We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed Season Pass Holder & Local”
Review of Dollywood

Dollywood
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 175.00*
and up
Smoky Mountain Theme Park & Museum Attraction Pass
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The 2010 Applause Award winner, Dollywood is recognized as one of the world’s best theme parks. Spanning 150 acres and located in the foothills of the Great Smoky Mountains, Dollywood offers more than 40 rides and attractions, including the Thunderhead wooden coaster, the steel thriller Mystery Mine and Wild Eagle, the first wing coaster in the U.S. Dollywood’s entertainment is recognized worldwide, having received more trophies, 20, than any other theme park for its live entertainment which showcases country, bluegrass, Southern gospel, classic rock ‘n’ roll and Appalachian music. Daily demonstrations by more than a dozen master craftsmen offer a glimpse into the authentic artistry of the area’s rich heritage. Guests visiting the Great Smoky Mountains can stay just a stone’s throw away from Dollywood and Dollywood’s Splash Country at Dollywood Cabins. Accommodations range from quaint spaces just for two to sprawling floor plans that sleep up to 30 people. Guests are treated to sweeping mountain views while some cabins actually overlook Dolllywood’s popular Craftsman’s Valley area. Cabin guests receive exclusives such as free reserved parking at Dollywood and Dollywood’s Splash Country and complimentary admission to Dollywood’s Splash Country.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Had a disastrous day yesterday. Similar to other reviewers, I agree that Dollywood just can't handle large crowds and the frequency of rides being shut down has to make you wonder about safety. After sitting in traffic for over an hour on Dollywood Lane, we were in the park for 8 hours and rode only 3 roller coasters and 2 rides in the Country Fair, and half our group watched a show while the other half waited in a 45-minute line for sandwiches and fries. I'm debating whether it was kinder for the Thunderhead staff to announce a long closure and tell everyone "to get out of line" or for the Tennessee Tornado staff to hold everyone in line for over 30 minutes (we waited over an hour ) and never announcing the ride was shut down. We waited over 2 hours for the 2.5 minute Fire Chaser. The Timesaver passes were sold out. The app ride time was very inaccurate. At least as a local, I can go back, but I feel bad for those that wasted the day at the park and will not have more days to try for smaller crowds.. Dollywood clearly knew they had an issue since they extended the hours from 7 pm to 8 pm.

Thank MB219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DollywoodPete, Guest Relations Manager at Dollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you for your review. It is always a pleasure to hear from our valued season passholders. On behalf of the Dollywood Company, I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your visit last week. Dollywood strives to "Create Memories Worth Repeating" for our guests, and it is clear we did not meet that expectaion during your visit.

Our Maintenance Teams strive each day to ensure the rides will operate without deviation from normal operations throughout the day. Unfortunately at times rides are closed for Maintenance to provide the safest operation possible. Again I do apologize that this happened multiple times during your visit with us.

If you would please email guestservices@dollywood.com and reference your Trip Advisor review, we would like the opportunity to make this situation right for you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (15,204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"theme park"
in 1,132 reviews
"wild eagle"
in 741 reviews
"cinnamon bread"
in 591 reviews
"roller coaster"
in 963 reviews
"season pass"
in 541 reviews
"six flags"
in 310 reviews
"festival of nations"
in 229 reviews
"tennessee tornado"
in 220 reviews
"kingdom heirs"
in 183 reviews
"blazing fury"
in 165 reviews
"silver dollar city"
in 150 reviews
"train ride"
in 482 reviews
"water rides"
in 444 reviews
"great park"
in 323 reviews
"disney world"
in 267 reviews
"bird show"
in 170 reviews
"grist mill"
in 175 reviews
Filter

1,460 - 1,464 of 15,207 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

It was my daughter's 8th birthday and it was tradition to go to Dollywood. Upon entering the gates Lightening ROd was down. She was upset because our last visit it was down as well. We proceeded on to the TN tornado and after standing in line for 2 hours got to the front of the line, and SURPRISE, this ride needed to be maintenanced as well. We then walked around to ride the Wild EAgle and you guessed it!! It was down as well. She was so very disappointed. She is a roller coaster fanatic and was really let down. She suggested next year we go to another theme park. I enjoy the festival of nations, but the rides were a let down. I'm disappointed and may or may not return.

Thank Jazmin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DollywoodPete, Guest Relations Manager at Dollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you for your review. On behalf of the Dollywood Company, I would like to apologize for the disappointment you and your daughter experienced during her traditional birthday celebration. As you know from your previous experience Dollywood strives to "Create Memories Worth Repeating" for all of our guests; however it is apparent that we did not meet those expectations this year. If you would please email guestservices@dollywood.com and reference this Trip Advisor review, we would be happy to contact you to hopefully create a memory worth repeating for you and your daughter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We first came to Dollywood in 2004. At that time it was a country music theme park. Each time we return it goes more towards trying to be like Disney in pricing without the entertainment. This last time was the worst and we are not returning. I felt Dolly had her hand in my wallet at every turn. It went from family entertainment as a goal, to a shake down.

2  Thank ccostanza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DollywoodPete, Guest Relations Manager at Dollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us. One element of our mission statement is to constantly improve. Just to stay afloat in our industry, it is essential for us to continue to provide new and different entertainment and attractions to interest our guests and keep them returning year after year. In the last 9 years, we've added more than $110 million in capital improvements including more than 30 additional developed acres on the park, 17 new rides, and nearly 20 different entertainment productions. So you can understand that the costs to support this additional infrastructure would increase as we grow and offer more for our guests to experience. Please know that our parks are still and will continue to be businesses operated by family people with a genuine vision to bring families closer together by "Creating Memories Worth Repeating."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

I have several fond memories of DW from my childhood and teen years. But now I’m a father and was looking forward to taking my son here. Long story short, we paid nearly $70 per ticket to get in, to find that they over pack the park to the point you can’t do anything. 60-180 minute waits for a ride, 30 minute wait just to order a burger and shake. They were open 10am-8pm and we managed 3 rides, train ride and 1 meal.

Much like the rest of PF and Gat, it seems DW has turned their focus on purely profit and looked away from customer service

Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DollywoodPete, Guest Relations Manager at Dollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate the feedback even though we are saddened when we failed to meet your expectations. I sincerely apologize for the disappointment you experienced due to long lines throughout the park. The weather on the day of your visit proved to be a perfect day for a visit to Dollywood and as you well know, we had an abundance of visitors. We are working on ways to reduce the wait time throughout the park when we have an unusually large number of people arriving at the park at the same time.

If you would please email guestservices@dollywood.com and reference this Trip Advisor review, we would be happy to address your concerns and offer a solution to your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Dollywood never disappoints. Even with the most people I have ever seen in the park they handle it well. They can bust a line down like pros.

Even when they are as busy as they were the staff truly acts like they love being there. I like when I ask how long they have worked for the park and you get answers always in the double digits.

The touring shows were really good and well selected. The food is still some of the best as theme parks go. They have a wining formula and cannot wait to come back again.

Thank 615neilg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dollywood also viewed

Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 

Been to Dollywood? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing