We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
85
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
85
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthought of everythingthe frank lloyd wrightmade to order breakfastbeautiful houseb bswonderful hostslong drivea great job makinga wonderful stayhomemade breadher husbandglass of wineoff the beaten pathcontinental breakfastbell bucklein townemily
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2017

Emily and Eban were wonderful hosts. My greatest surprise was the relaxing bed and shower. I had never experienced Bamboo sheets, but they were so soft and comfortable. The balcony in the evenings with a glass of wine and wonderful book was fantastic too. Very relaxing vacation. Emily has the best directions to all the small towns around Shelbyville that I loved exploring each day.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancyklatt77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lanestreetinn, Owner at Lane Street Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thanks for your review Nancy! Glad to hear you enjoyed our super soft sheets and the oversize rainshower bath offered in the Serenity room. The balcony is also a guest-favorite. Great for early-morning coffee or even watching an evening thunderstorm roll in. Thanks for choosing Lane Street Inn for your stay Nancy. It was a pleasure having you here and we hope to see you again soon. Happy Travels! - Eben and Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

Emily and her husband have done a great job making their inn a comfortable place to land. Attention to detail in both the home and amenities are seen throughout. Emily is a wealth of information regarding the area and places to visit.

The only word of caution would be that all the rooms are on the second floor with a long, steep staircase as the only access. It might be difficult for an older person to climb the stairs especially handling luggage.

Overall, Lane St. Inn is a very good B&B with southern hospitality!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lanestreetinn, Owner at Lane Street Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thank you so much for your kind review Jenifer. We appreciate your time writing it. I want to address some of the points you made. I wish we had some first floor guestrooms; but, Lane Street Inn is a turn of the century mansion and the first floor is provided with wonderful common areas solely for our guests' use. If we added overnight guestrooms on the first floor, it would just break the flow that our guests enjoy. I do understand your concern about carrying luggage up the stairs as well; but, we are always happy to help guests with their luggage, especially our elderly guests.

Thanks for complimenting Emily's travel planning skills, our attention to detail and our Southern Hospitality. We really enjoy meeting new guests and ensuring their comfort while away from their home. With Emily here, it's like having your own personal concierge. We want you to not only enjoy our B&B but to also be informed about the best places to visit in our area. We hope to see you again soon!

Happy Travels - Eben Bryant, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

Lane Street is a truly magical find. An exceptionally beautiful house, with rooms that play at high-end boutique hotel level .. but much more original. Your every whim is taken care off, from coffee, tea and wine left out for you to enjoy, through to a personalised, home cooked breakfast in the morning (and every typw of jam and syrup known to man!). Home made bread was also left out one night on our return. Our hosts even put on a bonfire and smores for us and the kids. Most of all owners and hosts Ebin and Emily are wonderful. I tend to go to hotels versus B&Bs as I prefer a less intimate stay BUT these hosts have the right balance - something many B&B hosts could bottle and make lots of money from. They are fabulously knowledgeable about the areas, Nashville and Memphis, warm and friendly ... but only if you want them to be - we never felt it was forced or our space invaded. I hate being cliche but it was truly like hanging out at a good friend's house - with beautiful quarters to retire to. We extended our stay by a day as we enjoyed so much - allowing us to visit Nashville, Bell Buckle etc. PEOPLE YOU MUST STAY IF IN THE AREA!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ValerieWeisenreder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lanestreetinn, Owner at Lane Street Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Hosting our guests is the greatest pleasure of owning a B&B. We're really glad you decided to stay an extra day. We enjoyed learning a few new things about U.K. and hope to see you again soon. Homemade bread, jams of all flavors, Yorkshire Gold tea, bonfires with s'mores, video games for the kids...and for 2017, we have added an all new decorative fish pond with waterfall. We're constantly improving our inn to make it the best experience possible for our guests. We live on site to take care of your needs; but, we have our own full apartment away from our guests to allow them to relax in comfort in our common areas - the TV/Game Room parlor, the sunroom, breakfast room, upstairs amenity hall and balcony, outdoor pergola and fire pit...they are all for our guests' use. Traveling to other nearby cities? We've got you covered there too! Emily is like a personal concierge who can help you plan an itinerary to easily see what's worth your time and what's not. Thanks for your kind review Valerie. You and your family are welcome back anytime. Now, as friends. - Happy Travels! -Eben and Emily, owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

I can honestly say I've always been a bit apprehensive about staying in a B&B. I felt I would be intruding in someone's home (I know, silly). My husband surprised me, and I'm so glad he did. Eben and Emily (owners) couldn't be more warm and inviting. They have put so much of their blood, sweat and I'm sure tears into restoring this beautiful home. We stayed in the Frank Lloyd Wright room. It was amazing. The attention to detail in decor was paid down the the bathroom light switch. They have thought of every way possible to make your stay extremely comfortable. We were having such a nice time talking to Emily during our breakfast that I didn't want to leave. It's and excellent location especially if you are going to the Jack Daniels distillery tour, which we did and recommend.
If you have never stayed in a B&B and are anywhere even close to Shelbyville, TN, please stay at The Lane Bed and Breakfast! You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lanestreetinn, Owner at Lane Street Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2016

Thanks for your kind review Jerilyn. One of the unique aspects of Lane Street Inn that sets us apart from other B&Bs is the privacy we afford our guests. While we (the owners) live on-site, we have our own private apartment. The guestrooms and common areas of the mansion including the huge parlor, dining room, downstairs bathrooms and kitchen are for our guests' use. We are here if our guests need us for something or just want to hang out and talk; but, otherwise you might only see us at check-in time and breakfast time. You see, staying here is like staying at a friend's house. Guests can make themselves at home without feeling like they are intruding on someone's personal space. Of course, we love meeting new people and hearing about their travel adventures. We very much enjoy conversing with our guests; but, at the same time, if you just want to come in and relax with your family and friends, we know when it's best to stay out of site :) Come see why staying at our bed and breakfast is the best lodging choice you can make in Shelbyville TN. Thanks again Jerilyn and we hope to see you back someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016

An amazing place to stay! This is a beautiful home with rooms that are decorated with attention to detail. Eben & Emily go out of their way to give you the best stay possible. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TammyLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lanestreetinn, Owner at Lane Street Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2016

Thank you so much Tammy! It is our pleasure to make our guests as comfortable as possible. We look forward to your return visit. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews