We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Historic Home right on Main Street”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Keidel Inn & Gasthaus
Ranked #27 of 82 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 October 2014

We rented this home for a wedding. IT is across the street from the Nimitz hotel so it is perfect if your event is there. The home was very clean and the rooms were lovely. The inn keepers provided large casseroles for breakfast, as well as milk, coffee and juice. As this is right at the beginning of the main shopping area on main street, you could not make a better place to stay.
If you require a little extra room there is also a cottage out back with one room and a fold out couch. perfect for families!!!

Room Tip: You can rent the upper level or lower level. There are three rooms (two queens in two rooms and a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Theresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff L, Manager at Keidel Inn & Gasthaus, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2014

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to do a review. Comments are greatly appreciated. There are a couple of correction for future guests. The upstairs has 3 bedrooms (2 twins and 2 king beds not queens). The separate Gasthaus doesn't have a fold out couch. We have a queen air mattress for the 3rd/4th guests in that suite. Come back and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

The location can't be beat! House has lots of character and room to move about. My only complaints are the road noise early in the morning if you want to sleep in, only 1 bedroom had a ceiling fan, 1 bathroom upstairs for 3 rooms and 2 downstairs for 2 rooms, and the breakfast. My main issue was breakfast. Mainly because you have to pay extra for people over a certain number. The explanation given to me was for the breakfast. The breakfast was continental. Basic fruit, packaged muffins, oatmeal and cereal, and cinnamon rolls. The cinnamon rolls looked delicious. They were so dry that no one ate them. I felt obligated to eat the food because we paid $100 extra for it, supposedly. It would've been better had they not told me the extra cost was for food. Anyway, don't mean to sound super negative. It was a lovely house and everyone enjoyed it. I just like to give a detailed review.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank elbtravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff L, Owner at Keidel Inn & Gasthaus, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay.

First off, my apologies for your experience with the cinn. rolls and the breakfast. I wish you would have contacted me during your stay as I would have tried my best to satisfy you. The rolls are made homemade by one of my staff so I'll get with her to find out what could have possibly happened. They were put in fresh the day of your arrival but obviously something happened.

I did want to address the additional per person charge with you. I've also forwarded your comments to our service (Absolute Charm) as they handle the communication and the booking process. I'm sorry there was a miscommunication from Absolute Charm on the per person charges. They are NOT to cover the breakfast exclusively. No matter the size of the group everyone is provided continental breakfast. The per person charges over 2 in each suite are to cover additional cleaning, laundry, supplies and minimal for breakfast. Obviously, a group of 4-6 is going to be a lot less expensive for us compared to groups 9-14. I completely understand your disappointment with being charged $100 extra for food and that leading to the major issue. I'm sorry we weren't able to talk and I could have explained everything for you.

I hope my explanation clears up some issues and you'll come back to give us another chance at your business.

Thank you again,
Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We were married across the Street this weekend at the Nimitz Museum and brought our whole family and lots of friends down to Texas! We all stayed both houses for a long weekend and NO ONE wanted to leave! Beautiful is and understatement! along with BIG VERY ROOMY even with a house full of loud people from North Eastern PA! So grateful to be in walking distance of not only the wedding venue but all of Main Street Fredericksburg! We even took our wedding photos on the property in back! I cant wait to go back! My guests not only made it for the wedding they all loved the vacation and relaxing outside on the patio with coffee in the morning! IM blessed that everyone got to be together and had an amazing time! Thank you so much to the staff and Jeff for making my wedding day truly remarkable and beautiful! See you soon! Thank you! Mr & Mrs Adam :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALYSIA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff L, Owner at Keidel Inn & Gasthaus, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you Alysia! Congrats on your wedding and glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Ever since staying at the Keidel Inn three years ago for the first time, we keep coming back. It is great to have a group of people so you can rent the whole house and the guesthaus. Recently, we just rented the guesthaus in the back and it was wonderful. The bedding is very nice and the people who run it (Jeff) could not be nicer. They treat people like family.

The location on Main Street across from the Pacific War Museum makes it convenient to everything. It is a historical building, lovely and inviting. The fence around it, the large lawn and the patio in the back truly must have made it the most elegant home in the town in the past. The interior of the home is beautiful - wood floors, thick walls, solid walls. The flow of the downstairs, with the dining room, living room, kitchen make for an inviting place to stay. It can hold four people downstairs, six people upstairs and then two people in the guesthaus. the first time we stayed here, we rented the entire home and guesthaus. We were so surprised when we opened the refrigerator and there was milk, orange juice, oranges, and breakfast burritos. On the counter were muffins, bananas and apples. Then, a couple of days later, he refreshed the milk and brought homemade apple struedel and large cinnamon roles! We did not need to leave the Inn for breakfast, that is for sure. We particularly love the kitchen in this old home, which has an old built-in icebox. It is not functional, but really a beautiful piece. The kitchen is fully functional and we have had meals in the dining room and on the patio - cooking in the kitchen and grilling outside.

We recently stayed here in December and rented the downstairs and upstairs, only using two of the bedrooms upstairs. It is so nice to get up in the morning and meet your family in the kitchen (if you rented the downstairs).
We came back two months later and rented the downstairs, which includes the kitchen, and the guesthaus. We did not have access to the dining and living room with this because that goes with the upstairs if you rent that part and not the whole house. We have stayed here four times over the past three years and we will surely stay here again when we bring friends and family to the hill country.

Room Tip: If there are only two of you, the guesthaus if perfect. If you have atleast 8 people, rent the enti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff L, Owner at Keidel Inn & Gasthaus, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you Teresa for the wonderful review! We appreciate your continued business.

One small correction on the Gasthaus is it sleeps 4 (2 in a king bed and another 2 in a queen frontgate air mattress). When the entire property is booked the 13th/14th guests would use the air mattress. When we have families book the Gasthaus, many times the children use the air mattress downstairs while the parents are upstairs.

Our continental breakfast varies based on the number of guests, how much of the property is booked and the duration of the stay. We always have milk, juice, varied fruit, packaged oatmeal and muffins. The part which varies includes breakfast tacos, kolaches, cinnamon rolls, coffeecake, etc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Being within walking distance of the downtown area was especially nice since we all enjoyed shopping but with different lists. The main house has five charming bedrooms with three on the second floor. Since our party filled up the house, there was no problem with the shared bathrooms; however, I don't know if they book by the room or not. Only one bedroom had a private bath. The continental breakfasts were marginal at best but that was not a main concern for us. We had stopped in Austin and stocked up on supplies. There were several options for group seating so we could truly enjoy our time of visiting. I would rec to my friends.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PennySw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff L, Owner at Keidel Inn & Gasthaus, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you Penny for your review! I wasn't able to find your name as the person who booked so wanted to clarify a few items. We don't book by the room. Strangers never share common areas except the outside portions of the property. Keidel Inn & Gasthaus can be booked several ways. One is to book the whole property. The main house can be booked together or in two separate suites (Clara's & Emily's Suites). The separate smaller Gasthaus can also be booked as one unit. Disappointed to read the comments about the breakfast. Sometimes when groups book the property all the people are not told what to expect. We provide a continental breakfast effective for all new bookings as of April 1, 2013. The feedback over the last year has been positive in regards to the quality and quantitity.

For more information about the property, here's a link to our main page with our reservation service (Absolute Charm): http://www.absolutecharm.com/KeidlInn_Launch.html

We've also had most our reviews posted on Homeaway so you can read those at the following link: http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325134

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
14.8 km away
Full Moon Inn
Full Moon Inn
#13 of 82 in Fredericksburg
141 reviews
0.4 km away
Hoffman Haus
Hoffman Haus
#8 of 82 in Fredericksburg
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Friedhelm's Bavarian Inn
Friedhelm's Bavarian Inn
#57 of 82 in Fredericksburg
13 reviews
0.4 km away
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 25 in Fredericksburg
463 reviews
0.5 km away
Carriage House Bed & Breakfast
Carriage House Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 82 in Fredericksburg
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keidel Inn & Gasthaus? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keidel Inn & Gasthaus

Address: 403 E Main St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-4613 (Formerly Das Keidel Inn)
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History meets luxury...and location...at the Keidel Inn and Gasthaus. This premium property is located on Main Street only steps from the main shopping district. Take a stroll to the Nimitz Museum just across the way or enjoy an evening walk to the best restaurants Fredericksburg has to offer. The main building in front on Main Street is the Keidel Inn, offering two luxury suites, the Clara Suite and the Emily Suite. Just behind the Inn is the Keidel Gasthaus. Enjoy morning coffee on the fabulous garden patio by the fish pond. Or take a stroll in the evening to any of Fredericksburg's fabulous Main Street restaurants. If you're looking for space, luxury and location, Keidel Inn is the place for you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Das Keidel Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing