We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Motel Equivalent of a Cut-Rate Airline” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Nashville Fairgrounds

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Red Roof Inn Nashville Fairgrounds
Ranked #104 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
West Tennessee
Level Contributor
53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Motel Equivalent of a Cut-Rate Airline”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Staying at the Red Roof Inn on Sidco Drive in Nashville, Tennessee might be thought of as the equivalent of flying a cut-rate airline to a secondary airport. You may not end up exactly where you want to be, but with a price that is significantly less than the major competitors at the main destination, most shortcomings are tolerable.

On this particular trip, my destination was the Nashville suburb of Brentwood. At $49/night, the Red Roof on Sidco Dr. was about $40/night less than motels in Brentwood. That price difference was worth the extra 10 minutes of driving down I-65.

The property is typical of Red Roofs built in the 1980s. Rooms open to the outside. Inside, they are clean, decently-lit, compact, minimalist in design & amenities. The furniture almost reminiscent of an upscale college dorm room. The room is heated by several radiant-heat panels near the ceiling and cooled by a small wall-unit. Those heating units are a bit slow to warm up, but they are very effective and quiet. The bathroom has a compact tub with a showerhead.

On the premises, parking is a bit tight, there's no pool, and the only "amenity" would be the ice machine in the downstairs vending room.

The disadvantages mostly relate to its location. It's a noisy site (I-65 is within 200 feet of west-facing rooms and a noisy rail switchyard is to the east) and there are very few restaurants nearby). They also have a sneaky $1.50 in-room safe fee added to your bill -- it's something you sign-off on at check-in and you can ask to have it taken off the bill, but they will not remind you about at check-out. It's basically a little profit center that exploits those who are in a hurry or forgetful !

Room Tip: Room on both sides are noisy at night, but rooms that face I-65 might actually be the better choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GOGraffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    47
    37
    27
    43
See reviews for
43
53
26
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

Traveling cross country with a pet. Room did not smell of previous pets (urine). This hotel was cheap, clean, and the bargain was worth it. Nothing fancy at all, kind of out dated, a little beat up, but it did the job. For $40, can't ask for much. I would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

I usually really like Red Roof Inns, but not this one. I had booked a reservation about 2 months ahead to get a ground floor due to knee problems. When I got there, they didn't have it. Only had a room on the third floor. I went ahead and stayed, but I physically paid for it. The girl when I checked in, didn't even care. When I contacted the company after my stay, they were extremely apologetic about it and are refunding 1 night's stay. The location wasn't in the best area. I'll still use Red Roof Inn, but not this one.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed here on a Friday and Saturday nights for the Georgia, Vanderbilt football game. Price seemed very good, but then afterwards we realized that for the two nights, we would be charged over $25 in taxes. (plus $1.50 for the safe in the room, which we did not use) Not sure if we could have opted out of the safe charge or not, they never asked and we had them email the receipt, so were already home when we noticed the charge. The hotel is very convenient, right off of the interstate. There is a Cracker Barrel restaurant just down the street and a Super Walmart within 2 miles for shopping. There is a steel mill of some sort on one side of the motel and the interstate on the other side (close). We had a room on the interstate side, but traffic noises did not bother us at all. I think that if we had been on the side of the steel mill, the loud noises from that would have been heard- so be aware. There was some sort of large dog show going on this week-end in Nashville, and the hotel was home to literally 100's of dogs. However, the rooms must be well insulated, as we did not hear anything during the night. (we were on the 3rd floor, which may have helped) The rooms were very clean and our room (307) looked like the furnishings, as well as the bathroom floor were new. We had a king bed, which had four pillows, which was nice. There was a business desk, which made the room a little crowded, but the extra counter space was nice. There was a refrigerator and microwave. Bed was a little bit too hard, so if that bothers you, you might need to go elsewhere. They had no breakfast of any kind, just coffee. No iron or ironing board in the room, although they gladly furnished an iron and small, counter top ironing board when I asked for one. Because of the convenience of this hotel, we were pleased with our stay, but might not stay here again because of the hardness of the beds.

Room Tip: Opt for the rooms on the interstate side, rather than the steel mill side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JTDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

As usual, the price was great. We're staying for 10 days, so location was a big factor.The location of this red roof is perfect for popping downtown nashville to shop and have great food and just far enough away so the nights are quiet... Very sweet gals on the front desk (friendly,informative and helpful). In particular...Kayla Robinson is a real keeper, just a pleasure to deal with every morning. We'll be staying here again..been loyal customers for 20 years!

Room Tip: rooms on the first floor are the best...closer to coffee and parking is easier as it gets pretty bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauligoetsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nashville
5.5 km away
Americas Best Value Inn Nashville/South
13.9 km away
Red Roof Inn Nashville - Music City
10.7 km away
Red Roof PLUS+ Nashville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 km away
Super 8 Nashville West
Super 8 Nashville West
#92 of 154 in Nashville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
5.1 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Nashville-Brentwood
14.2 km away
Sleep Inn Nashville Airport
Sleep Inn Nashville Airport
#78 of 154 in Nashville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Nashville Fairgrounds? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Nashville Fairgrounds

Property: Red Roof Inn Nashville Fairgrounds
Address: 4271 Sidco Dr, Nashville, TN 37204-4507
Region: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,563 - ₹ 8,966
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Nashville Fairgrounds 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 6 miles south of downtown Nashville off of Interstate-65, the newly renovated non-smoking Red Roof Nashville Fairgrounds is within 3 miles of 100 Oaks Mall, Southern Hills Hospital, and the Fairgrounds. Within a 10-15 minute drive of the hotel are Lipscomb University, Greer Stadium, Bridgestone Arena home of the Nashville Predators, LP Field, Vanderbilt University, Belmont University, The Mall at Green Hills, Cheekwood Botanical Garden and Museum of Art, Tennessee State University, Opry Mills Mall and Grand Ole Opry. When you check in, check out the fantastic new amenities in our NextGen ® design rooms! The rooms at this non-smoking hotel feature new, comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, new modern design flooring, comfortable new seating and a large, flat screen TV with over 140 HD channels. All rooms offer free WiFi and select rooms offer microwave & refrigerator (a nominal fee may apply; please inquire). This location now offers a new business center available to guests. Experience our coffeehouse-style coffee & tea. This Non-Smoking Red Roof Nashville Fairground has an elevator. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Red Roof Inn Nashville Fairgrounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Nashville
Nashville Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing