We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
47
25
16
16
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
25
16
16
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivercabindecktreeswoods
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2014

Skip this place for sleeping! Bedding is horrible! Mattresses must be left over from the '50! They are hard and make noises when you move. And the pillows are unusable! I had to go to the nearby Dollar Store to purchase a pillow just to be able to lay down on the bed. Then, just after we'd gone to bed, another couple was able to open our door!!! How does that happen!?!? Unacceptable! They were courteous and apologized, and left, but if they had not been given a key, there is no way the door should have opened!

Other than that, the cabins are very cute. Bathroom shower in our unit was recently remodeled and very nice. Location on the Guadalupe was awesome. But even with all that, the bedding is bad enough to keep me away! No sleep at Hideout on the Horseshoe!

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank woffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2014

My daughter was just married at the Hideout on the Horseshoe, and it was the perfect choice for her wedding! We had a wonderful experience from start to finish. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. The Hideout had enough cabins for all the wedding party and families to stay together and share the whole weekend wedding experience. The cabins are all comfortable, clean, and the views from each spectacular. The Hideout gave us everything....a simply stunning venue, plenty of places to relax by the river or campfire, a river float trip for all, a rehearsal dinner venue, a beautiful ceremony location, and the perfect atmosphere for the reception.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank pam d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The cabins are clean and have a lot of Hill Country charm. The location is very convenient for tubing and I was happy to find out on arrival that the cabin price included tubing with Whitewater.

While the rooms have a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker, that is it. There is nothing in the kitchen cupboards. No corkscrew or bottle opener, no plates or cups and there aren't really restaurants nearby (we went to the 7-11 for breakfast). So plan accordingly.

We went to the Gristmill in Gruene for dinner which was lovely. (Go early or late as it gets really busy). We went tubing on a Wednesday morning at 9:30 and had the entire river to ourselves. Natural Bridges caves are nearby and really pretty amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Travelingwithgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Hideout is a great place to stay if you're in the Hill Country. It's a great location with rustic grounds right on the river. I stayed in several units during my week-long stay and all were well appointed. If you are lucky enough to be there while there is a show on the adjacent Whitewater music venue, you will not be disappointed. It's a great music venue. This place is the definition of TEXAS. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Amber and Kacy are great and give great customer service. I will be returning and would recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Zeek82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We attended a wedding here in May 2014. It was a great place because most of the guests were able to stay in one location. Cabins were very spacious and clean. Each cabin had a patio which overlooked the river. Tubing locations were close by.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwilker792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews