We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 81 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Memorable stay”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

My husband and I had only one night to stay and chose Magnolia House. We loved it and invited a couple to join us for breakfast. It was such a pleasure to stay here. Minutes away from town. Beautiful trees , sound of water falling oh, so pleaseful . We still drink our coffee from the cups we purchased there as a reminder of this great house. We hope to go back one day. We stayed there several years ago, but remember it well. The best B&B we've ever stayed. Recommend you include Magnolia House during your visit to Fredericksburg. This house will make your trip complete.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful. Just pick one and enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    633
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
456
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This is about the 8th time we have stayed here. Claude and Lisa are great hosts. Breakfasts are wonderful and filling. Never a need for lunch when you stay here, but save room for the afternoon cookies. A different recipe every day. Need to know anything about the town, just ask. Convenient to downtown and on a direct escape route for bicyclists like myself.The rooms are large and the beds comfortable. The group breakfast is also a great way to meet interesting people. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet. The Peach Blossom room on the 2nd floor is the smallest, but if you open th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bicyclist_Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagHouse, Owner at Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Al, always great having you and Kathy stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to tell others about your experience at the Magnolia House. We are glad you had perfect weather for you bike rides and know Kathy had a great time shopping. We look forward to seeing you both on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okotoks, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

if you are wanting the old charm and feel of antiques then this is a very good choice. it is showing its use mabe some paint would help the doors and frames to freshen it up. it is definetely a place if you are looking to relax,a serene back yard with a cup of tea or wine in the evening is available. claude made dinner reservations for us as there is no phone available in the house for guests. breakfast is lovely ,nicely presented anf different each day, nice to sit around and visit with other guests.

Room Tip: the american beauty room has a private bath with in
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagHouse, Owner at Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Carol, we hope your travels home to Canada were uneventful. We appreciate you posting a review and telling others about your experience at the Magnolia House. As you can imagine with a home this large we are constantly working to maintain its appearance, as we are sure you noticed by the recently re-tiled and painted bathroom in the American Beauty Room you stayed in while here. Being our busiest time of year our doors and doorframes get a lot of attention from guests' luggage and this is something we definitely will address when we have a little slower period. We certainly do not want any guests getting any fresh paint on their luggage or clothing while staying with us.

We decided just this year to remove the phone in the front lobby due to lack of guest use. So many of our guests now travel with mobile phones our guest phone was not being used. As you noted we are more than glad to make reservations for our guests or if a guests needs a phone we are certainly happy to make one available to them.

Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snellville, Georgia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We recently stayed one night at the Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast. We had stayed at another Inn about 25 minutes away the night before. Our only regret is we did not stay both nights at the Magnolia House. Everything was lovely and we were very comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagHouse, Owner at Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Belinda, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Magnolia House and we appreciate you taking the time to tell others about your experience. If your future travels bring you back to the Texas Hill Country we would love to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem District, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We chose to spend our 25th wedding anniversary at the Magnolia House. I had read great reviews here, and on other websites, about the place. When making the reservations, I spoke with the owner, Claude, and he was very cordial and helpful. He even offered to make our anniversary dinner reservations for us! Lisa was also very kind when we spoke a few days later, and I was confirming our dietary requirements. When we arrived, we were shown to our room, and there waiting for me was a beautiful bouquet of roses, chocolates, and a bottle of wine. The owners had worked with my husband to provide this wonderful surprise! The location is just 7 blocks of the main street (Hwy 290), so we could walk to the shops if desired. The home was quiet, comfortable, and beautifully furnished with traditional Arts & Crafts decor. Our breakfasts were delicious, and Claude made everything himself while Lisa set a fun, creative table arrangement each day. We had access to the morning paper, plenty of coffee, and in the afternoons there was a sideboard with wine and snacks available into the evening. Each room has its own thermostat, so we could set the temperature to our comfort level. Our room, the American Beauty, was upstairs, with an adjoining full bath. There are comfy, full-length robes available for use, and the bed was super comfortable (although a tad soft). We were extremely satisfied with our stay, and will stay there again the next time we visit Fredericksburg. Thanks, Claude and Lisa, for making our special anniversary getaway so memorable!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagHouse, Owner at Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
We are happy to have made your 25th anniversary memorable. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We are always thrilled to help a spouse make an anniversary surprise a special occassion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
1.5 km away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
839 reviews
1.4 km away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#3 of 25 in Fredericksburg
849 reviews
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Sunday House Inn
Sunday House Inn
#12 of 25 in Fredericksburg
456 reviews
1.6 km away
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
#1 of 25 in Fredericksburg
438 reviews
1.6 km away
Hoffman Haus
Hoffman Haus
#9 of 81 in Fredericksburg
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 101 E Hackberry St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-3915
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,701 - ₹ 12,193
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional bed & breakfast known for gracious Southern hospitality and gourmet breakfasts. This elegant historic home features five guest rooms (two are suites with fireplaces) each tastefully decorated with antiques and appointed with guests' comfort in mind. Each guest room has its own private bathroom. Conveniently located just 7 blocks from Main Street in a quiet, relaxing setting. Come and be pampered at the Magnolia House, your home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Magnolia House b&b
Magnolia House Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing