We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, beautiful hotel”
Review of The Joule, Dallas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Joule, Dallas
Ranked #7 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level Contributor
124 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great service, beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Frequently stay at this property, staff is always helpful and friendly, rooms are always immaculate and beautifully appointed. Meals at the Charlie Palmer restaurant are outstanding- even breakfast. Can't wait for the addition to be completed with the spa.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanL99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJoule, General Manager at The Joule, Dallas, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Thanks for your kind words; we always enjoy hearing from loyal patrons. Stay tuned for exciting details surrounding our expansion that will include a gourmet food hall by Charlie Palmer, an outstanding spa by ESPA, additional suites including three world-class penthouses, and a private theater and recording studio.

Brendan Carlin, Managing Director
214 261 4490
bcarlin@thejouledallas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    769
    183
    47
    27
    28
See reviews for
90
360
54
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poinciana, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2012

FABULOUS! The pool is on the 11th floor and extends past the building to hang over the sidewalk below! Breath-taking! An overall wonderful pool area with a bar! The rooms are gorgeous, too. The one-bedroom suite had a two-person jetted soaking tub! Sooo relaxing. . . The staff was super friendly and helpful. I love this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatiMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJoule, Public Relations Manager at The Joule, Dallas, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
We are delighted to hear that your visit was memorable. The Joule team looks forward to welcoming you back!

~Christie Sheffield
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We booked this hotel under luxury hotel and resort collection. We have NEVER had a bad experience with that company until now. Booked the hotel based on the pool/pool bar. Arrived and the pool bar doesn't open until 3 pm (not mentioned when I called the hotel directly and... Who is laying by the pool only after 3 pm?!?!) AND the pool was closed for a "photo shoot" that took up the whole pool for a majority of the afternoon.


Furthermore, room service was closed at 10 pm, front desk was unhelpful (in ordering a pizza nonetheless) and Charlie Palmer was a waste of time and energy (great staff, HORRIBLE management.)

Stay at luxury hotels frequently and would recommend ANYWHERE in dallas other than this! Spend your $$$ at the W!!! Better investment!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ObjectiveBigSpender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJoule, General Manager at The Joule, Dallas, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Unfortunate waste of money



Thank you for your insight and forgive us for the issues encountered during your stay. Due to the pool reputation and design, it is in high demand for photo shoots; however, we attempt to limit sessions to off-peak hours and the space is not to be exclusively closed during those times. It is with deep regret that you were unable to enjoy the space. Based on your valued feedback we will consider commencing the official pool season earlier next year and the photoshoots should not impede future guest experiences.

As a Luxury Collection hotel, room service is provided 24 hours a day. Please contact me directly so I can learn the details surrounding your communication with the Charlie Palmer team. We strive to exceed expectations at every turn and forgive us if we missed the mark during your visit.

Sincerely,
Brendan Carlin, Managing Director
214 261 4490
bcarlin@thejouledallas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I spent 2 nights in the St. Regis in Houston prior to coming to this hotel. The Joule is not luxurious in comparison and not sure why Starwood has it branded as such. This is a W Hotel wanna-be for the over 40 set. The rooms are tiny and open like most W's and the focus on being trendy, not on customer service nor amenities. Designer soap in the bathroom does not a luxury hotel make. This hotel has a very cramped feel. Be warned, the building next door is under construction (which I am sure is temporary). It is clear this hotel has no loading dock or alley because while I was eating dinner at the award winning restaurant downstairs (Charlie Palmer's) I had big trucks pulling up within 10 ft of my table loading and unloading big crates of towels (I learned they outsource their linens) and other large pieces of equipment. It really ruined the experience for me. The pool was nice as was the fitness center but with tiny cramped rooms, lack of customer service (I tried calling the desk 3 times and never go through) and the loading dock at the front of the building, I wouldn't recommend it.

Room Tip: Go to the W Hotel instead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoGirl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJoule, General Manager at The Joule, Dallas, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
I was disappointed to learn that the design was not as you expected. The Joule resides in a landmark 1927 neo-gothic bank building and some of our rooms are limited in size due to historical restraints but are priced accordingly. Our larger rooms and suites are quite comfortable with two stories and are as large as 2500 sq ft. As you mentioned we are currently undergoing a substantial expansion and renovation that encompasses three buildings to the east and three to the south. Our lobby will grow in size to incorporate a lobby bar, retail space and Library by Taschen that should help alleviate the cramped feel you experienced. Also included in our expansion is :

-31 spacious guest suites, and three architecturally significant penthouses.

-A second celebrity chef restaurant by Charlie Palmer incorporating farm fresh to table ingredients and open cooking stations.

-An airy 4,000 sq. ft. rooftop terrace and garden

-A subterranean 8,000 sq. ft. spa by ESPA

-A private screening room with seating for 25

Additionally, the expansion will relocate the loading dock so the Charlie Palmer patio dining experience is not interrupted. Again, thank you for your insight and please do not hesitate to reach me directly with additional thoughts so we can exceed your guest expectations in the future.

The fact that you were unable to get through to the front desk is quite disturbing and truly unacceptable. Feel free to reach me directly with any additional feedback.

Brendan Carlin, Managing Director
214 261 4490
Bcarlin@thejouledallas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

A friend and I (females in our early 20's) stayed at the Joule on the night of the 7th April. From the moment we arrived, the service was impeccable.

Check in: staff were friendly and efficient and very happy to provide recommendations for activites/meals in the local area.

Room: we stayed in a Deluxe room with two double beds. The room was immaculately clean, modern and very spacious. The view left somewhat to be desired but we weren't there to look out the window. There was a very large shower but no bath. A point to note: there was no door separating the bathroom from the bedroom, instead there was a large pull-across curtain which acted almost as a room divider. There was a separate cubicle with door for the toilet. This didn't bother us too much but it was a bit of a strange arrangement, particular when the room isn't set up for couples. The beds were large and very comfortable.

Pool: The pool was wonderful. There were plenty of towels and comfortable seating available and the staff couldn't do enough to help. The service was great and drinks not eye-wateringly priced.

Transport: The hotel provided a courtesy car which was available to take us for dinner. The restaurant that was recommended to us for dinner was excellent but very pricey (make sure to check before accepting that this is what you're looking for). The hotel also arranged a car to take us to the airport early in the morning, which charged the same as the cabs' flat rate from the airport to downtown.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and would stay here again if I return to Dallas.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with friends, check on the bathroom arrangement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcb47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 203 in Dallas
6,340 reviews
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#3 of 203 in Dallas
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Adolphus
#19 of 203 in Dallas
2,581 reviews
Oak Lawn
The Ritz-Carlton, Dallas
The Fairmont Dallas
#18 of 203 in Dallas
1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Joule, Dallas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Joule, Dallas

Property: The Joule, Dallas
Address: 1530 Main St, Dallas, TX 75201-4804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#4 Business Hotel in Dallas
#5 Family Hotel in Dallas
#5 Spa Hotel in Dallas
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
Price range (per night): ₹ 20,687 - ₹ 37,624
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Joule, Dallas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Joule Hotel, named for the international unit of energy, is the stunning product of a revitalized 1920's neo-gothic landmark Dallas building, three restored buildings of 1930's vintage, and several new structures. A visual masterpiece from award-winning designer Adam D. Tihany, the hotel creates a tasteful union of old world quality and contemporary design, while densely populated throughout by museum quality artwork from names including Tony Cragg, Tony Tasset, Andy Warhol and Richard Phillips. In addition to new guest rooms, spectacular multi-story penthouses and bespoke lobby experience, the property includes an impressive glass-fronted rooftop cantilevered pool, subterranean spa, rooftop terrace with glass pavilion, beautiful event spaces, first-class dining, vibrant cocktail destinations and one-of-a-kind shopping experiences. The Joule is an artfully delivered experience set in the heart of downtown, adjacent to the flagship Neiman Marcus and within walking distance of the Dallas Arts District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Joule, Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Joule, Dallas Hotel Dallas
The Joule Hotel Dallas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing