We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great river view and access”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hideout on the Horseshoe
Reviewed 3 February 2015

We stayed here for 1 night during the off season. The rooms are all on the river with big porches where you can relax and enjoy the view. We stayed in Shone room 3. It had a full size ice box, coffeemaker and microwave. You need to bring your own paper plates, utensils and wine opener. If you want to read, bring a reading light. The lighting in the cabin is very dim. Internet connectivity was not working. A highway is right behind the cabins so there was road noise.
Beautiful place and nice people.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a view of the river but some have trees that block the view somewhat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Raggedy Ann 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2014

Skip this place for sleeping! Bedding is horrible! Mattresses must be left over from the '50! They are hard and make noises when you move. And the pillows are unusable! I had to go to the nearby Dollar Store to purchase a pillow just to be able to lay down on the bed. Then, just after we'd gone to bed, another couple was able to open our door!!! How does that happen!?!? Unacceptable! They were courteous and apologized, and left, but if they had not been given a key, there is no way the door should have opened!

Other than that, the cabins are very cute. Bathroom shower in our unit was recently remodeled and very nice. Location on the Guadalupe was awesome. But even with all that, the bedding is bad enough to keep me away! No sleep at Hideout on the Horseshoe!

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank woffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2014

My daughter was just married at the Hideout on the Horseshoe, and it was the perfect choice for her wedding! We had a wonderful experience from start to finish. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. The Hideout had enough cabins for all the wedding party and families to stay together and share the whole weekend wedding experience. The cabins are all comfortable, clean, and the views from each spectacular. The Hideout gave us everything....a simply stunning venue, plenty of places to relax by the river or campfire, a river float trip for all, a rehearsal dinner venue, a beautiful ceremony location, and the perfect atmosphere for the reception.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank pam d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The cabins are clean and have a lot of Hill Country charm. The location is very convenient for tubing and I was happy to find out on arrival that the cabin price included tubing with Whitewater.

While the rooms have a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker, that is it. There is nothing in the kitchen cupboards. No corkscrew or bottle opener, no plates or cups and there aren't really restaurants nearby (we went to the 7-11 for breakfast). So plan accordingly.

We went to the Gristmill in Gruene for dinner which was lovely. (Go early or late as it gets really busy). We went tubing on a Wednesday morning at 9:30 and had the entire river to ourselves. Natural Bridges caves are nearby and really pretty amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Travelingwithgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Hideout is a great place to stay if you're in the Hill Country. It's a great location with rustic grounds right on the river. I stayed in several units during my week-long stay and all were well appointed. If you are lucky enough to be there while there is a show on the adjacent Whitewater music venue, you will not be disappointed. It's a great music venue. This place is the definition of TEXAS. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Amber and Kacy are great and give great customer service. I will be returning and would recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Zeek82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canyon Lake
6.2 km away
The Lodge at Turkey Cove
The Lodge at Turkey Cove
#3 of 3 in Canyon Lake
27 reviews
7.4 km away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Hill Country Resort
1.8 km away
Mystic Quarry
Mystic Quarry
#2 of 14 in Canyon Lake
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17 km away
Wimberley Inn
Wimberley Inn
#3 of 4 in Wimberley
212 reviews
0.9 km away
Maricopa Riverside Lodge
Maricopa Riverside Lodge
#6 of 14 in Canyon Lake
56 reviews
16.4 km away
The Resort at Schlitterbahn
The Resort at Schlitterbahn
#2 of 34 in New Braunfels
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideout on the Horseshoe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideout on the Horseshoe

Address: 520 Fm 2673, office-11860 FM 306, New Braunfels, Canyon Lake, TX 78133-4504
Region: United States > Texas > Canyon Lake
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Canyon Lake
Price Range: ₹ 5,463 - ₹ 7,712 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hideout on the Horseshoe 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 18 room rustic luxury style accommodations are located between Canyon Lake and New Braunfels. All rooms are on a bluff with views overlooking the Guadalupe River and rolling hill country! So kick back and enjoy the quiet hill country rustic style! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hideout on the Horseshoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideout On The Horseshoe Hotel New Braunfels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing