We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best on the AT”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roan Mountain
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mountain Harbour Bed and Breakfast
Franklin, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
141 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Best on the AT”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

The people, the breakfast, the animals! This is a great place to rest after a
day or week or month of hiking-or just to go to get away from it all. Mary and Terry are the best hosts, and are there to help in any way they can. Best of the best!

Room Tip: Any or all rooms are great-The Jefferson rooms' jacuzzi can't be beat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
48
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2012

As soon as you drive in, you see goats and horses grazing in their pastures and several dogs chasing each other across the lawns. The lawn and gardens are well maintained and the house/hostel are very clean. I stayed in the hiker hostel because I'm hiking the AT at the moment, but I was so jealous of those staying in the cozy house. Rocking chairs on the front porch, 1800s wood burning stoves in the hostel, and a large great room with couches and work tables.

In the morning, we were treated to a fine breakfast of peach cream pastries, sausage, ham, french toast with walnut spread, spinach omelette, bread pudding, watermelon/pomegranate seeds/mandarin orange fruit salad, etc. The food was beautifully presented, all laid out on matching white china platters. Mary, the hostess, was a delight to converse with and she brought an open warmth to the room. It was a fantastic morning for everyone, I think.

5 stars.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solex4462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2012

For less than half the price of a lower-end chain hotel, we had both a comfortable night's stay in the "barn" house and a gourmet breakfast. The breakfast included quiche, french toast, peach cream puffs, fresh-baked muffins, sausage, among other dishes. The barn house was homey, and the interior of the main house was spotless. The picturesque scenery immediately outside the house includes a field with horses and a stream with goats. My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Odin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

This place was my slice of heaven. After the standing bear hostile and many other hostiles that treated hikers as sub human, it was nice to go to a place where respect cleanliness, and quality was tops. This was my best stay on my 750 mile trek from Springer Mt. Tater Tot 2012

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tatertot2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2012

My husband and I just spend a wonderful weekend at Mary's & Terry's B&B. The room was wonderful and the location is so pretty. It was nice to look out of the window and watch the goats and the horses or go out and play with the cats and dogs. The perfect setting for us to get a breather.

I hear that Mary's breakfast has quite a reputation on the trail. Hikers checking in specifically ask for it and I have to say, it certainly lives up to hype. We got spoiled rotten.

Thanks again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathrin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roan Mountain
14.5 km away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
34.8 km away
Carnegie Hotel
Carnegie Hotel
#1 of 19 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
39.1 km away
Mountain Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 km away
The Inn at Elk River
The Inn at Elk River
#1 of 9 in Banner Elk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
12.8 km away
The Shady Lawn Lodge
The Shady Lawn Lodge
#1 of 3 in Newland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
20.9 km away
Taylor House Inn
Taylor House Inn
#3 of 6 in Valle Crucis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Harbour Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Harbour Bed and Breakfast

Property: Mountain Harbour Bed and Breakfast
Address: 9151 Highway 19 E, Roan Mountain, TN 37687-3349
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Roan Mountain
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Roan Mountain
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Harbour Bed and Breakfast is nestled in the mountains of North East Tennessee. We are 3/10 of a mile from the Appalachian Trail. We offer a gourmet breakfast and a relaxing atmosphere. We provide hiker services such as shuttles as well as a cozy hostel to relax and recharge. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing