We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Retro Hotel - Best View of Dallas”
Review of Belmont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmont Hotel
Ranked #83 of 204 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cool Retro Hotel - Best View of Dallas”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We've been going to the Bar Belmont for a couple of years now but had the chance to stay in the hotel for the first time recently. Basically this is a cool retro boutique-style motor inn just a few miles from downtown Dallas. The rooms are simply appointed with modern furnishings and interesting color schemes. If you want something plush The Belmont probably won't fit, but if you want something cool this could be a good place. Some rooms are inside and some have parking lot access. Overall it seems like they are all a good deal for this type of hotel. The views of Dallas and the new Trinity bridge make it worth it - even for locals.

Room Tip: Some rooms offer more a view than others and apparently, when staying inside the hotel part, upstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptDefeated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    103
    36
    22
    15
See reviews for
28
117
31
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

This beautiful 1940's motor court hotel is where I stay anytime I'm in Dallas. It's one of my all-time favorite hotels in the US. They've taken a classic old motor court hotel and completely renovated it. It is wonderful.

Each room in the bungalow section of the motor court is roomy with a bed and bathroom and small flat screen. The interior is a bit minimalist, but it completely works. Regardless, you shouldn't spend your time in your room anyway.

Each bungalow has an attached covered patio so you can sit and enjoy the amazing views of the Dallas skyline and the beautiful landscaping around the rooms. Cactus, Hollywood juniper, fire grass, and other plants make the courtyard lush and peaceful.

Perhaps the best part of the hotel is the pool. The pool is surrounded by black bamboo and that amazing view of the city. It's heated and has a wall at one end with a waterfall. Swimming at night is the best time to enjoy it.

I haven't stayed in the main building which I believe is a more traditional setup with rooms off a hallway. In the main building is a hotel lounge and patio with more views of the city.

The hotel is off the beaten path at first glance but Dealy Plaza (JFK assassination location) and downtown are only 3-4 minutes away straight up the street. Ft. Worth Avenue runs right into Commerce.

It's a great motor hotel that you just won't find anymore.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SchulzeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
masonite10
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

My wife and I spent great weekend at this hotel while in town for the Cotton Bowl at Cowboys Stadium. We brought our little Boston Terrier and due to this we had to get a one of their upgraded Bungalow's. Which had a nice tile floor and was located outside the main hotel. We had no problems out there were sounds and it had it's own little outside area. Also, on the grounds are a very cool little pool though it was a little bit of walk from our room, but with the view of Dallas from there it was well worth the location. The hotel had very cool walking paths which my wife loved and walked with our little dog multiple times during the day. Also, there was a bar (which was very cool at night) which overlooked downtown and a restaurant "smoke" which lived up to it's name alot of BBQ and was very good, though the drinks were a little pricey (ranging from $5-15), most meals range from $10-25 and worth eating at, if stay on site. Our friends stayed inside the hotel at they enjoyed there rooms also though they were a bit smaller than our room.

I would say the area is not built up yet right around the hotel, though there is a nice modern development coming in soon. But, at first it looks a little sketchy around the hotel, but, we felt safe after we got comfortable.

Also, we did not use the Valet parking. If you come in at night you might use the valet, but 15 bucks a night was pretty pricey when you can park 100 feet further away next to the restaurant for free.

They were not running a shuttle or anything like we thought they had. However, we did take a cab and to the hip downtown area called McKinney Street was a $15 cab ride for two (or 20 for 6). We also took a cab to the Cowboys Stadium from there and it was $45.

Ohh, the front desk service was great, She was very helpful, use her as a great guide!

They also have coffee in the morning in the bar area, but, that is allo.

All in all we enjoyed our stay and would go back with or without a dog. Though if you want to go out without a car you will need to use a cab.

Happy Stays!

Room Tip: Middle rooms are further away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masonite10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

The property looks stellar from the outside with the white stucco walls and beautiful views of downtown. But if you're looking for the Dallas version of Austin's mod motor court, the Hotel San Jose, you'll be somewhat disappointed. This renovation lacks the same attention to detail that Liz Lambert took with the San Jose's. Instead of polished concrete floors and Bertoia chairs, the rooms sport thin rec room carpet and original cracked bathroom tiles. The effect feels unfinished rather than charming. My room also had a balcony, but instead of outdoor furniture, it featured only industrial black rubber mats.

In terms of the basics, this place was clean, the staff were friendly and the value was good. It's also a super spot if you plan to spend time in the Bishop Arts District or downtown but want to do so without having to deal with Dallas pretense or the W party vibe. In short, I would recommend it but with the caveat to manage your expectations.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jd294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

I wanted to love the Belmont, but I simply did not.

A friend and I spent a weekend there in October of 2011 and we were put off from the minute that we arrived by the cooler-than-thou attitude of the staff. Upon entering the lobby and approaching the desk for check-in, the clerk turned her back to us and began a conversation with another person in the back office. Essentially, the same thing happened when we checked out, though this time with another clerk who didn't even thank us after completing our payment. What's up with that? Why run a hotel if you're too cool for the guests?

Some clerical errors were made as well, leaving us locked out of our room one day and without maid service another... these were remedied but with caveat that the errors weren't really their fault........whatever.

Rooms are sparse but comfortable -- we knew that going in and so were OK with it. And the location is simply not great, but we knew that going in as well, so can't complain.

On the other hand, we had a remarkable dinner at Smoke, the associated restaurant. It was just wonderful and I'd go back there in a second.

Room Tip: The rooms over the bar are noisy at night -- you can hear bar patrons and music until the bar closes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelFloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, Ambassador at Belmont Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Please allow me to offer our apologies for the sub-par experience you had at the Belmont. Warm and welcoming hospitality should go without saying, and I am sorry that we did not live up to our own standard.

We appreciate every guest who chooses to stay with us, and thank you for alerting us to our lapse. If there is anything we can do to help make amends please let us know.


Sincerely – Scott H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
9.2 km away
The Highland Dallas
The Highland Dallas
#11 of 204 in Dallas
373 reviews
3.8 km away
NYLO Dallas South Side
NYLO Dallas South Side
#43 of 204 in Dallas
581 reviews
5.1 km away
Warwick Melrose Hotel Dallas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown
3.8 km away
The Fairmont Dallas
The Fairmont Dallas
#18 of 204 in Dallas
1,986 reviews
9.2 km away
The Lumen
The Lumen
#31 of 204 in Dallas
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmont Hotel

Property: Belmont Hotel
Address: 901 Fort Worth Ave, Dallas, TX 75208-1710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#39 Business Hotel in Dallas
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,508 - ₹ 13,284
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Belmont Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmont Hotel Dallas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing