We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great family mountain getaway”

Review of ABOVE THE CLOUDS

Exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior
Exterior 2 Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Exterior
Exterior 2
Living Room
Living Room 2
Dining Room and Kitchen
Kitchen
Bedroom
Bedroom2
Bedroom3
Indoor Jacuzzi
Indoor Jacuzzi 2
Pool Table
Jacuzzi
Jacuzzi 2
Jacuzzi and Deck
Deck
Mountain View
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Sevierville, Tennessee

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Janey L
DeWitt
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Once was enough!”
Reviewed 23 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The cabin and scenery were beautiful. Perfect for our party of 4 adults. We were given written directions to the cabin, from the office. Single spaced, very long paragraph. The mileage descriptions were correct. However... the cabin is a VERY long way from town. Directions down the mountain were not included, we were told to read the directions backwards. This proved very difficult, as the directions were mostly descriptive. Finding the way up and down in the dark, almost impossible. We took wrong turns every time we went up and/or down. Problem is, driver is concentrating on making turns,etc and "reader" isn't looking at scenery, to help guide the way, just concentrating on reading and staying on track w/long directions. It was extremely frustrating travel, every time! Roads are very narrow, mountain drop off on one side, mouintain/trees on the other.

We are used to the basic amenities, in a rental cabin - napkins, salt, pepper, facial tissue, extra linens (towels) and adequate glassware. This had none. Although a sign in the bathroom admonished you from using their wash cloths fror taking off makeup and to "use facial tissue provided", none was. Although another sign said use dark cloth, which was there. The handicapped shower was acessible and did have a fold down bench. But the floor was VERY slippery, with no rubber mat or anti skid stick ons. I did call the office and suggest they get a mat, for safety of guests. I was told "we used to have one, but it kept disappearing." What??? Guests steal a large mat w/a large drain hole on the middle? Hard to believe! The shower curtain was too short,so water went over the lip of the shower, onto the bathroom floor. There were with no lights in the bedroom, to read by (no bedside tables), other than the very bright overhead. The closet held only cheap wire hangers, only one w/cardboard to hang pants.
The ceilings were cathedral, w/only very high, minimal floods. We had to bring a lamp in and set it on the microwave to read recipes! The dining table was huge, for only 4 people, hard to pass food, or use to play games. There were grilling and kitchen utensils provided were good.
Deck was very nice, w/hot tub, beautiful scenery. Only 2 chairs provided, though. If a 3rd,or 4th person wanted to enjoy the view, VERY heavy oak dining chairs had to be brought out.
Basically, it is a very beautiful cabin, w/lovely views. However, everything else was done on the cheap, or so it appeared. When you arrived home after dark, there was a motion sensor light and back door light. However, these were around a corner, by the door and getting from car to steps/ramp, was over uneven ground/large gravel, in complete darkness! The motion lights by the drive didn't work.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: scenery
Liked least: location/directions
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2014
Above the Clouds cabin is located about 10 minutes from Gatlinburg up the mountain. Each guest is provided with directions to the cabin as well as directions back to Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge, Sevierville and the interstate. With this being a home away from home, cabins are provided with linens and a starter supply of toilet paper, paper towels, soap and dish liquid. Keeping condiments are the cabins are unsanitary and is the reason these items are not at the cabins. Dark wash cloths and make up wipes are provided to remove makeup due to makeup stains the beige laundry and does not come out.

Any suggestions are always appreciated and reported to the cabin owners. However, there is no record of a phone call being placed to the office in regards to a shower mat not being there (all phone calls are recorded). If this were so, housekeeping would have immediately brought one out to the cabin especially if you felt it was a safety issue. Which brings me to have to ask why would any one of the office staff say there used to be one and they kept getting gone. No office member would have told such a story considering a guest would not bother to take a shower mat when there are many other items worth so much more.

Both bedrooms in Above the Clouds has 2 lamps. The cabin owners purchase and provide their cabins with what they would like to have in them and to make your stay comfortable and relaxed. The outside deck at the hot tub has seating as well as the front porch has seating for guests.

Our goal is for our guests to have a wonderful time at the cabin and enjoy their vacation. If you ever have a problem with the cabin please call the office. All phone calls are recorded so we can verify if there was a call or not. So please call the office and report if there is problem. This way we can have it taken care of for you. Please do not wait until days after your check out and write a review or call the office to give a list of things you were unhappy with because these things can and will be taken care of while you are in the cabin. We cannot fix them once you have left and are already back home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna B
2 reviews
“Slightly stressful vacation.”
Reviewed 4 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Upon arrival my husband and I was very pleased with the view from the balcony as well the left bedroom. Much better than shown in the pictures. The cabin is also secluded but easy to get to. My only complaint is that we were not able to use either of the jacuzzi tubs (that we paid for) during our visit. The jets were covered in orange build up so when the water filled and the jets came on the whole tub would turn yellow orange. When we called, they sent out housecleaning, she cleaned the tub but after filling and draining twice the tub was still left with orange residue. (I understand yellow water but orange bubbles is a no). We emailed the pictures to heartland and they sent someone out to adjust water pressure but I did not notice a difference and did not feel like cleaning the tub before testing the water (I'm on vacation!)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2014
Thank you for your review. Some cabins have city water, some have sulfur water (colorless and has a egg smell) and this particular cabin has iron well water (has yellow color and no smell). The water is completely safe to use it just has a color. This would be why when the jacuzzi tub was cleaned, the water still showed yellow. It was not due to build up or uncleanliness of the tub. It was the water color. When using the shower or the running the sinks the water does not look like this. It is clear. It shows yellow in the tub because you are running water constantly to fill up the tub. The owner was contacted in regards to the water and has put a water system in the cabin. It's great to hear you enjoyed the privacy of the cabin and the beautiful mountain view the cabin offers.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2fun2
Stafford, va
1 review
“Great family mountain getaway”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We rented this cabin because we needed something wheelchair accessible. Loved it & would rent again. Wide open inside with shower chair & hand sprayer in one bathroom. Ramp into cabin a bit steep but to be expected as this is on the side of a mountain. Kids loved pool table, hot tub & fire pit. Saw a mama bear & cub on our way to Cade's Cove. Loved being close to national park. Cabin was home away from home all week & enjoyed going back to relax each night. We will be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. It is wonderful to know your family had a great time at Above the Clouds cabin and it had everything you needed and wanted in a cabin. It is always a vacation to remember when you get to see the bears that live here in the National Park. We would love to have you stay with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphne L
Thibodaux, Louisiana, United States
1 review
“Beautiful cabin, but very stressful roads”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The cabin is very very beautiful. I am in a power wheelchair and found the city of Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge very accessible. The cabin was somewhat accessible. The ramp was very steep and caused issues when it rained. There was no ramp for the step down leading onto the balcony near the hot tub. Putting cement for parking that leads to the ramp would have also been a plus. Other than these few issues, the cabin was wonderful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The sun shines in your face in the bed.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the beauty of the cabin. I will suggest to the owner to look into paving the driveway so it will be much easier to maneuver on. We are always happy to accept suggestions that will help make your stay wonderful. We hope you will stay with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grand rapids
Reviewed 17 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Apr 2014
Thank you for your review. We are so happy you enjoyed the cabin and the mountain view it offers. We hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing