We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
28
12
5
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
12
5
5
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2016

Daughter's wedding was held at MD Resort in The Oaks facility on June 26, 2016. Several family & wedding party members spent both Saturday and Sunday nights at the resort -- we used the Ranch House, Cowboy Quarters, Bunk House, Cabins, & Royal Suite (that was for the newlyweds!).

We worked with the same contact person for over a year. She was always easy to reach, extremely accommodating, and helped us in many ways stay within our budget. If she was ever irritated about our questions or requests, she NEVER showed it. Additionally, she was immediately responsive when we found a couple of our rooms had been double booked the first night we were there. She went above and beyond to rectify the situation, turning something that could have been disastrous into something we could quickly laugh about and remember in a good way!

MD's on-site accommodations were comfortable and well-suited for multi-purpose use. Bunk rooms were a big plus for bridesmaids and groomsmen, well-equipped kitchens allowed us to host a private pre-wedding dinner for out-of-towners, we even set up work space to assemble bouquets for our wedding party (this became a spontaneous party that added to wonderful memories of our special weekend).

Although my daughter wanted to use the Pecan Grove for the ceremony, The Oaks chapel/reception hall proved to be a great Plan B, as it is extremely HOT in Texas this time of year! We were pleasantly surprised to be able to use the chapel decorations (once again, helpful in stretching our budget). Everything we requested in the reception hall was ready when we arrived so we were immediately able to begin set-up. On the day of the wedding, we set up sandwich fixings for the wedding party so that they could relax in their respective suites, visit, and get ready without going in search of food.

On-site catering -- staff prepared a delicious meal for our reception & assisted us in many other ways, helping our cake person find a place to set up, loaning carts for unloading cases of beverages, and answering a multitude of questions!

A huge plus -- all-day rental of the wedding facility. Many venues we visited allowed only 6 hours for your event, but charged the same price or more! That may be fine if you are hiring someone to do everything and all you have to do is show up. BUT...if you are hosting a DIY event, as we were, you will need WAY more than 6 hours!

So...if you are looking for a venue with relaxing charm and down-to-earth folks to work with, you have found the right place! Rather than adhering to a set of rigid rules, the staff found reasons to say "yes" to our requests! Help was a phone call or text away, but we were allowed to turn the venue into a dream come true without hindrance. We literally took over the venue space and quarters we had rented & our entire party felt so at home and comfortable at MD. I felt that we got more than we paid for at this venue!

Best kept secret in North Texas!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gayla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2015

MD Resorts Hosted our National Meeting in April of 2015. We filled the cabins, and the entire lodge up and had plenty of room for our conference in the connected conference room. They provided all our meals and the food was very good. The hot food was hot, cold was cold and plentiful. We had an extensive list of food allergies and they accommodated every one of them! We'd come out of sessions to baked cookies. Coffee, tea, water and lemonade were always available.

Each room had a unique theme, temperature control and most had private bathrooms and a refrigerator. I slept comfortably for 7 nights. Everything was clean and tidy.

The entire staff was extremely competent, personable and friendly. Even when having to return after midnight to unlock a room, or stay over night due to storms. Whatever we needed they were there willing to provide it for us. They certainly went over and beyond what we expected.

We enjoyed feeding the animals and walking around the property. So very relaxing!

The family friendly atmosphere was perfect for our company and I would not hesitate to recommend MD Resorts to anyone planning a conference, family reunion or looking for a place to stay for a few nights.

Room Tip: The upstairs is quiet but if stairs are a problem select one downstairs.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Charlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2015

we were looking for an RV space near Texas Motor Speedway, and all were sold out due to the Pate Swap Meet. I accidentally found the MD Resort, and saw they had RV spaces with full hookups. They are actually a B&B with 3 RV spaces, and 2 Camping Cabins. You don't have the benefits of the B&B, but you do have access to the pool & hot tub. The pool just opened yesterday, and we went to go to the hot tub last night but it was not working. When I talk to the young lady at the desk she appologized, and said they just had it serviced, and would call the company in the morning to come check it out. Our dogs are really enjoying the fact that we are alone, because we can let them run around the campground off leash. This place is a Ranch with animals, and many acres. We saw a wedding yesterday, and looks like they will have another today. The grounds are really quiet, and pretty. The grounds keeper is very friendly too. Check in was smooth. If you are camping here they do not have a shower house, and no wifi in the campground area. They do have WIFI that you can access. We would recommend staying here if you are looking for serene setting.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2015

We went to the KCM Conference and this location is perfect as its only a few minutes drive from KCM. We did not stay long but mainly used the place for sleeping and breakfast. Staff was very friendly and breakfast amazing. This is a working farm.

Room Tip: Our room was small but sufficient for us. There are no lifts so suggest getting a room on the ground floor.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Travel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2014

Let me start by saying my wife and I travel a lot. Several vacations a year and have never left a bad review-ever. This place was horrible. It has been one thing after another 12000.00 for wedding; you would think they could get one thing right. It started with the rehearsal dinner which was a murder mystery dinner. We were supposed to get our parts 30 days out then two weeks out. Finally got those 24 hours out or Some people got them at the door. Very unprofessional. The food was really bad. Also we were supposed to have 3 rooms for two nights they only had 1 available. The rooms smelled very musky like mold. Very hot could not get them to turn down the air. Plumbing went out. No water for an hour the day of the wedding. Wedding coordinator disappeared. It was just one bad experience. The only positive was the lady who cooks breakfast in the mornings. Went through three different wedding coordinators. Not sure why they cant keep people hired other then you couldn’t find anybody in change. What we got was not worth 2000 let alone 12000. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!!!!!!! BUYER BEWARE

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews