We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friday fun!”
Review of Baja BBQ Shack

Baja BBQ Shack
Ranked #6 of 74 Restaurants in Canyon Lake
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Reviewed 4 August 2018

First time to the Baja BBQ Shack....first, the location is awesome---overlooking the marina and lake--sunset views!
We went for an early dinner (5:30) on a Friday not knowing what to expect based on the reviews here.
The restaurant / bar was not crowded at all at this time, but there was a reasonable crowd of locals and touristy looking folks---families with kids and seniors, and groups of friends gathered having drinks at the bar. There is inside (air-conditioned) dining, an outside dog and smoker friendly area, and outside seating with spray misters and fans to cool the summer Texas heat down. The atmosphere is very much a fun kinda place, cool decor, tropical, music playing on the speakers.
We were promptly greeted and seated outside in the bar area at our request. Our waitress was young and very sweet. Drinks were promptly served while we looked over the menu leisurely---lake time, no hurries. The chips and salsa are top notch. I was very pleasantly surprised at the quality and taste of the salsa.
We ordered burgers and the Baja BBQ nachos---the large order is way too big for a single mere mortal. Munched on chips and drank a couple cold beers, enjoyed the views and people watching while waiting on food. Our waitress was smiling, friendly and attentive....never had to seek her out as other reviewers have noted.
The burgers and nachos came out hot and fresh in a reasonable amount of time...again contrary to other reviews. Both were fun and very tasty. Others around us were receiving good service as well. They do have live music, which we missed since we arrived early. I'd recommend coming later as the sun goes down and next time we will so we can hear the band.
We paid, finished our drinks and left. As we were leaving (7:30'ish) the tables were filling fast, and people were waiting for tables, so take that into consideration.
We look forward to going back! It's a cool place to eat, drink, reasonable prices, and enjoy the lake.
Ps--- not sure about the negative reviews---could have been the particular waiter or a bad kitchen night. Our experience was wonderful in all areas. Slip into "lake time" and enjoy your visit!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Nate V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2018

Spent a relaxing afternoon here enjoying a few ice cold adult beverages. We sat on the patio and enjoyed watching boats and jet skis come and go, plus, if you sit in the patio bar area, you can people and dog watch. Yep, dog watch. There was an amazing assortment of dogs and their people playing ball, swimming (just the dogs) and having fun.
Service was a bit slow, but they were very crowded and Jay, the bartender, was great and very friendly. We devoured a plate of BBQ nachos, and found them quite tasty.
Returned that evening and found it much less crowded and enjoyed a live band on the patio and saw a beautiful sunset over the lake. It’s a great place!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank jojogarza50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018

First let me say that we really like this location, great place to watch the sunset! But the kitchen needs help....went there on Wednesday evening around 7:30.
Lots of room at the bar, so Wife and I decided to sit there, get a bite to eat and then move over to the lake side to watch the sunset!
Well didn’t get to see it due to the poor delivery of the kitchen....I ordered a hamburger, medium rare, Wife ordered brisket sandwich...easy right...guess not....waited over 45 minutes for the food....brisket sandwich was ok, but my hamburger was burnt to a crisp, litterly!! Can’t understand how any cook/chef would allow a hamburger so over cooked to even go out to a customer....where’s the basic quality control...if they are serving something like that, hate to imagine what else is being overlooked!
The place wasent that busy...but I guess the kitchen just simply needs help and definitely some management.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank jobrien2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

We went there last night. We expected the wait for a table especially since it was 8pm on a Friday. There was a 30 min wait. The wait staff was friendly. We ordered food and waited for over an hour. Finally I spoke to the manager and she said she would try to get food out quickly and would take some $ off of our ticket. After another 20 min we got our food. It was good but not the wait. Again, staff was very friendly. Great atmosphere. Good food. Maybe there was a shortage of staff in kitchen.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank rebeccabrabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

Felt like we were back in the islands with drinks and food over looking the marina at sunset.
Will return soon.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Terry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baja BBQ Shack also viewed

 

Been to Baja BBQ Shack? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing