We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Experience”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bare Bottom

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Pigeon Forge, Tennessee

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
redman831
Gilbert, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bed bugs”
Reviewed 5 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
11
people found this review helpful

Well my sweet husband wouldn't review so I will. First off we are easy to please people and not too picky. We could look past the dirt and dust. Dead bugs in the windowsills and brown marks on top of the paper towels which had already been used. We even were so determined to be happy and make great memories, we looked past the dirty outdoor tables and hot tub that wasn't hot. WE were told to cover and let it warm for several hours. A little difference noted but not much. We were ok though with it still. We saw no need to complain. The 90's blue carpet was filthy covered in stains, but we laughed it off and kept on moving through or memory making anniversary trip. All halted on our last night when returning from a day out we found a bed bug in the bed. Then another... We googled and sent pics to our exterminator friends back in SC hoping and hoping it was not what we knew it was. It even spurted out our blood when mashed. Sorry for the details but I want all to know we do not complain this was real. Still wanting to give all the benefit of the doubt we reported it to owner and rental company. No apology still. I am spending my day today sanitizing and washing and drying all on hi heat. What we couldn't wash we got rid of. I have several bites but I'm a tough girl. Our last night we spent awake most the night on the couch planning what to do to keep from taking home any of these horrid creatures. I am appalled we have not at least gotten an apology.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2016
On Thurs. April 28th we went to the house from our home in IN. I am the owner. My wife and I are licensed exterminators in IN. and OH. Indiana license F210884 if you care to verify. Our business/work has been pest control since 2001, wildlife control since 1995.

We were notified of the bugs on or about Apr. 24th 2016. We couldn't get to the house until Thurs. Apr. 28th. We took our TRAILER LOAD of HEAT equipment and performed TWO heat treatments on the house 2 days apart. We DO NOT spray for bed bugs as we know it doesn't work.

Both days the house was 'baked' for several hours with INTERNAL temperatures of the bed, couch etc. reaching the 160s and holding it there for hours. Paper ignites at 451 degrees F. You must hold above 120 for several hours so as to kill or 'pop' the hidden bed bug eggs. Basically, the house was sterilized by heat.

See our bed bug heat equipment here: http://thebeastmaster.com/bed_bugs.php

As to the bugs in window sills, dirty carpet, used paper towles etc. Yes, the carpet is old. We are working people. It costs a lot to replace carpet. We shampooed it while we were there, again, around May 1st.
We took up the living room carpet years ago and replaced with hardwood.
We have since parted ways with our cleaning crew and hired a new company May 12th 2016. We think they will pay closer attention to cleaning details.
The filthy outdoor tables are....OUTDOOR tables ! The cleaning crew is not there every day cleaning the outside. Between check-ins, of course, dust, pollen etc from the air will settle on outdoor things.

People want to go to the Mtns. but don't want Mtn. things when they get there...such as gravel roads, mud sliding off the hillside, ants on a porch railing, a raccoon in the garbage can at night etc. etc. A concrete jungle is more suited to some folks.
The pictures show the cabin very well. What you see is what you get.

HOT TUB UPDATE: While at the cabin, on Apr. 30th 2016, we paid just over $600 and had BRAND NEW 'guts' put in the hot tub. New push button controller, new thermostat etc. The temp. now stays at about 100F and will adjust up or down rather quickly now with the new internal parts. We also had a red light installed in the tub for night use.

We are sorry for your experience. We are in IN. and our house is in TN. We can only rely on messages from our cleaning/maintenance crew as to the house conditions. We cannot take action if we don't know what's going on. We work for a living too and can only get to our house for a personal inspection once or twice a year.
Thank You,
Casey & Missy Rayls-Owners.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pink7152
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 29 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The cabin was just as described! The hot tub on the secluded balcony was relaxing. We will be going again just not at the same time as the car show. The cabin was quiet and peaceful. It would have been nice to stay longer......


Thanks Missy and Casey!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The hot tub
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2016
Hello and thank you for staying at our cabin, Bare Bottom. We are glad you enjoyed your stay other than car show time. We have not been down there during that time so I don't know what you expect. Thank you for being respectful of our home. We would love to have you back, as you know how to get ahold of us. Thank you again, and have a great day! Missy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
okiedokie...
Rising Sun, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Getaway”
Reviewed 28 April 2016 for a stay in November 2015

Very clean. Cabin had everything we needed for a great getaway. Close to everything but private. Highly recommend staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location/privacy
Liked least: driveway
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2016
Thank you for choosing to stay at our home, Bare Bottom,. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and would love to have you to return again. Also, thank you for being respectful of our home. Have a great day! Missy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen N
1 review
“A fantastic place to get away”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This place is absolutely worth everything we paid for it and more! Location couldn't be better (very easy to find about 2 minutes from the main road in Pigeon Forge), and the cabin (inside and out) is fabulous.

We did have a few minor problems (we're bad at running hot tubs), but they were fixed almost immediately after a text to the owners. We would definitely stay here again returning to the smoky mountains!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2016
Thank you for choosing to stay at our home, Bare Bottom,. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and would love to have you to return again. Also, thank you for being respectful of our home. We are sorry that there were a few minor issues but we work to get anything resolved as fast as we can. We hope to see you return again. Thank you and have a great day! Missy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William F...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cabin for couples”
Reviewed 17 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This cabin is so convenient to everything in Pigeon Forge, Gatlinburg and Cades Cove. My wife and I stayed here for three nights. It was so quiet and peaceful. We spent our days out and about and then returned each evening. We enjoyed the jacuzzi every evening as the weather was nice and warm. The cabin was clean and well stocked. Everything was ready for us to enjoy. Parking was no problem and is close to the front door. The bedroom is comfortable and the bath area is just right. We hope to return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cabin is so conveniently located to everything. It is also very private and quiet.
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2016
Thank you for choosing to stay at our home, Bare Bottom,. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and would love to have you to return again. Also, thank you for being respectful of our home. Thank you and have a great day! Missy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 125
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing