We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great historic hotel; needs more staff; still, a great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Adolphus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Adolphus
Ranked #16 of 200 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great historic hotel; needs more staff; still, a great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

After spending 3 days at the Adolphus, I debated back and forth about 4 or 5 stars. If I could give them 4.5 stars, I would. I finally settled on 5 because I really enjoyed my stay, in spite of a number of minor issues that pointed to a lack of adequate staffing that could easily be addressed.

Minor issues? Trash on the lobby of my floor that was never picked up in 3 days. No remote for the VCR in the room that took a day to get replaced. Long valet pickup times. Left my room at 1PM and by 8PM it was still not cleaned--the maid was on my floor and admitted to me that there was not enough staff and apologized. No notepads or pens in the room (they came the 2nd day). The concierge was MIA a lot--at least half the time I came in and out of the lobby.

All these minor things could easily be solved by more staff and/or more management oversight. I can tell you the restaurants (I ate at all 3 of them) had plenty of staff and service was great; whoever is managing the food and beverage is doing a great job.

On the positive side, the hotel has a wonderful lobby and a great staff, and I thoroughly enjoyed my room. The location is great, the food and services are great, and I would definitely stay there again. They just need to step it up a bit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripwarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,483
    575
    247
    134
    90
See reviews for
342
841
167
821
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
granbury, tx
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

My husband and I were staying overnight in Dallas to attend a concert at Gexa Energy Pavilion. The Adolphus is a wonderful location and convenient for any event near downtown Dallas. In addition it is a short walk to many Dallas restaurants.
Check in at the hotel was as easy as I have ever experienced. I went inside to check in while my husband took care of turning our car over to the valet parking. He and I were both on the way to our room within minutes of arrival. The lobby area was very "old world" and would have been a fun place to sit and people watch if we had the time to kill. Our room was very comfortable, clean, and tastefully decorated, but was nothing extraordinary. My only complaint was that there was only one bath towel and it was a bit flimsy...... not the thick fluffy towels I would have expected at the Adolphus. When I called housekeeping and requested additional towels, they were delivered more quickly than I have ever experienced. The staff at the Adolphus was the most pleasant and attentive that I have seen in any hotel. Any employee was ready to assist at any time. I was especially impressed with the gentleman working the valet parking in the evening. Every time we went in or out, he remembered us and welcomed us back. In the morning we ate breakfast at the Bistro. Our waitress, Petra, was "The Best". She was pleasant, efficient, and made sure that we needed nothing. As a bonus to the wonderful service, we thoroughly enjoyed the Crabmeat Eggs Benedict, and the Texas Scramble. Our stay at the Adolphus was a real treat!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nanski3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winters
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Overall stay the Adlophus was great and the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was very beautiful and well kept. We stayed in a room with a King size bed with plenty of room and it was very nice and the bed was very comfortable and the view was great. I liked that it was close to many attractions downtown just walking distance. If I have another stay in Dallas I would stay here again. :)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank judy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Likes: lobby decor and acht. Fitness club, on site dining options. Dislike: cleanliness of room, valet parking responsiveness at early AM departure.
I also like that I could pay 75 bucks via hotels.com but the valet parking is 26$ plus the tipping. Way too much dust in the corners of my room, carpets are way past due and the bathrooms are very dated. Lobby is amazing, so many chairs and nooks to relax and lounge, work, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for exterior view to street. For a big city, the down town is somewhat quiet at night and in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami
Level Contributor
72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I was concerned when I read some negative reviews, but I had the best overall experience at this hotel. The staff was great and willing to make every request happen. The hotel was beautiful with the old style mahogany and brass fixtures. The room was gorgeous, although it didn't have a good view, but really- how much time do you spend inside a hotel room looking out the window? I would definitely come here again, and I hope that next time I am able to give the French Room a try!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank impactnaomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind and balanced review. The vast majority of guests who stay with us do, indeed, share your opinion. As with any business that has thousands of patrons, we will stumble occasionally. The world is not perfect and neither are we. But, as you found, our staff has heart and truly wants to make each guest's stay truly exceptional. More often than not, they succeed brilliantly.

Please do come back and experience The French Room at The Adolphus. It is well worth the trip.

Warm regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#4 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,965 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#6 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#3 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Oak Lawn
The Ritz-Carlton, Dallas
The Fairmont Dallas
#17 of 200 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Adolphus? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Adolphus

Property: The Adolphus
Address: 1321 Commerce St, Dallas, TX 75202-4294 (Formerly Adolphus Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 200 Hotels in Dallas
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,594 - ₹ 25,065
Hotel Class:4 star — The Adolphus 4*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized for more than a century as the iconic address for Dallas hospitality, The Adolphus inspires each guest's journey by offering vibrant and storied surroundings and locally celebrated amenities, all crafted and delivered with intuitive, memorable service. Today, the original address for timeless Dallas refinement re-emerges as a smart, urban destination for a new century of hospitality, promising every guest a warm and extraordinary experience. The 407 spacious guest rooms and suites all have king-size beds. Among the new amenities: a brand new rooftop pool and executive fitness center. Travel + Leisure readers voted The Adolphus one of the top 10 large city hotels in the Continental U.S. and Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott and Agoda so you can book your The Adolphus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing