We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Quaint and Comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ye Kendall Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ye Kendall Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Boerne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quaint and Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

My husband and I were very pleased with our accommodations at Ye Kendall Inn. We stayed in a single room {with windows!) and had a large bathroom (with a door!). We stayed on the second floor of the original inn, and loved the porch. Felt like I had my own balcony, at night would sit on one of the porch's chairs and sip wine. The city park is across the street so had a nice view. Sure the Inn is quite old, but it was obvious money has been put into the Inn to keep it comfortable. And for the price, what a great deal! The Inn includes a renown Zagat Rated restaurant and bar. We loved historic Boerne and it was all across the street from the Inn. Our only complaint was the steep set of stairs one has to climb to get to the second floor. Sure have to appreciate the fitness of those of past generations!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    50
    26
    13
    11
See reviews for
47
83
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

As you walk up to Ye Kendall and enter the lobby, you can't help but notice the charm. The bar and resturaunt area have the same quaint feel. I didnt eat breakfast there, but the menu items for lunch or dinner are very good. The hotel is only one block away from the main street shops, resturaunts and events. We stayed in a suite the first night. It was weird. You walk in and think it's neat, but... after sleeping in the bed, using the 3 foot sink and the shower you don't really want to again. We switched to the much smaller Times room. I liked it better. The bathroom was much nicer. The tv in it was silly old, but hey, there was cable.

Overall rooms and prices bring this place down. Everything else is great. I don't think think anything over $85 is a fair price for a stay here, but if you are passing through, I would suggest stopping in for lunch and walking the area.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ernie_Valdez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
176 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

We stayed at the Inn for a two night getaway the week end after Thanksgiving. We decided to stay at Ye Kendall due to the proximity to down town Boerne. The Inn is extremely convenient for any downtown activities. This is the only plus for staying at Ye Kendall. The Inn is very old and has lots of history. This is all good but the rooms are very average at best. The pool(either a small pool or large hottub) need some TLC. I realize its winter time but the grounds need some work. We stayed in the Garden Court. The walls are very thin. You can hear everything next door as well as everything going on outside even when people are talking in a normal tone. There are no windows in the room. The only outside view is through the glass entry way door. This is ok but there no drapes on the door and built in mini blinds do not block out the shining lights from the walkway at night. There is always light coming in the room. Although I didn't stay there to watch tv, the tv was almost as old as the hotel.... TV's are cheap - upgrade them.

The Inn has wireless Internet access which worked well. The king size bed was a little soft and kinda had the hot dog bun feel in the middle..ie if you lay in the middle, it kinda rolls up around you - not too bad but definitely noticeable.

The toilet flapper leaked resulting in the toilet re-filling the bowl about every 5 minutes..... Very annoying when you are trying to sleep. There were plenty of towels but the quality is much to be desired. I haven't stayed in a motel 6 in a long time but from what I remember the towels are of a similar quality.

The front desk in not manned all the time - not an issue for us but something to keep in mind. They do have someone on call 24 hrs a day if needed.

I would recommend the Hampton Inn over Ye Kendall. It doesn't have the historic charm or proximity to down town as Ye Kendall but the rooms, bedding, amenities, breakfast and overall facilities are definitely better at a similar cost. It all depends on what you are looking for in a place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exptraveller501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laredo, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Spent 3 days at the Ye Kendall Inn in Boerne (pronounced like Bernie) Texas. The hotel was built around 1859 and has lots of history. Wall are constructed of 20 inch thick limestone blocks. A nice little creek runs by the hotel. There are 36 rooms and cottages on over 5 acres of beautiful rolling hills.

Our room was on the second floor of the original building - there is no elevator available, so had to drag the bags up the stairs. The room was quaint, but I wouldn't recommend these rooms - no controls for the air conditioner/heater, toilet and bathtub/shower shared the same room as the bed. Although there wasn't much traffic in the lobby on the first floor, the sound traveled up the open stairway and straight into our bedroom. Not very loud, but still distracting.

The cottages are something else! One is an old school house, another is an old clapboard church, a log cabin, etc. Really neat. A very relaxing setting in a beautiful little, but growing, town in one of the prettiest parts of Texas. Boerne is about 45 minutes away from San Antonio.

Only had two meals there but they were great. I don't know what the dessert was, but it was super delicious.

The rates were a little high, I thought, for our room, but I wouldn't hesitate to sleep in one of the cottages.

Room Tip: Book a cottage. Great theme cottages, an old church, an old school house, and an old log cabin, are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasBob_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
138 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

Ye Kendall Inn was my choice based upon its history and the photos of a L-o-n-g relaxing veranda on the second floor, and it certainly lived up to the photos. In late May, the veranda was deserted in the early mornings and I could drink my coffee and watch the birds try to build nests atop the columns. So peaceful, despite the hot Texas breeze! I learned (after choosing it) that it was the site where the wedding party of Miranda Lambert and Brook Shelton stayed during the event. How cool is that! If you're heading for Boerne and the Hill Country, you can't go wrong with the Kendall, especially if you prefer charm, personality and character to glass, chrome and plastic!

Room Tip: The rooms are all themed - ours was the Time Life Room and was decorated with magazine covers which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boerne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Side
Eilan Hotel & Spa, Autograph Collection
Motel 6 Boerne
#6 of 7 in Boerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Kendall Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Kendall Inn

Property: Ye Kendall Inn
Address: 128 W. Blanco, Boerne, TX 78006
Region: United States > Texas > Boerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Boerne
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,943 - ₹ 12,625
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ye Kendall Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ye Kendall Inn, established in 1859, is a registered state and national historic landmark. In 1859 the then Reed House offered 4 rooms for those traveling through the Texas Hill Country. Ye Kendall Inn now offers 36 rooms, suites and cottages each exquisitely appointed and beautifully restored to their historic grandeur but with modern amenities such as comfortable furnishings, complimentary wireless internet, cable TV. The Inn's 22-inch hand cut limestone walls and breezy front and back porches give you a historic true Texas experience not soon forgotten. The Inn is located on 5 acres overlooking Cibolo Creek and Boerne's historic Town Square in the heart of the Hill Country just 35 minutes north of San Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick and Agoda so you can book your Ye Kendall Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Kendall Hotel Boerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing