We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Welcoming Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Spirit of the Smokies Condo Lodge
Ranked #56 of 92 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We were relocated here by TAN Vacations after our property experienced a fire. We were thankful to receive 2 large rooms, one with a jacuzzi & one with a kitchen/fieplace. The fireplace room seemed hazy & smelled strongly of smoke which we could smell on our sons & their clothing. The beds were comfortable but the towels were very thin & cheap, and there did not appear to be any soundproofing to the rooms as you could hear voices from down the hall & many undefined noises throughout the night. It just didn't seem worth the price of the rooms ($279 & $249 as posted on the doors). Although the housekeeping staff was friendly, the front desk was terrible, not welcoming or helpful in any way. The location of the lodge was good.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaniceMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy2385, Front Office Manager at Spirit of the Smokies Condo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

We are sorry to read your review. First of all, we were very honored that we could help out in this troubled time for so many on English Mountain forced to evacuate. We consider you a part of the community. I know that you had discounted rates, since we were instructed by the company to not tell you the cost. I am assuming you are pulling the $279 on the door from the state-posted maximum rates, which are required to be posted by every hotel. In reality, if you stayed during the week, the room was about 85% off of that price. Now, it's also based on what room type you're in, how many rooms you have, weekend vs. weekday, but I can assure you it's not even half of that rate.
Our hotel is 100% non-smoking. We charge any room that is caught smoking $250 for breaching this agreement that everyone must sign upon check-in. This cost also covers the serious cleaning that must then be done to rid a room of the smoke. We do the best possible. If the room smelled of smoke, still, please know by this that we have done everything in our power to prevent it from happening and to mitigate it if it does occur. We can also move you into another room if one is available.
If you were to peruse through the other comments here on the hotel, including the one last posted since yours, you will see we almost always get compliments on the front desk staff. However, if their service was less than satisfactory, as with the smoking, you need to let us know so we can fix it. If you can call us, ask for management, and supply the name, description, details of the lack of customer service, we can then address it with those clerks individually and take the necessary actions.
Again, we were honored to help provide temporary housing for the residents dislocated from the English Mountain fire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (691)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

428 - 432 of 691 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

I booked a room here on the assumption that the rooms had kitchens since condos do have kitchens. However all we were given was a hotel room with a fridge and microwave. The room was clean though, the beds are very firm (the first night I was sore until I got used to them) and it was quiet. I really had a hard time sleeping since the balconies have 2 very bright lights that are on all night and filter into the room. The first night I could not sleep because of the light and had to buy an eye mask to be able to sleep the following nights.

It was nice to get a free voucher for the show next door (Tennessee Shindig) even though we did not attend.

We wanted to use the indoor pool, but there was a constant high-pitched screeching sound coming from one of the water pumps in the room. That really needs to be fixed!

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators- had to move since we could hear them making constant dinging noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Livewiretrading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy2385, Front Office Manager at Spirit of the Smokies Condo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Actually, all of our units have been certified as condo units. However, we rent them like regular hotel rooms. This affords the guest the quality of a higher standard room, but at a room's price. Now, to make full advantage of the units, they are adjoining with the option of building a three room suite.
If you prefer more of a kitchen, we do have units that feature a full kitchen, dining area, fireplace, pull out sofa and a queen. Surprisingly, these are usually the cheapest as well.
All of our mattresses are brand-new pillow top mattresses that were purchased recently in the whole building's renovation.
We are sorry to hear that the light was a nuisance. It's the first complaint we have ever received on that, but we understand and apologize for the inconvenience.
Finally, please notify us if there is an issue with a pump, as we will always send maintenance immediately to fix the problem.
Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We have stayed here many times over the past years and have always been very satisfied. Close to shows and good restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TNvisitor69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy2385, Front Office Manager at Spirit of the Smokies Condo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Thank you so much for your comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Upon, arriving il admit I was worried, it was beautiful but the super low rates had me worried. We arrived on a Sunday and wanted to stay till Friday but they only had rooms available till Wednesday because of a huge couples retreat coming in on Wednesday evening and booking the entire condo. We said that was fine, we would just find another place to stay from Wednesday till friday.. the kids were ready to get out of the car so I reserved my room and up we went to the 5th floor. The rooms have been recently remolded and are really roomy and nice, however I think a condo as a condo with full kitchen living room ect.. these are just spacious hotel rooms, but very nice ones, so we didn't mind at all. The private balconies give you a beautiful view of the mountains. On wednesday we decided to check and make sure they did not have any cancellations before leaving for another place yay, they had another room available so we just had to switch room for 2 nights. This time on the 4th floor same style updated room. The only issue was about 10 hairs across the rim of the bath tub. And that is the reason I did not give this place 5 stars.. that is something you just don't leave all over the tub, but everything else in the entire place was neat and clean, and we will be back here!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy2385, Front Office Manager at Spirit of the Smokies Condo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Well, we are glad to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, the great value of the room, and that you will be returning guests. We are very sorry to hear of this incident, and it has already been reported to the department. We are proud of our record and the myriad of compliments we get on the cleanliness of the room, which we attain through not only having a housekeeper clean, but an inspector who's sole duty is to ensure that every area has been thoroughly and properly cleaned to meet our standard of excellence. We are sorry when this fails to be every single case.
Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

After reading the reviews, which were good and bad, we decided to give this place a try. The outside appearance is eye-catching and the location is excellent!

Upon checking in, we asked the clerk if there was a continental breakfast and she told us no. The next day or possibly the day after, we noticed people enjoying the continental breakfast in the lobby.

The rooms are very spacious, however, it would have been nice to have had the vanity area located outside the tub/shower/toilet due to the mirror fogging over.

Concerning the "thin walls"...it was very obvious to tell what was taking place in the next room. This is most certainly a major issue! If you are traveling with children, their noises will disturb someone next to you and IF someone next to you has children, their noises will be highly noticeable.

We did stay on the 5th floor and there was NO disturbances above us...thank goodness!

Overall for the price and location, this place cannot be beat.

Room Tip: For an ideal view of the mountains, facing Gatlinburg, ask for that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank preacherswife2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy2385, Front Office Manager at Spirit of the Smokies Condo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

The hotel also owns the restaurant next door, the Wood Grill Buffet. We offer a $1.00 a person to eat their large breakfast buffet. Every now and then, the restaurant closes for breakfast (slow season, during the week); whenever the restaurant is closed for breakfast, we always serve a continental breakfast.
Our front desk clerk should have informed you of this policy. As I can't see the dates you stayed in February from your posting, I cannot tell you if those days were hotel breakfast or restaurant breakfast mornings, though it sounds like the former. I hope that you asked the front desk clerks to confirm when you saw the breakfast, and our apolgies if they informed you improperly.
We are also glad you were able to still see that the price and location were great.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
0.4 km away
Ramada Pigeon Forge North
Ramada Pigeon Forge North
#23 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
1,858 reviews
0.6 km away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
2,456 reviews
1.7 km away
Country Cascades
Country Cascades
#19 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Creekstone Inn
Creekstone Inn
#28 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
1,059 reviews
1.6 km away
Arbors at Island Landing Hotel & Suites
1.1 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Pigeon Forge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spirit of the Smokies Condo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spirit of the Smokies Condo Lodge

Address: 2385 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863-3286
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 92 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Price Range: ₹ 3,568 - ₹ 14,466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Spirit of the Smokies Condo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our tastefully decorated suites and private balconies during your stay here at Spirit of the Smokies Condo Lodge. Each suite is complete with a 32" flat screen television, mini-refrigerator and microwave, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. We offer free wireless internet and free local calls. Other amenities include an outdoor (seasonal) pool, indoor heated pool and hot tub and large electronic game room with pool table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Spirit of the Smokies Condo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spirit Of The Smokies Condo Hotel Pigeon Forge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing