We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous Views!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Home with view of Mt Nevis
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Home with view of Mt Nevis
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Home with view of Mt Nevis
VERANDA
VERANDA
VIEW OF NEVIS
KITCHEN
DINING
DINING
DINING AND LIVING ROOM
MAIN LEVEL HALF BATH
MASTER BEDROOM
MASTER BEDROOM
MASTER BATH
MASTER SHOWER
GUEST BATH
TURTLE BEACH ACCESS
TURTLE BEACH ESTATES
Villa Alamandra
DRIVEWAY ENTRANCE
VIEW OF VILLA AND NEVIS
VIEW OF NEVIS FROM VILLA POOL
LAUNDRY ROOM
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Turtle Beach, St. Kitts, St. Kitts and Nevis

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jacquelin...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Views!!”
Reviewed 6 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018
2
people found this review helpful

I recently stayed at this lovely villa with my husband for three weeks.
I can't say enough about the spectacular views!!!
You have stunning views from just about everywhere in this villa.
The villa is well equipped and the floor plan has been designed very well.
The master bedroom and bath were quite large and comfortable.
The owners had great books available, pool floats and everything you could want for your vacation stay.
The pool on the terrace is delightful and the view from it is amazing.
We enjoyed having coffee on the terrace and watching the sunrise everyday.
We also enjoyed seeing the monkeys in the villa yard and all over the island.
We had another couple join us for part of our stay and they loved the downstairs set-up. It was completely private for them.
Turtle Beach area is off the beaten track a little bit which makes it very peaceful!
We enjoyed Reggae Beach Bar Lobster Fest which is only minutes away.
Carambola Beach Club is one of our favorites as the beach is gorgeous and the food is great!
Salt Plage is a great place to go early evening and watch the sunset.
We also had opportunity to meet the owners and they are delightful.
The owners made the booking process simple and provided us with great information on places to visit and eat.
They were also very communicative throughout which was wonderful.
You will definitely need a car in St. Kitts to get around and also to enjoy all the island has to offer.
We used the property manager for our rental and he met us at the airport.
We also had him do some pantry stocking for us.
He is a very nice gentleman.
My husband and I absolutely love St. Kitts and this villa is a wonderful place to enjoy all it has to offer.
I can't express what a wonderful, peaceful, beautiful vacation we experienced at this lovely villa!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Feb 2018
Thank you very much for taking time out of your busy schedule to write such a positive review about your stay at Villa Alamandra, on Turtle Beach. It will tremendously help future guests in their decision making process and help us spreading the word of what guests can expect when staying with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed your visit and that we had an opportunity to meet with you and are looking forward to welcoming you back sometime next winter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tnr040470
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A bit Disappointing”
Reviewed 2 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We rented this beautiful Villa Alamandra the last week in April. It is certainly exactly how the pictures portray it. Its stunning and has the best view from almost any room in the entire place. Waking up to a perfect view of the ocean and the island of Nevis right across from you is almost surreal. You honestly don't want to leave the balcony as the views are perfect from sunrise to sunset and even at night overlooking the lights of the other island.
HOWEVER....there are definitely some downsides. So be warned. For example....there is NO AIR CONDITIONING in the main living area (living room and kitchen). Its steamy, in there, round the clock. Even with all the windows open the humidity is brutal!! The bedrooms are the only air conditioned rooms in the whole house. Next....the pool is FREEZING. This is inexplicable, as the ocean water is warm and the hotel pools, i.e. The Marriott (which we had to use because this one just stays ice cold) were 20 times the size and were warm. If you picture going there to soak in the plunge pool off the balcony, pack a wet suit, because that water just doesn't heat up despite being in the Caribbean sun daily. All I can think is because the wind is so strong on the side of the mountain its perched on, the water never really gets to warm up, even though its only a 12 by 4 pool. So we had to go swimming other places. That was a huge disappointment.
Next issue....the grill. They offer you a grill in the back yard to cook your own food. This is a 1977 model charcoal grill that is impossible to light. Again...THE WIND is a huge factor here. Please be forewarned that St. Kitts is a very windy island. But the location of this villa is right on the edge of a high mountain, so the wind is brutal and non-stop. This may not sound like a big deal at first, but trust me, we were shocked how much it effects things. And speaking of location...this home is on a STEEP incline. The roads getting to the house are DIRT roads. Very bumpy and hard on your vehicle. The mile of dirt road leading to and from the house takes you about 10 minutes to travel every time. You cannot go more than 7 or 8 miles per hour or you will destroy your cars undercarriage and tires. Picture one mile of non stop speed bumps.
And finally there were bugs. 100s of tiny little bugs, all in the sink and microwave. No idea what they were. But I realize its an island so I had to deal with them. But there were two HUGE bugs in the lower level that scared the heck out of us. A good 3 inches long with big feelers. So overall, its a beautiful place, but far from perfect.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2017
Dear valued Traveler,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to share your experience at Villa Alamandra with other travelers. We are very happy that you enjoyed the views from the home.

St. Kitts homes selling for over US$15 million have no A/C in living area, as electricity is prohibitively expensive, it would add at least US$1,000 to the weekly rental cost. We are very sorry that you found the pool water too cold, we have other reviews that make mention of the refreshing pool water, and we wish we could please all our guests at all times. St. Kitts, as all other Caribbean islands are in the tradewind latitudes which offers a continuous breeze enjoyed by some. We are glad to know that you are a careful driver and take our dirt road portion slowly. Being used to the road it takes us 2 minutes to drive the unpaved 1/2 mile portion. We have contacted our current guests and bugs are not a problem this week. The villa gets treated for bugs monthly and we are sorry you had to deal with some of them during your visit. To add a bit of Caribbean charm and the taste of island cooking, we opted for a local charcoal grill.

Thank you for choosing Villa Alamandra for your island getaway, we much appreciate your feedback. Pleasing our guests is our top priority.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosie6
Birmingham, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Magnificent!”
Reviewed 30 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

One of our favorite places that we have ever stayed! We traveled the first week of April with our two daughters (24 and 26) plus daughter’s fiancée and daughter’s boyfriend. So, there were six adults.
As a family, we have traveled all over the Caribbean. We don’t do cruises. We usually stay in hotels or condos, but with the guys joining us, it seemed like we needed more space. We started searching vacation rental homes which were located throughout the Caribbean. We really wanted to try someplace new, and none of us had been to St. Kitts or Nevis before. When we first saw the photos of Villa Alamandra I thought the view from the veranda almost looked like it was photo shopped. Let me tell you, it’s not photo shopped, and it is even more breathtaking when you walk through the front door for the first time!
The online descriptions and photos are very accurate so I won’t go into detail about the setup of the Villa. All of the communication with the homeowners was prompt and seamless. The Villa itself is clean as can be and the property owners have stocked the Villa with everything you could possibly need or want to make your vacation enjoyable. The kitchen is well equipped with utensils, pots and pans and dishes. There are 4 rafts for the pool, 2 full sets of snorkel gear (masks and fins), 3 hair dryers, full laundry facilities (don’t forget to bring your own detergent!) , 2 beach chairs, 6+ beach towels, a set of golf clubs and a few board games. Internet connection is strong and the TV gets a wide variety of channels. (Note: this only came in handy when we wanted to watch the NCAA basketball championship--please don’t book this place to watch TV!) The pool is more of a “plunge” pool. It looks a bit larger in the photos, but it worked out well for us. I only bring this up for families with young children who are going to spend a lot of time in the pool--they might find it on the small side.
The location of the Villa is on the southern tip of St. Kitts with awesome views of Nevis. The south end of the Island is in transition with an the development of exclusive housing; Christophe Harbor- accommodating Yacht travelers; and soon to be luxury Park Hyatt. The more upscale existing restaurants (Pavillion and Salt Plage…) will cater to these guests. So, when you stay at the Villa, you are in the lap of luxury for St. Kitts.
The beautiful Cockleshell Beach is just a four minute drive from the Villa. The beach is perfect for swimming and relaxing in the sun. On one end you have Reggae Beach Bar and on the other end you have Spice Mill. Spice Mill is more upscale and has nicer chairs but we liked the shade of the palm trees that the more casual Reggae Beach Bar provided. Interestingly, the Carib Beers are a dollar cheaper at Spice Mill, so go figure. Scattered between Spice Mill and Reggae you have a number of homemade beach shacks serving up $2 Caribs and authentic Caribbean fare. Some Cruisers do like to come down to Cockleshell Beach for the day because it is the best on the island. (good news/bad news). That being said, we never really had a problem getting a chair, even if we arrived later in the day. We made friends with the wait staff at Reggae Beach Bar and they didn’t even charge us for chairs. They treated us as locals.
It’s an easy 3 minute downhill walk from the Villa to Turtle Beach. (It’s harder on the return!) Since there are no hotels or restaurants on this beach , it is not groomed and it the beach is is very narrow. You can’t really even walk on the beach or even lay out a beach towel. You can however snorkel or bring the Villa’s beach chairs down and sit on the dock. There is a reef right off the left of the dock. It has some nice coral formations. Not a lot of fish, but I do suspect there are turtles that feed on the grasses. (Duh, Turtle Beach…) However, we snorkeled 2 times without seeing any turtles. By Caribbean standards, the snorkeling at Turtle Beach and Cockleshell Beach is a B- at best. We did enjoy walking down to Turtle Beach a few times and it is quite wonderful to see a beach in a natural state and unspoiled by development.
We rented a Van for the week from Thrifty. Note, Thrifty is the only car rental that has an office right at the airport. The nicest thing about renting from Thrifty is that when we told them that we planned to go to Nevis for the day, they arranged for a Van for our use at NO extra charge! We took a 7 minute water taxi over to Nevis, arrived at Oualie Beach, took a cab to Thrifty which was about 10 minutes away. Pretty seamless, and we saved a ton of money and time (don’t do the car ferry!) Do not miss a trip to Nevis! We highly recommend booking a lunch reservation at Golden Rock (a Zen Oasis in on the mountain) and complete your Nevis trip with a “Bee Sting” at Sunshine’s on Pinney Beach!
It makes sense to stop at the grocery after you leave the airport to stock up on groceries for the week. Even with renting a Van, we knew that there would not be room for our groceries so we hired Dwayne Hector(contact info provided by owners) to deliver our groceries to the Villa. His service charge was only $50 and it was so nice not having to stop at the grocery and also to have cold beer waiting in the refrigerator when we arrived!
Speaking of groceries, you will have to cook. There is no place nearby the Villa that is open for breakfast. We prepared a few lunches and a few dinners at the Villa as well. Halfway through the trip, we did make another trip to the IGA. It is nice for an island grocery.
Dinners not to be missed, all within 10 minutes of the Villa: Reggae Beach Bar Lobster Friday Night, the Pavilion (one of the most beautiful restaurant settings we have ever seen!) Salt Plage-Sunday night they have a band and Tapas menu; Gourmet Burger Night at Spice Mill on Saturday.
Staying at Villa Alamandra was wonderful. It is not a place to go if you are looking for “night life” but a place for family time, nature and total relaxation. Most days, we just enjoyed sitting on the veranda, having a glass of wine and watching the tribe of monkeys playing or the interesting herd of wild goats that wandered by each day.
We hope that we have the opportunity to return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kafoege
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Villa”
Reviewed 7 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This house is perched just perfectly above Turtle Beach- high enough to get an amazing view of the beach and Nevis, yet a short (albeit steep) walk down to the beach. Turtle Beach is by far the best location on the island- we spent most of the afternoons on the balcony, by to pool, with a rum punch in hand. Town is 30 mins, but you really only need for a grocery store. I would highly recommend renting a car. Reggae and Cockleshell beach are just a short drive- both with nice beaches and restaurants. Dwayne Hector did some grocery shopping for us and stocked the fridge prior to our arrival, which was nice. We had small children with us and the villa was perfect!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juliette...
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous villa!”
Reviewed 4 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This villa is outstanding, it IS as good as it looks on the photos, if not better. The location is ideal, a very easy walk down to Turtle Beach for a quiet swim in the waves of the Atlantic or a bit further (15mins) walk to the Reggae Beach Bar on the end of Cockleshell Bay. You WILL need a car for any further afield though! The kitchen is very well equipped, although we missed a kettle (we ARE very British tho) and we cooked quite a few meals and ate on the beautiful veranda overlooking THAT VIEW! My favourite time of the day was first thing in the morning when you could sit and eat breakfast in the warm morning sun! The bed we slept in was very comfortable. If I was ever to return to St Kitts I would love to stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the space and luxury!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing