - having a coffee maker in the room to grab a cup before breakfast, cookies in our room for a little evening snack, soothing jacuzzi after walking around all day. Rooms are just a couple blocks from Main Street.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews