We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You e been warned! Get drinks only-Terrible food and service otherwise”
Review of Baja BBQ Shack

Baja BBQ Shack
Ranked #6 of 74 Restaurants in Canyon Lake
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Reviewed 4 July 2018 via mobile

Microwave isn’t working so out meal is incomplete after and hour and a half. Food finally partially came out dry and cold but still missing my fathers meal as we wait. We had to find our own silverware, again after an hour and a half we finally paid for the drinks and chips and left hungry. My husband, who is active duty and eaten everywhere says, “I have to admit that was probably he worst place I’ve ever eaten,” and that’s saying a lot! Steer clear!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank mnaweeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

The food is really good, especially the brisket nachos! We had great service, but they seem to make the server bring out food in shifts rather than the entire table at once (which was problematic for us bc it was the kids sliders that came out last, some 5-7 minutes after the adults were served). The atmosphere is great if you like bars and the scenery/views were great.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

Stop for lunch and had grilled shrimp and fish with veggies. Service was good. Offers indoor and outdoor seating. Very casual atmosphere.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank LDB0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

On the positive: view is great, especially at sunset. The mixed drinks were strong. There was a live band, and they helped pass the time and were very enjoyable. So now for the negative: the service was slow and the food was so-so. We had a party of six and not one of us “loved” the food. We definitely would not suggest this place to our friends. I really wish the food had been better! That would have made the wait less annoying! Sadly, we chose this place because it was open later than other places in the area. Do not recommend!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank dysonj97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

The view was fantastic but after waiting half an hour at the bar, 5 of us were seated . We were starving so we ordered immediately. It took exactly 55 minutes to serve us.. but that is not the worse part. The food was cold ...then we had to wait more than five minutes to get our silverware. There were two servers serving over 26 tables outside. The cold brisket, turkey and sausage were mediocre. The manager came to apologize and her lame excuse was that she had too many of her workers graduating!!! Well maybe she should not have opened the whole restaurant. I understand why other reviews complained about the service!!!!
In summary, bad service and good view with mediocre food not worth the money at all.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank wawi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baja BBQ Shack also viewed

 

Been to Baja BBQ Shack? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing