We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveller rating
188
19
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
188
19
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews short hike the main lodge box lunch carmac falls hiking trails romantic getaway wonderful weekend next morning middle tennessee enjoy nature duck staff was friendly private waterfall solstice accommodations nashville property
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 215 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2018

My husband and I wanted a close destination to celebrate our anniversary. We received a recommendation for Evins Mill. Couldn't have been more pleased! The hospitality was wonderful - everyone so friendly and helpful. Loved the food also. However, the best part was the outdoor atmosphere with comfortable accommodations. We loved the hiking trails, the waterfall and the creek. This is the kind of place where you can stay very busy - corn hole games, fishing, hiking, movies, etc. - or simply sit on your private balcony and read a book. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating. We had to leave early on our last day and were going to miss breakfast. I asked if it would be possible to get something to eat before we left - we would be leaving an hour before the usual breakfast time. We were told it would not be a problem. We arrived at the dining area that morning expecting a granola bar and maybe some fruit. We were treated to a full breakfast with several options. It was delicious and very unexpected! We will return for sure and would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a weekend getaway.

Room Tip: Our room was beside the creek and we loved it. It was small but sufficient for our needs. Loved the balcony.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evinsmill, Owner at Evins Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed and thoughtful review. I'm of course thrilled to hear you were pleased with your experience at Evins Mill - especially with the staff, which I like to think makes the place what it is. I appreciate you patronage and your feedback! William Cochran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We had the best time at Evins Mill! I arrived not knowing what to expect and i was thrilled with the results. This is a quiet, relaxing getaway from the regular world. The beds are ultra-comfortable and the rustic setting is great for the soul.

There isn't much to do, which is a blessing. The TV in my room only showed DVDs, which they have at the main lodge, so the noise is kept to a minimum. We were blessed with great weather, so we sat outside and enjoyed the water view and hiked down to the falls before playing ping-pong in the mill.

The staff is very accommodating. I would definitely return. I wish we had been able to stay one more day.

Room Tip: The small cabins require you to navigate numerous steps.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evinsmill, Owner at Evins Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Ahoy from Evins Mill - Thank you for taking the time to post not just a rating but also detailed feedback for would-be travelers! I of course am super glad you had a favorable experience and am particularly encouraged to hear the staff took good care. Thank you again for the feedback and of course for your patronage!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Suggested by a coworker, not far from Nashville and easy to get to. Rooms were clean and close to nature, the private trails were challenging! But the walk to the waterfall was worth it. Was to cold to swim, but you can swim up to the base of the waterfall if you want. Didn’t play any of the games but that was available.
Dinner was formal and really good!. A soup, salad, meat and side and dessert, portions weren’t huge, but delicious and definitely enough food, I think you can bring your own wine also.
Breakfast and lunch were also good
If you have to check out before breakfast they can give you a to go bag. We didn’t have a bad meal the whole time

Staff was friendly and made us feel welcome

We stayed two nights which was nice but we were a little short on activities, we drove to one of the state parks. I will for sure come back but maybe just for one night.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evinsmill, Owner at Evins Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hello from Evins Mill. Thank you for your patronage and thank you taking time to share your experience here. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the meals and were adventurous enough to get to the base of the falls. It is a challenge for sure. If you do return, please call us for a more in-depth summary of things to do not just on-site but also nearby. Thank you again! William

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

Go for the peace of the rushing stream out your window. It is better than an ocean. But look at all the native plants, mosses, trees and bushes -- no matter the season. Stay for the great buffet breakfast and special dinners as they use locally sourced foods and beers and the chefs come talk to you. Old rock lodge or newer guest houses. It doesn't matter. All meet at the mill and play games. The North and South trails are both really wonderful hikes to the falls (one above, one below) and they will even pack you a sack lunch if you need one. What a fine place.

Room Tip: A very unique place with a long history. Get a creek room or house.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evinsmill, Owner at Evins Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Hello from Evins Mill!

Thank you for your patronage, and thank you for taking time to share your experience of our property with others. I'm so gratified you appreciated the native flora, which we are working hard to protect and grow, and the locally sourced food & beverage, as we've also worked hard to cultivate relationships with local providers. Thank you again! William Cochran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018

I loved the food, but this is not for picky eaters. Although they do make accommodations if you ask. Staff was friendly and kind. Nice hiking trial. Be ready also for lots of stairs. If you are looking for some couple time, this is an excellent hideaway!

Room Tip: Top rooms are quieter
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evinsmill, Owner at Evins Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Thank you for taking time to post a review here. It's especially good to read about your interactions with the staff. We appreciate your giving us a try and are of course happy to hear it was a favorable experience. Thank you again. William Cochran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews