We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy Apartment”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Fearby, Masham, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Clare_Lou...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy Apartment”
Reviewed 15 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Just returned from a relaxing one week stay at The Hay Loft. This cosy apartment has been renovated to a high standard, it is extremely well equipped and very comfortable. Comfortable bed, great bath and shower! Viv and Stuart (owners) are friendly, welcoming and helpful. Would highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a relaxing, peaceful holiday. A great base to explore this beautiful part of the country.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T
Lee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very dissapointed at lack of comfortable relaxing space”
Reviewed 6 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We arrived at the Hay loft on 5th of November just before 3pm. We had booked for 2 nights. At first glance the property looked good. went in and initially thought it was massive but unfortunately the owner had left open the adjoining door to their own living space and when that was closed we realised the real size. The bathroom was OK the bedroom was small but the bed was also a small double. I lay on it and my feet stuck over the end. (I am six foot ! Not a great size in this day and age) The living area/kitchen was disappointing as the thought of trying to enjoy a nice meal with wine which we had brought along with us was not possible the sitting area was an old double chair (a sofa would have been better) hardly acceptable for two people. The TV was tiny and according to the note was faulty! Really!! new modern TVs are not expensive. We decided that rather than face an uncomfortable night we would travel home which took about an hour. I contacted Sykes cottages (the agent) and they offered to refund their fee of £39 however we paid over £200 for the 2 days rent. It certainly was not worth the money. I went back to their site and clicked on the 7th November which came up at £39. We were considerably overcharged.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Village setting
Liked least: Sall uncomfortable seating and small bed. Small living dining area
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily S
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful winter stay!”
Reviewed 7 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Wonderful stay this weekend at the Hayloft! Cosy, warm and welcoming and a joy to come back to after days in the Dales during Storm Desmond! Really well equipped cottage and would echo other reviews to say it surpassed our expectations. Really well located for a stay in the Dales. Loved the view over the village from the bedroom and the fabulous deep bath! Friendly hosts made booking simple and it was delightful to receive homemade bread and jam on arrival. We will definitely return and would recommend it to anyone. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Dec 2015
Thank you for sharing this lovely review with us, we are delighted that you had such a great holiday! It is wonderful to hear that The Hay Loft exceeded your expectations, that is always what we strive for! We certainly hope to see you for another holiday again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darkmeado...
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely appartment in the centre of the village”
Reviewed 31 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This is a lovely little rental property for two people. It has been excellently renovated by the owners. The lounge is cosy with both heating and an electric fire. As the weather was not brilliant we spent some time in the apartment and would a more comfortable sofa and chair would have been appreciated. The bedroom was lovely with a great view over the village green. I enjoyed the large bath and shower in the bathroom. A shelf in the bathroom would be useful for toiletries. The home made bread and jam on arrival were appreciated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Sofa and chair in the lounge
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne-Mari...
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Peaceful and welcoming”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My partner booked this for my 50th Birthday and it was fab! The owners were very friendly and we arrived to freshly baked bread and home made jam. The kitchen is well equipped, the bedroom has a fab view over the village green, the bathroom has a lovely deep bath and massive shower cubicle. It really was a very relaxing break in very comfortable homely accommodation.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view from the bedroom
Liked least: The sofa in the lounge area wasn't very comfortable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing