We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this Place!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Worth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 15 Fort Worth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 August 2016

We absolutely love staying at the Stonehaus B & B because of the locality and the hospitality of the owners! Love how they have decorated each room with the Old West atmosphere.
Great location to the Stockyards for meals and walking distance to everything!
The questions keep asking about wi-fi, but if you are in the Stockyards....you are not here to be on your electronic devices....you are here to enjoy the amibiance of the Stock yards!!

Room Tip: won't give hints to the best rooms, then they are booked when we want them... ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2016

This place is very unique place to stay and the lady was very helpful. The rooms are amazing and quirky. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Watch out for the ghost !!!
Very central to the stock yards.

Stayed: March 2016
1  Thank andy h h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2016

Nice stay. Beware this is a old place with wooden floors, so as long as you can get pass the noises of people walking its a nice stay. No breakfast anymore. It needs a little work. But in a great location at a great price.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nated2519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2015

1. Background / Expectations. This was my time to stay at the Stone House. When traveling for business, I typically stay at a Marriott (Courtyard or Residence) or Hilton/Hampton Inn. When traveling for vacations, I tend to stay at small non-chain hotels that offer some local color and are comfortable with good services but nothing opulent. Below are my comments by functional area.

2. Rates. Rates vary depending on the type/size of room.

3. Booking / Communication / Reception. After I booked the hotel (online), I received an e-mail instructing me to contact the inn-keeper and inform her of my time of arrival. There is not a 24-hour desk clerk; the inn-keeper met me when I arrived and provided me with a key to the front door and to my room.

4. Location / Directions. The hotel is located at 2401 Ellis Avenue Fort Worth, TX (obtained from the hotel's website). It is one block away from the main intersection (Exchange Avenue and North Main Street) of the Stockyards. All of the main attractions in the stockyards are within a 5-minute walk.

5. Access / Parking.
a. There is no fee for parking.
b. The parking lot is small (approximately 10 parking spaces).
c. There appears to be free parking on the street directly in front of the hotel.
d. Passenger vehicles. The hotel can be accessed by any type of passenger vehicle.
e. RVs or vehicles pulling trailers. These vehicles cannot access the parking lot but I did observe an RV parked on the street overnight during my stay.

6. Particulars of my visit. I stayed here 18-20 Dec 2015 while I was in town to attend the Gun Show at the Will Rogers Coliseum and to see some other sights; I stayed in the Boss Room. I chose this room because it had its own bathroom, was on the 1st floor and it was near the front door.

7. Handicapped access. I am not handicapped but I realize knowledge of handicapped access is helpful. I do not consider this hotel to be easily accessible to anyone with mobility issues. To access the first floor, visitors must go up approximately 6 steps. To access the second floor, visitors must negotiate a narrow staircase of approximately 20 steps. While the parking lot is paved, it does not have a smooth, uniform surface.

8. Hotel exterior. The hotel is located just off of the street and there is not much exterior appeal in the way of plants, trees, landscaping.

9. Hotel interior. The common areas and rooms have a lot of local color/appeal (all kinds of western memorabilia and decorations) - perhaps too much.

10. Attributes of room / hotel.
a. There was no daily maid service.
b. The room did not have: TV, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker (but coffee was available in the 1st floor common area), or iron/ironing board (these may be available from the inn keeper).
c. I picked up a WiFi signal but the innkeeper did not provide me with a password.
d. My room had the following amenities/features: Queen bed; writing desk, closet, fan, space heater, dressing bench, a chest at the foot of the bed with extra pillows.
e. THIS IS NOT A BED & BREAKFAST. There is no meal available/served.

11.a. Nearby attractions #1. Attractions nearby #1. Amon Carter Museum of American Art (4 miles / 15 minute drive). This is a very nice FREE museum that has a very nice collection of primarily western art (Frederick Remington and Charles Russell) and other exhibits that are rotated.

11.b. Attractions nearby #2. Ft Worth Aviation Museum (2.5 miles / 9 minute drive). This is a nice, small museum with approximately 12 military aircraft on display outdoors. All aircraft either have fresh paint jobs or are in the process of being re-painted.

11.c. Attractions nearby #3. Cattle Raisers Museum (4 miles / 15 minute drive). It is located inside the Ft Worth Museum of Science and History. It provides a very good history of the Texas cattle industry. There are some very nice western artifacts (saddles, guns, branding irons, spurs and historical photos).

11.d. Attractions nearby #4. Cowtown Winery (less than a block away). This is a nice little wine bar that offers a nice selection of local/Texas wines and small fruit/cheese/meat plates.

12. Conclusion. This hotel is just what I was looking for - a clean, comfortable room with lots of character near the bars & restaurants in the stockyards. It would probably be a pretty colorful place to surprise a date after drinking/dining in the stockyards. If you are looking for the amenities of a cookie-cutter chain hotel, this is probably not your place.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raj0302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

SUPER friendly inn-keeper and great prices. In prime location for downtown Ft Worth's bars and tourist area. Easy drive into the city. AMAZING atmosphere. We slept under cow-hide! Great stay. Stayed for only one night. People who are picky about space and state-of-the-art amenities probably won't like this place-- it's very down-home and for people who like quaint travel. Definitely recommend this really nice inn. Tons of personality -- it looks like an old ranch inside!

Room Tip: The boots room is really cute.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Worth hotels
Downtown Fort Worth
Omni Fort Worth Hotel
Omni Fort Worth Hotel
#6 of 114 in Fort Worth
3,822 reviews
Stockyards Hotel
#14 of 114 in Fort Worth
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rosen House Inn
#1 of 15 in Fort Worth
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2401 Ellis Ave, Fort Worth, TX 76164-8141
Region: United States > Texas > Fort Worth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Worth
Price Range: ₹ 6,455 - ₹ 9,683 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 1900's cowboy boarding house bed and breakfast located in the Historical Fort Worth Stockyards ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stonehouse b&b
Stonehouse Hotel Fort Worth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing