We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Darn good Pad Thai!”
Review of Umami

Umami
Ranked #596 of 2,333 Restaurants in Nashville
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 25
Description: Umami is a family-owned restaurant, and founder Michelle and Steve Kang have a deep passion for bringing some of the authentic elements of different Asian food to Nashville in a fun and modern way. Steve is Korean and Michelle is Chinese, Umami serves a menu inspired by Michelle and Steve's upbringing and ethnic roots, together they traveled all around the world in europe and Asian countries
Restaurant details
Description: Umami is a family-owned restaurant, and founder Michelle and Steve Kang have a deep passion for bringing some of the authentic elements of different Asian food to Nashville in a fun and modern way. Steve is Korean and Michelle is Chinese, Umami serves a menu inspired by Michelle and Steve's upbringing and ethnic roots, together they traveled all around the world in europe and Asian countries
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

Went to Umami for lunch on a whim and glad I did. Ordered the Pad Thai, medium spicy and it was delicious. My friend order the Chicken Fried Rice (with pad thai spice - medium) and she said her lunch was excellent. We're making plans to go back for dinner with friends soon.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank zepolra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2017 via mobile

Had a great evening with the family. Sushi and fried chicken was excellent. Great selection of beer.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017

Fresh, made to order family owned Korean/Thai food of the highest order. Umami is a delightful little restaurant tucked away in the Lenox Village shopping center (careful Google has the wrong address). We had vegetarian curry, summer rolls. shumai, Bulgolgi and the Korean Fried Chicken. the dishes were made to american taste of heat, so be sure to ask for more if you like it spicier.
Summer rolls were acceptable (the peanut and spicy chili sauce could have used more kick, but its Nashville where people will eat fiery Nashville Hot chicken but demure on their asian spices?). The shumai were homemade and delectable with grandmas homemade dipping sauce, yum, they should bottle that stuff). Bulgogi was served with the traditional lettuce wraps and was cooked perfectly. The Korean Fried chicken (wings only, which are my favorite part of the bird anyway)had a delectable crunch, with a soy and garlic tang that was delicious.
Service was quick and polite (the owners wife) and the ambiance and noise level were acceptable. Don't be fooled by the fusion in the name - go Korean or go home.
My friend David said he had been there before and the sushi was fresh and expertly prepared. Hidden gem (but only because Google has it wrong on their maps). Go, enjoy, get adventurous.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nashvillepaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

This has become the fave sushi place for me and my wife. Hands down the best salmon sashimi I've had anywhere other than coastal cities. Michelle and her husband own this place and they're doing a great job and turning profit within months of opening. It far more than sushi... Koren tacos, Pad Thai and many other things. Highly recommend this place, especially for lunch as its not too crowded yet.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank Danny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

This is a new Asian place in town and they can be anywhere from good to excellent depending on what you get. I had items from their Korean menu and I was not disappointed. They do Korean better than any other place in Nashville, which doesn't say too much since Korea House is the only other decent Korean restaurant. The sushi fish is also very fresh. My only criticism is that the sushi rice was just ok. Great service, nice owners, and great food!

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank 799geoffr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Umami also viewed

Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to Umami? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing