We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
82
15
2
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
82
15
2
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pecan waffle b bs other guests breakfast was delicious her husband art galleries enjoyed our stay wonderful weekend spent two nights downtown bastrop place to stay shawn hosts roosters community tlc
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2015 via mobile

Stayed here with VERY last minute reservations. They were happy to have us, despite our last minute spontaneity! Hosts were so friendly, can tell this is something they enjoy and love doing. Our room was beautiful, comfortable, and spacious. Breakfast was delicious, and we had the pecan waffles we had read so much about. This is the place to stay if you're in the area!

Date of stay: May 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mckfitz09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2015 via mobile

Shawn and Bill are awesome people. We stayed in the parlor with our two girls (dogs) for our 1st anniversary. The b&b has great access to both the town and the historic district of Bastrop. We will return. Blessings.

Date of stay: May 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Albert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2015

We stayed at Pecan Street Inn on March 30th to attend the semi annual Antique Shows in Round Top, Texas. Aside from the wonderful hospitality, comfy bed, and Bill's delicious breakfast, Shawn's knowledge of all things Round Top was amazing! We traveled there on the hunt for one item. Shawn gave us her recommendations on which shows would be the best places to check out for what we were searching for. We so appreciated all the time she took to map it out for us "and" giving us her cell# to call her if we needed help when we were out. Way "above & beyond" the call of duty ... and never found in hotels. Again, THANK YOU Shawn & Bill for EVERYTHING you did for us. Still can hardly believe the timing of the two of you appearing in our time of need at Marburger, followed by your gracious & generous offer to help us. We will be calling & seeing you soon!
Bev & Steve M

Room tip: Loved the Master bedroom!
Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Beverly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2015

We have stayed at the Pecan Street Inn three times in the past year, and on each occasion, we were made to feel so welcome by owners Shawn and Bill. The house itself is a Victorian-era gem, with high ceilings, gorgeous antiques and a large front parlor. We have stayed in several different rooms at the Inn, and they were all very well appointed, spotlessly clean and comfortable. Moreover, there was always a beautiful, quiet feeling to the house, even when it was full of other guests. Shawn and Bill are always a phone call away, but they also give their guests a lot of privacy — a perfect balance to strike as hosts. And breakfast lovers, rejoice! Bill is a talented chef, with specialities including Pecan-stuffed, grilled Texas toast, Pecan waffles and a very tasty breakfast casserole. Fruit, juice and plenty of strong, hot coffee fill out the menu. We have always enjoyed meeting the other guests staying at the Inn who have arrived there for a variety of reasons. Our trips to Bastrop this year were not vacations — we came each time to deal with a sad family matter. Bill and Shawn knew our circumstances, and treated us with the utmost sensitivity. The Pecan Street Inn, for us, has been a refuge where we could find peace and relaxation. And Bastrop — for those who are more luckily visiting as tourists — is a cool, historic town as well as a wonderful jumping off point to many other scenic spots. We love that it is only a quick 20 minute drive from hip, lively Austin. Twice, while we were in Bastrop, we dashed into Austin for a late show at the rollicking Continental Club. The house is located in the heart of the Historic district and an easy walk to Main Street and the River Walk. Bastrop has great dining options, from the casual Mexican restaurant, Ramos, to Cedars, a delightful restaurant specializing in Italian and Lebanese dishes. Whatever your reason for visiting Bastrop, the Pecan Street Inn is both an unusual and delightful place to stay. So much better and more warm than a corporate hotel. You'll be glad you stayed there, too.

Room tip: Each room is charming in its own way. Visit the Inn's website and you can find out more about each room and decide which one is best for you. Shawn and Bill will also be very helpful when you book.
Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2014

We had booked our room in April 2014 to stay for 2 nights in Oct 2014 and make payment in full for B and B by credit card. We paid a supplement to pay by credit card. When we arrived at 1600 after being told we could check in from 1600, the inn looked closed and empty. We hung around after walking around the property for ages trying to find someone or a way in. We even asked for directions to the visitors centre in case we needed help finding somewhere else to stay. At 1630 a lady arrived with a key telling us that the owners were away in Europe. We could still have our room but breakfast would not be provided and we would be alone in the inn on our own as no other bookings had been taken. We were a bit disappointed that there wasn't going to be breakfast at a B&B but decided to stay anyway.
First impressions: The inn is old and creaky and at first appears a bit scary!
Second impression: lovely old property. Lots of antique feature
Third impression: you must stay here! The beds are comfortable. The rooms are lovely. Bastrop is an adorable little town

We had booked the Marais room but the bed is REALLY high and I wouldn't recommend this to someone elderly or who has to get up a lot in the night. As we had the whole house to ourselves, we moved to the Master Suite which was actually shown at a lower price on the website but was much more suitable for us.

Despite not getting to sample the breakfast which everyone raves about we enjoyed our stay very much. On the day we were due to leave, the owner had returned and left a message for us to call him and he came along to meet us.

Whilst not having breakfast was a bit of a pain each morning, we loved the inn very much.

Room tip: All of the rooms are lovely but just be aware that the bed in the Marais room is very high!
Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MunchKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews