We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
68
29
4
6
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
29
4
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the entire property casserole nimitz museum main street within walking distance enjoyed our stay downtown fredericksburg suite jeff antiques
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2017

First, the location was great. Just walked out and we were on Main street, shopping, restaurants. It was clean. Had a lot of antiques. Breakfast was cereal, oatmeal, muffins from supermarket. They did have two breakfast casserole but very very sweet. The first one felt like more of a desert. I wish they had egg, sausage type of casserole. We were 8 of us and my queen room downstairs was next to Main Street so heard every truck, cars go by till late night. Although, the location made up for all the negatives.

Room Tip: Downstair king room with attached bathroom.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuttaTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

We rented the entire property for a week for a family birthday party. Jeff the caretaker is a decendant of the folks who built this historic property. It dates back to the early days of Fredercksburg and was built by the first doctor to be in the area. Right across the street from the Nimitz Museum which is another must do thing when you are there.

Room Tip: This is not at hotel. You rent all or part of the main house and guest house thru a service.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jbrantmeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff L, Manager at Keidel Inn & Gasthaus, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2017

Thanks for your comments and taking the time to do a review.

The property was built by my great-grandparents. He was the third generation doctor in Fredericksburg. His grandfather (my great-great-great grandfather) was the first doctor in Fredericksburg when the town was settled. Lots of history in town including the Nimitz which my grandparents ran as a hotel back in the day (before it became a museum).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017

A group of 9 girls stayed her for girls weekend and it was perfect! We were right downtown so we just stepped out our door to shopping and restaurants. The home was very clean and we all felt very comfortable hanging out inside and out. We enjoyed the gas fire pit outside too! You can't go wrong by staying here!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kreiter06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff L, Owner at Keidel Inn & Gasthaus, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Thank you for your review and business! Your comments about being close to everything is a big selling point we see everyday from our guests. The large outside patio with hot tub and firepit is a common place many of our guests enjoy about the property. Also, thank you for noting the home being very clean. The staff & I take great pride in keeping things clean for our guests. I'll be sure to let staff know as they do most of the cleaning.

Come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

Nine of us stayed here for our yearly girls get away. The location was great. Right on Main Street but set back from the street. Nice kitchen, big dining room and nice living room with gas fireplace which we used the whole time. The only thing that was odd is the bathroom placement. Three bedrooms upstairs with one bath to share. (6 girls!!) The bathroom had an 8" step up which one of the girls slipped off of coming down & hit her eye & rib on step. Black swollen eye & cracked ribs!!! Downstairs one of the bedrooms had a bath in it but the other bath was out side this bedroom & no where near the other downstairs bedroom. Other than that, nice place!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff L, Owner at Keidel Inn & Gasthaus, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2017

Thank you Julia for your business and taking the time to do a review of our B&B! Very sorry to hear there was an accident during your stay. Hope all is well with the girl who slipped and is on the road to recovery. Come back and stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017

I have stayed a this location 2 times on a girls trip. On both occasions, we rented the entire property. We had an excellent time. My only complaint is the breakfast.....sweet breakfast casseroles. They were delicious, but I prefer something more savory.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Marti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff L, Owner at Keidel Inn & Gasthaus, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2017

Marti, thank you for your review and comments. More importantly, your repeat business! In regards to the continental plus breakfast, my staff rotates several different items for the breakfast casseroles. We do have a more savory breakfast casserole that rotates in (guess you haven't had it yet). Next time you come back, please let us know and we'll be happy to make sure you get one of the non-sweet casseroles. Staff does a great job with that.

Thanks again,
Jeff
Keidel Inn & Gasthaus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews