We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”
Review of Wild Bear Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wild Bear Inn
Ranked #60 of 92 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Reviewed 13 June 2012

At the end of Pigeon Forge Conviently located near Gatlinburg and Smokie Mnt Nat Park,
Will kept our room clean and Chance gave great service at the front desk.

Room Tip: 3rd Building is next to pool
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmokyMountainResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Our location is very conveniently located to the national park, attractions and restaurants. Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion and experience. Chance and Will are both outstanding members of our team, and we're pleased that they made your stay even better. We hope to see you during your next trip to the Smoky Mountains!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (570)
There are newer reviews for Wild Bear Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

442 - 446 of 570 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2012 via mobile

We stay at this hotel a lot & I mean a lot like at least every other weekend just about. We love it, & when making our reservations for this years vacation Becky at the front desk did everything she could to help us. She is the best & her kindness & great customer service is the one thing that keeps us coming back to your hotel. Thank you all for making our vacation stay here Great ! & thank you Beck for help us. We are stayin here from June 9th through June 17 th. Guest 1218. The breakfast pancakes are the Best !

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmokyMountainResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

We are glad to have you back! Thank you for recommending us to others and for the glowing review. I am sure Becky will be thrilled to know that you are enjoying your vacation. The next time you are at the office, you should ask Becky about Smoky Mountain Rewards. Frequent staying guests can earn points to use towards discounts on a stay, tickets to attractions, and restaurant gift cards. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

This is an older, dated motel, so if you are used to more modern facilities, this may not be the place for you. We were a little put off at first because the room appeared to be rather small and dark, but it was primarily because the back wall is paneled in a dark wood. Also, the air conditioner was rusty (as shown in one of the TripAdvisor photos). We stayed here because we had our small dog with us. We found the room to be very adequate for our needs (2 adults and 2 small children). Charlene (the maid) kept the room spotless and kept us supplied with plenty of clean towels.The boys loved the pool. For pets, there is a small patch of grass at the front (near the road) and a larger area with trees at the back (although it is a little dark at night). The free pancake breakfast was delicious and all the wait staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: You may want to get a room on the backside since it is away from the high traffic area.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twinsmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmokyMountainResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

At Rodeway Inn we are happy to accommodate our guests who are traveling with pets. Thank you for telling us about your experience; we are happy to know you and your family enjoyed your room and the amenities. We will definitely make sure that Charlene gets recognized for providing great service throughout your stay. Thank you for the wonderful review and have a great summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Great value for the stay we were there in June 2012 the room was a lil small but super clean !! The workers were really helpful and nice !!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken14fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmokyMountainResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

We're pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. Thank you for reviewing our hotel and commenting on the cleanliness of the room. Our staff takes pride in maintaining clean and comfortable rooms for all of our guests. Again, thank you and we hope to see you and your friends again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We had reservations for 3 nts on memorial weekend. On the first night, right before sleeping, i found a bedbug on my pillow, and upon inspecting the mattress and mattress box, found an incredible amount of stains and spots(classic sign of bedbugs), which i dont understant why they would leave in a hotel room unless it is not routinely inspected. I even checked online to make sure I was making the correct assumption. I was also surprised that the mattress was covered only by one thin sheet. I did not want to risk taking anything home, (bedbugs are expensive and difficult to get rid of) especially having an infant and my elderly parents with us. We went to the front desk, they were very apologetic and accommodated us at another hotel that they're associated with. But were only able to accommodate us for that night and the other 6 hotels that they are associated with had nothing as well.(I checked online when they told me this and found other rooms available. When I asked about that, they would not let us stay because these rooms were more "expensive".) Because we had to move very late and had to pack up, load and unload several times, we barely had a whole night at the hotel they accommodated us at. Additionally, we had to look for another hotel at inflated rates last minute during the holiday, all this being a great deal of inconvenience. When we checked out, we asked for a discount, the mistress at the desk made a call and told us they would give us the full refund of the reservation and night stay for the inconveniences. I confirmed with her and my husband heard the whole conversation.

But upon coming home and checking my statement, they did not refund or discount the night stay as they said would happen. I attempted to call the manager about this, but he states that he had already given us a discount for the night stay because it was a higher rated room(which is the first i heard about this, this room was to accommodate us for the bed bugs and dissatisfaction of the previous rm, why would I pay more for a room without bugs? Additionally, I checked the rates for the room I did stay in for 2 nights later during the incident and they were the same rates as what I had booked for initially). At the end, The manager refused to give us the refund we were told we would get at check-out. additionally, he states the room was inspected and no bugs were found(in other works telling me he thought I lied).

I am very dissapointed with the customer service recovery of this incident. I would hope that they would have done everything to resolve the situation. Just to make a few bucks, they wouldn't. I ve stayed in mult motels before and never had this problem.
I work in the health industry and I know what bed bugs are, even double checked again before making a complaint. We dont allow anyone who may have bed bugs come into the hospital because of how difficult it is to exterminate.

I would be very careful staying at this place. Make sure you check the mattress box. Hopefully they cleaned every room thoroughly after this incident.

Room Tip: Make sure you check the mattress box for stains and spots, they are classic signs of bed bugs!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank N Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmokyMountainResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. Let us apologize that your stay was anything less than satisfactory. Upon learning about your unsatisfactory room at Rodeway Inn, we immediately offered to reserve you a room at one of our sister properties. We were only able to reserve your room for one night due to such high occupancy in town. Your rate for that night was deeply discounted for the inconvenience. Rest assured that the room you originally reserved was inspected and it was determined that there was no evidence of pests of any kind. After your stay, we learned that you were not satisfied with the discount so we sent you an email confirming that you had been issued a full refund for your stay. If you have not received either of these, or if you have further questions regarding your stay, please feel free to contact us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
2.8 km away
River Place Inn & Cabins
River Place Inn & Cabins
#70 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
207 reviews
0.3 km away
Creekstone Inn
Creekstone Inn
#29 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
1,051 reviews
0.2 km away
Smoky Shadows
Smoky Shadows
#69 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Lazy Bear Inn
Lazy Bear Inn
#77 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
129 reviews
0.6 km away
Ramada Pigeon Forge South
Ramada Pigeon Forge South
#41 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
1,020 reviews
2.8 km away
Days Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge
Days Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge
#56 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Bear Inn

Address: 4236 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863-4012 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Pigeon Forge)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 92 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Price Range: ₹ 3,806 - ₹ 9,998 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wild Bear Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Prime Location, Adjacent to the Beautiful Great Smoky Mountains Wild Bear Inn (formerly Rodeway Inn Pigeon Forge, Mountain Skys Lodge) located in Pigeon Forge, Tennessee, is a cozy hotel that offers guests comfortable accommodations in the heart of Pigeon Forge, all within minutes of Great Smoky Mountains National Park - the most-visited national park in the United States - as well as Dollywood theme park, Dollywood Splash Country water park and Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies. In fact, Wild Bear Inn is the closest hotel in Pigeon Forge to Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Adventurers, visitors and families find comfort within the newly renovated Wild Bear Inn at a premier mountainside location along the Great Smoky Mountains. Stop in for a one-night stay or vacation all week to enjoy the amenities, including a pool and on-site restaurant, Wild Bear Pancake House, serving breakfast daily. Choose from a variety of rooms, including a spacious three-bedroom unit all the way to a cozy and quaint studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wild Bear Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Pigeon Forge Hotel Pigeon Forge
Pigeon Forge Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing