We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inviting, comfortable and full of charm”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roan Mountain
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mountain Harbour Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We were first-timers to a bed and breakfast, and very much pleased with a great experience. The historic home is situated on a knoll in the midst of a valley, surrounded by country living. It is a very nice setting with just the right atmosphere to provide for a peaceful, relaxing experience. There are horses and goats in sight and a free flowing creek that runs thru the gorgeous grounds. A moment on the front porch swing or hammock with the goodness of nature sounds makes you appreciate the solitude. The owner, Mary is very sweet and full of good stories. The homemade breakfast was exceptional. The home is very inviting and comfortable. We were very impressed with our experience at Mountain Harbour.

Room Tip: The Jefferson room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnyreeree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 109 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2011

Awesome variety and quality breakfast. Owner Mary is awesome. Laundry included. Fab for AT thru, section or day hikers. All details considered for comfy stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oliviapulley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2009

Beautiful place, great staff and views are unreal. Very relaxing. I can't get over how nice this place is and why I havent been there before. If you want a great vacation, this is it!
Staff are the best have been around on any trip.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimbrenda4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2008

Very nice bed and breakfast. One of the cleanest places I've ever stayed. Breakfast was generous and a real treat. Atmosphere was restful and hospitable. We stayed at the hikers' cabin last year, and it was also way above the usual for a hostel. Appreciate how clean everything was.....Terry and Mary are wonderful hosts. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank turtles2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Chapel Hill, NC
19
Reviewed 7 December 2004

My husband and I spent a weekend at Roan Mountain in October. We were lucky to find room at the Mountain Harbour Bed & Breakfast. This absolutely wonderful B&B is a lovely house in the middle of acres of farmland, dotted with horses and goats. The creek running through the farm just adds to the charm of the place.

The house itself is done up very nicely and the rooms are just perfect. Each room is done up differently and with a lot of character. There are a lot of nice little touches in each room - like the little fridge, the microwave and the basket of essentials - that show that a lot of care has gone into setting up the place.

The B&B is run by a wonderful couple from California called Mary and Terry Hill. They were warm and friendly and very helpful. One of the nicest parts of our holiday was this huge and yummy breakfast that Mary made for us - we had ham and eggs, muffins, biscuits, a choice of spreads and beverages and this delicious peach dessert and everything tasted perfect!

Mountain Harbour is set in the unspoilt Roan Mountain just on the Tennesse-NC border. There are some lovely walks and treks nearby and the Roan Mountain National Park is definitely worth a visit especially during fall when the colors are out in full glory. We combined this trip with a drive thru part of the Blue Ridge Parkway (the Parkway itself is around 10 miles from Roan Mtn) and after driving through the more popular but congested and commercialized Boone, Lexington etc, we were convinced we had made the right choice.

We'll definitely go back to Roan and the Mountain Harbour!

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mountain Harbour Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Harbour Bed and Breakfast

Address: 9151 Highway 19 E, Roan Mountain, TN 37687-3349
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Roan Mountain
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Roan Mountain
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Harbour Bed and Breakfast is nestled in the mountains of North East Tennessee. We are 3/10 of a mile from the Appalachian Trail. We offer a gourmet breakfast and a relaxing atmosphere. We provide hiker services such as shuttles as well as a cozy hostel to relax and recharge. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing