We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Location - very tiny rooms with some oddities” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lumen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lumen
Ranked #30 of 198 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Arkansas
Level Contributor
156 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great Location - very tiny rooms with some oddities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

This is a great location just outside the SMU campus and a few blocks from the North Dallas Tollway. The staff were fantastic! The best I have ever met in regards to attentiveness and friendliness. The rooms were the smallest and oddest I have ever experienced at a Kimpton property. Room 205 was small and you were required to stand upon the double bed in order to change the thermostat. The bed was attached to the wall so there was no opportunity to scoot it over and access the control. The balcony overlooked an large brick building next door. I was unable to locate an ice machine anywhere in the building except in the restaurant. They are opening a new section next month and I can only hope they pay attention to the thermostat and install ice machines. All that said - it was lovely room and hotel- the shower was fabulous with multiple jets and very large. The only parking available was valet at $13 per night plus tax. When I asked about non valet I was referred to the 7-11 store a few blocks away. I'm told this property is a converted motor court hotel - that would explain it's odd layout. I wish there was a pool and hot tub!

Room Tip: Don't choose room 205
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keylon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AssistantGM, General Manager at The Lumen, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Thank you so much for your review and suggestions of the room layout. I have just spoken with our Chief Engineer and we are looking to move the bed over a few more inches as we know there is about 18 inches between the wall and bed. These are the type of recommendations that help us to see how we can better the guest’s experiences. Yes we do only offer Valet service due to restriction of University Park and the lack of commercial and residential parking in the area. As you see we do have our renovation nearing completion and you will be happy to know that we have added a heated pool and we look forward to sharing this new building with our guests by the first week in February.
Again thank you so much for taking the time and we look forward to your return when in Dallas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    117
    34
    16
    6
See reviews for
89
83
45
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
134 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

The hotel works beautifully if you have a new student at SMU. Other wise, it's OK. The shower is nice, but the rooms are small. The suites work well to keep a student in your living room if you want them in with you. If you aren't doing womething with the school, then there are better places for better prices for what you get.

Room Tip: Suites work well to house a student with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ihatefakenames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AssistantGM, General Manager at The Lumen, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Hello,
Thank you so much for taking the time to let others know about your stay. I agree Location, Location, and Location. We are a great fit for those who are visiting SMU. We do some small rooms but also many larger rooms as well such as our Specrta studios, Executive rooms and suites as you mentioned. I also think that you will see a big difference once we open our new building as well and you will find that we will be the perfect fit for others who are visiting more than SMU. Thank you again for taking your time and thank you for staying with us and we hope that you will give us another opportunity again when visiting SMU or Dallas in general.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

My daughter and I stayed here the night before a visit to the SMU campus. The hotel could not be more convenient - it is literally across the street from the University. The city was blazing hot while we were there (110 degrees during the day and 100 at 11pm!!) - the air conditioning worked beautifully - no problems! We had a one bedroom suite with a small kitchen (which we did not use). There was a king-sized bed in the bedroom and a large pull out couch in the living room. Both beds were comfy and the bathroom was large and well appointed. The staff were very helpful and friendly. This is definitely the place to stay when visiting SMU!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AssistantGM, General Manager at The Lumen, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
I am so glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay. I want to thank you for letting others know about your experience. Our suites are a great room and give you the opportunity to spread out a bit after a very hot day in Dallas.
We look forward to your return and hopefully next time it won’t be so hot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton Township, MI
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

We booked the Hotel Lumen on a lark, never staying a Kimpton property before. We were pleasantly surprised by both the staff and the hotel. Our room was fantastic! Huge shower and a very comfortable bed. The staff was welcoming and fun. The location is perfect, right across from SMU and convenient to downtown and everything in Dallas. Only a few miles from Love Field. We didn't bring our dog, but did see that they are welcomed and so we now have a great place to stay in Dallas when we travel with our pet. Very pleased that they don't have a size or weight limit for pets. All in all, it was a great stay and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Spectra Studio. FABULOUS
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AssistantGM, General Manager at The Lumen, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Hello,
I am so glad to hear of your "Wonderful Surprise" with staying at The Lumen. I am so excited to hear you had a great stay and that our staff met your expectations and most of all they were “Fun” As a Kimpton Property that is one aspect of who we are and how we want our guests to feel when staying with us at any of our properties. When coming back we look forward to showing you our new renovations and we know that you will always experience the “Fun” again
Again thank you for your time and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

I have stayed at the Hotel Lumen numerous times for short and longer stays. The staff is top-notch. It's small overall size reminds me of a European property, but the rooms are large, comfortable and clean. And it's pretty easy to get a good deal on rooms and I have often gotten an upgrade.
The location is awesome, it's in the middle of Dallas, in University Park, directly across the street from SMU with easy access to highways and the DART train. It's 10 minutes to the heart of downtown and 10 minutes north to Northpark for shopping.
I recommend the Hotel Lumen to European travelers looking for a good "home base" in Dallas.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front of the building for a nice view of SMU
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drujon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AssistantGM, General Manager at The Lumen, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Thank you so much for reaching out to Tripadvisor to tell others about your past stay. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed the European feel. With being a smaller hotel it does allow for us to have that feel and also to get to know our guest. We are happy to hear that you recommend it to European travels as a home base. We are in such a great location for so much that Dallas has to offer.
Thank you again and we hope to see you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
The Highland Dallas
#15 of 198 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Hilton Dallas Park Cities
#31 of 198 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#3 of 198 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lumen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lumen

Property: The Lumen
Address: 6101 Hillcrest Ave, Dallas, TX 75205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Dallas
#13 Family Hotel in Dallas
#25 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#45 Business Hotel in Dallas
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,818 - ₹ 24,416
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lumen 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lumen, a Kimpton Hotel, brilliantly illuminates your stay in Dallas. Ideally situated across from SMU campus and adjacent to the swanky Social bistro, its chic retro style provides modern comfort that feels fresh and inviting. Located in the affluent Park Cities neighborhood, our luxury boutique hotel is near exceptional shops, restaurants and museums. The hotel is also close to the Dallas World Aquarium, Meyerson Symphony Center, Dallas Art Museum and the American Airlines Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Lumen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lumen Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing