We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Breakfast!”

The Original Pancake House
Ranked #152 of 4,163 Restaurants in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Description: Mon-Fri 6:30am to 2:30pm Sat 6:30am to 3:30pm Sun 7:00am to 4:00pm
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

We had four for breakfast. First of all, may I say THANK YOU for the delicious Brazilian French Press coffee?!?! You can't find coffee like this at most commercial restaurants so this was such a nice surprise!!! Oh, and the fresh squeezed OJ!! Wow!!!

Okay, now to the food. I had the Fiesta omelette with chorizo. One of the best omelettes I've ever had -- it was baked in the oven and very fluffy and moist (I hate dry omelettes)!! Grits with cheddar cheese instead of pancakes and a side of bacon. Oh my. They certainly do it big in Texas because there was a LOT of food!

Other food in the table was Huevos Rancheros, pancakes, corned beef hash and eggs, and Eggs Benedict. There wasn't much talking going on. The food was that good.

Date of visit: August 2017
1  Thank ShayBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

A very nice place for a late morning breakfast. The pancakes are very good and the gave several varieties to choose from. Lots of good egg dishes as well. They fresh squeeze the orange juice here and it's exceptionally good! The staff here is friendly and very attentive. Prices are moderate and the food portions are just right. We had a good dining experience. We look forward to our next one.

Date of visit: August 2017
1  Thank M8092RRkevinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Daryl was our server-5/5, very congenial and attentive yet unobtrusive, western omelette was huge and absolutely delicious, pancakes were also very fluffy and delicious. Not a fancy restaurant. The decor was pleasant, plenty of parking. Prices a little on the high side, but the quality of the food and service justified it. We are looking forward to many return visits

Date of visit: August 2017
1  Thank dkennedy1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

There was a wait time when we came in on a busy Saturday morning. Nice seating area makes it easy though. Our server was Beverly and she did such a good job explaining the menu. I got the omelette which was very fluffy which I've never had like that before but still really good. All their portions are huge. You can always request half of a plate. My husband got the country style eggs benedict but could only eat half. The pancakes were delicious. We didn't get to try the apple pancakes but many people were eating them.

Date of visit: July 2017
1  Thank ZerLX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

The wait time was reasonable. Our waiter was maybe the best I have had this year and I eat out 4 times a week. He was so detailed and personable. He was super busy but he was able to manage it all. I believe his name is Bobby I hope that's correct!(lights out)
The menu was extensive and went more traditional in my selection. It was good.
Overall I will return

Date of visit: June 2017
1  Thank HoggLife1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Original Pancake House also viewed

 

Been to The Original Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing