We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A real gem!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Longknowe

The house under the hills
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house under the hills
From the Hill above Longknowe main bedroom queen sized bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
The house under the hills
From the Hill above Longknowe
main bedroom queen sized bed
farmhouse kitchen
second double bedroom
view from second bedroom
top sitting room
second sitting room
renovated tiled bathroom and power shower
Front of house -  High Summer
twin beds great views!
looking out from the front door
Shepherd's Wagon, sleeps two can be rented in summer
Inside Shepherd's Wagon
The lane into the hills towards Longknowe - a public byway
Bunk room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kilham, Northumberland National Park, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
250Pete
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A real gem!”
Reviewed 5 March 2018 for a stay in April 2017

The Longknowe truly is a gem of a property in a beautifully unspoilt location. The property is extremely comfortable and the views of the surrounding countryside are wonderful. You could never tire of them. To be able to sit outside the front door and simply absorb the sheer beauty of the hills whilst having a morning coffee is something I will not forget. It was, as others have said, a joy to be able to head off for walks straight from the property. Equally, heading out in the car, there is so much to see and do in delightful Northumbria and the Scottish borders. Jo was most helpful and I would not hesitate to recommend the Longknowe.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2018
Thanks Pete for taking the trouble to write such a great review. All the people who work hard to keep this isolated house warm and comfortable for visitors will be delighted that you appreciated it so much. I will let them know and we are all delighted that you had a great time. Jo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CherylR19...
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Beautiful property great for a family group (with Dogs) and set in a beautiful landscape.”
Reviewed 27 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Stayed here for my Fathers 70th Birthday in January, the property is beautifully presented, great entertaining kitchen. The living rooms were really cosy with open fireplaces. The properties setting is fantastic, nestled in the rolling hills, you feel miles away from anywhere and great for walking from the doorstep. Couldn't fault it.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2018
Thank you very much, Longknowe is in the Northumberland National Park and a long way from city life, but its great to get away to a remote rural location and great to have people to stay who appreciate it for what it is!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarAway73...
1 review
“Holiday enjoyed by all!”
Reviewed 18 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Superb location. Lovely scenery. A real get away from it all Cottage (just what was needed by the workers in the family!). The children enjoyed playing with all the toys and the dolls house was a particular hit! The Kitchen was well stocked with the necessary equipment. (The only thing missing was a pair of kitchen scissors.) It was the first time we'd used an AGA cooker, but soon got to grips with it. The shops in Wooler stocked all the necessary food items. The nearest beach is Bamburgh about 30 mins ish. Jo Andrews (Owner) was very helpful. We all really enjoyed ourselves from the oldest aged 64, down to the youngest, aged 1 year!
Hope to visit again.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
87Piscean...
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 30 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

As the title a really hidden gem of a cottage, in the most idyllic setting. From every window in the cottage you can see the rolling hills, fields and sheep. The cottage is a real home from home with all the comforts you could hope for. So many places to visit and the walking is something else. The views from the top of the hill are just stunning in every direction. We walked from the cottage to Scotland across these rolling hills, challenging but very rewarding especially with the prospect of a wee dram in the middle of the walk. All the locals are very friendly and welcoming and we really hope for a return visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2017
Thank you Tim, glad you enjoyed The Longknowe it will be a pleasure to have you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xxLove2Tr...
Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic - warm and homely, stunning location”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This was ou first stay at Longknowe for 1 week in mid-September. It is a gorgeous property finished to a very high standard with all the creature comforts you could wish for together with rural charm and character. It is beautifully furnished and immediately felt like home from the moment we walked in the door. There are fantastic rural views in all directions and not another house in sight, it is wonderfully remote with only the local wildlife for company and just perfect for a peaceful retreat. Our favourite moments were lighting the open fire each evening, learning to cook on the Aga (if you are worried about this then don't be - it is very easy to use and cooks everything so well, now I want one at home!), watching the stars on a clear night (there is so little light pollution here that you can see the Milky Way) and enjoying the local wildlife. It only takes half an hour or so to reach the coast and there are endless places to visit, a week wasn't nearly enough. There are also local walks starting from the house, we spent a full day taking a scenic walk to the nearest pub in Kirk Yetholm which is actually across the border in Scotland. There are lots of maps of the local area at the house as well as books, games and CD's, you can even play table tennis on the huge kitchen table. Jo was very helpful and provided all of the information that we needed, and was always contactable during our stay had there been any problems. There's nothing negative to say - if you like remote and beautiful countryside and want to get away from it all then don't hesitate, just book it. We will certainly be going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The combination of peaceful and remote yet very comfortable and cosy
Liked least: Having to leave and come home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2016
Dear Love2Travel, we enjoyed having you, and I'm glad you enjoyed the remote countryside. Thank you for taking the time to write the review it means a lot to us when guests take the time to tell us about their stay. Please do come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing