We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Townsend Gateway Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$ 137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Cades Cove Inn(Townsend)(Great Value!)
US$ 126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 171
US$ 165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Talley Ho Inn(Townsend)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (549)
Filter reviews
549 results
Traveller rating
418
108
18
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
418
108
18
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswelcome basketsnack basketrocking chairshardwood floorscades covecoffee or teathe cottagesfamily runa great place to stayremote controllarge tvonly stayed one nightmom and poproom was spotlesswould definitely stay here againcomfortable bedsquiet side
Filter
Updating list...
392 - 397 of 549 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Clean hardwood floors, comfortable beds and pillows, great hamper full of goodies replenished every day and a great cookout on the last day of our stay.

Very friendly (truly helpful) staff. Hospitality @ its best. A very pleasant change from the corporate chains.

Please keep up the good work!

Room Tip: About 15 minutes drive from Cades Cove entrance. Don't miss Riverstone Restaurant. Simple but great tasting food and very reasonably priced. Started with dinner, ended up for lunch one time and then, tried breakfast. Don't miss this one.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PalaniEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Ok here I am again. On my way home from Florida stopped in again. It just gets better and better. The fall leaves were beautiful and weather perfect. The Gateway had a bonfire and a guest whose husband had just gotten her a guitar sang under the stars. The room as always was very clean . It was chilly and turned on the heater and was very warm and cozy. The owners go out of the way to make guests feel welcome. Need any info and they will help you. I have meet many people now that keep on coming back. I just hope I can get a room when I need one.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank behoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

MY husand and myself followed by our son and his wife called Gateway and talked to the owner Pete to get a reservation.He was most helpful in getting us a room for one of the busiest weekends in the mountains. The inn was very clean, beds were comfortable, not too hard and not too soft. They brought us a welcoming basket that they replenished everyday.There were rocking chairs in front of your room on the porch for you to sit in and watch the activities. I felt like i knew Pete personally, he made you feel so welcome. My son and his wife loved it also. When we go back to the mountains this is where we will be staying. Rates very reasonable, people were very friendly.Highly recommended, especially for older couples such as us.Sandy Graham from Purvis MS.

Room Tip: We had a king size bedroom and our kids had a double bed room. Both were very accomodating to all our needs.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SANDY G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

This is a great place to stay in Townsend. Our stay was from Oct. 9-14, 2012 and we will be staying here again on our next trip. The staff is very friendly and helpful so that your stay will be great. The rooms have hard wood floors and the beds are really comfortable. All the rooms have rocking chairs out front for you to enjoy your stay. Also we enjoyed waiting to see what the goodie basket would have when we returned from our day out. So if your in Townsend and looking for a place to stay go by and see the folks at Gateway Inn and be sure to tell Mike hello. Thanks again for making our vacation this week fun and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimLee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Found this place on Trip Advisor and was very happy. All brand new rooms with hard wood floors and comfortable king size beds. Each room had rocking chairs on the front porch. The staff was very helpful in recommending places to eat and visit. They don't have a breakfast but they do give you a goodie basket full of snacks when you arrive. This was an old hotel that stood vacant for many years. It really is refreshing to see Townsend have a "brand new" and comfortable new place to stay. They also have small cabins on site but I didn't see the inside.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pride31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews