We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do the backstage tour”
Review of Ryman Auditorium

Ryman Auditorium
Ranked #1 of 205 things to do in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: One of the most famous concert halls in the history of country music, this auditorium still hosts live music events.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We really enjoyed the history and backstage tour of the Ryman. Historic space and beautiful room. I really wish I lived nearby and could attend a show here ... Loved all the posters on the walls... Our tourguide was sweet but was very put off by finding part of a joint backstage after a concert ... It was kind of hilarious, really.. I mean .. it could have been a lot worse! LOL

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank rachelfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (11,565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"self guided tour"
in 1,326 reviews
"grand ole opry"
in 1,319 reviews
"backstage tour"
in 965 reviews
"mother church of country music"
in 331 reviews
"old church"
in 164 reviews
"country classics"
in 160 reviews
"historic venue"
in 139 reviews
"amy grant"
in 122 reviews
"great acoustics"
in 158 reviews
"minnie pearl"
in 128 reviews
"great history"
in 282 reviews
"beautiful building"
in 185 reviews
"piece of history"
in 115 reviews
"music history"
in 224 reviews
"lots of history"
in 175 reviews
"bucket list"
in 133 reviews
"johnny cash"
in 132 reviews
Filter

1,476 - 1,480 of 11,565 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

I enjoyed the movie that they showed, I could visit thia place again, I needed more time. It was nice to see all the performers that had played on the stage at the Ryman. A must see for those visiting Nashville.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank 702tracyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We took the backstage tour at Ryman. This is a fascinating historical place for country music. I would definitely take the backstage tour, even though it costs a little more. We enjoyed seeing the whole place and learning about what goes on behind the scenes. Book the tour online ahead of time and choose your time. We booked the first one of the day and it was less crowded.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank 446mr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

If you remember the Grand Ole Opry, this is the place you want to visit. The building is a historical marvel for its time. The educational film that is shown at the beginning of the visit is entertaining as well as informative. We skipped the back stage tour at the new opry location outside Nashville and did the Ryman instead and aren't sorry.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We loved our first visit here. The intro video was great and kept our toddlers attention. The self guided tour was nice and enjoyable. My only critique is that you can stand on stage and have your picture taken. There is a photographer there which is fine. We were already buying a picture but my toddler wanted to go back up and sing. There was no line or anything and when she asked me to take another pic of her the photographer rudely said no personal photography allowed. So my daughter cried.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank kecompel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ryman Auditorium also viewed

 
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to Ryman Auditorium? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing