We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Wine”
Review of Messina Hof Winery

Messina Hof Winery
Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Bryan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded on the cornerstones of family, tradition and romance, Messina Hof Winery & Resort has held its place as a Brazos Valley staple since its founding in 1977. It is the estate winery where the Messina Hof winemaking team crafts our world-class wines. Messina Hof had humble beginnings as founders, Paul Vincent and Merrill Bonarrigo ran the lab, tastings, etc right out of their living room. Our current Tasting Room, also known as the Guest Center, was the rebuilt home that wa originally the Ursuline Academy, which was an all girls school. The original brick from the home was used to build the Tasting Room that guests can still see today.
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Wine”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

It isn't France, but the wine is okay. The bed and breakfast is wonderful.

Helpful?
Thank TexasRicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    49
    14
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Romantic wine tasting”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My husband and I took a day trip to a couple of winery's in the area and Messina hof was on our list as a "must stop". Especially since they were having a special Sunday tasting callled TGI wine Sunday which included tasting of many wines, a cheese/fruit plate and a guitarist playing some good tunes.

The atmosphere at Messina hof is an idyllic setting, as you approach there are large gates with three buildings in the background. One is a decent sized B&B, one the wine tasting area, and the third looked to be a resturant(?) but it was not easily identified. The grounds are beautiful and there seemed to be walking paths leading into the vineyards and had we been there earlier we would have taken the time to investigate.

We had hopeful plans of a tour of the facilities and I had wanted to ask more questions but when we arrived the TGIF Sunday was in full swing and it seemed everyone working was very busy so we joined right in with the tasting! There were posted times of tours but we had just missed the last one of the day, but the tastings were very good, the cheese plate generous, and with the music in the background and the sun setting out the window, it turned out a perfect ending to our Sunday wine day!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank laenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grapevine, TX
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Be sure to take the Winery tour”
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Be sure to take the Winery tour. For $10, you get to tour the Bed & Breakfast, Restaurant, Vineyards and the Wine production. You also get to sample 4 great wines, including a Chardonney, Rose, Red and their signature Port.

We are normally not Port wine drinkers, but Messina Hof produces it in an exclusive way that makes it taste very smooth, like a chocolate covered cherry. It was excellent.

We had a great time in the tasting room talking to the owner and met lots of nice people. Definitely a great way to spend a relaxing afternoon.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank 2bassets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Okay for Central Texas, but wines not up to par”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Okay, there isn't much to see in the Bryan/College Station area so I definitely would recommend going to Messina Hof. The scenery is okay, the wines not so much. However, visiting the winery is a nice afternoon, just don't go home with a fistful of wines because of the "wine tasting halo". They just aren't that good. The villa that houses the bed and breakfast is unimaginative and the owners pretentious. For a great Texas wine experience head to Fredericksburg, Texas. Now there is some atmosphere!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Karbose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“No better winery anywhere!”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Messina Hof was a wonderful surprise for us. We spent our 40th anniversary at the bed and breakfast and had an incredibly good gourmet 5-course dinner at the attached restaurant. The rooms at the B&B all have a theme...we stayed in the Jefferson Room. It was equipped with a carved eagle bed and decorated in Jeffersonian style. We arranged an in house massage (came to the room). Champagne and chocolate covered strawberries were in the room for us. The breakfast was set out in a beautiful setting in the main entry. History is everywhere and everything has a purpose. The grounds are beautiful to stroll through and the winery produces some of the finest wines in texas.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank lindyb09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Messina Hof Winery also viewed

 

Been to Messina Hof Winery? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing