We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
54
22
6
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
54
22
6
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rose cottage dixons creek cafe bar two night stay yarra valley road noise three cottages good size relaxing getaway breakfast provisions stayed nights my partner ron jan cereal wineries bedroom
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2016

Hosts Ron and Jan have achieved the perfect "let us make you feel welcome and cared-for, and then we'll leave you to your own devices". We stayed last year and found the location to be just about perfect. With some 120 wineries in the Yarra Valley, there are more than a dozen within a 15 minute drive from Leafield Cottages. The well-regarded Dixons Creek Cafe Bar and Grill is a leisurely 5 minute walk down the drive and by car it is 15 minutes to Coles grocery and (my favorite) Giant Steps cellar. Oh, and the Chocolaterie is 5 minutes by car as well.
I mention Coles as even the studio has a kitchenette with basic crockery, flatware and cookware provided. Jan ensures that there is tea, coffee and a simple brekkie provided as well. Additionally, cottages have heat and A/C, and wood fires are an option in the winter.
The grounds are lovely- well maintained and filled with trees, shrubs and flowers. The Valley was a bit chilly duriing this visit so we didn't get into the pool this time, but last year it provided a welcome relief to warm weather.
Don't come to Leafield Cottages expecting the Ritz. Come expecting a warm welcome, an ideal location and a gem of a cottage.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Ashlina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Could not fault anything. The best beds and top quality linen. Cute little cottage, spotless, lovely gardens, generous breakfast supplies including jumbo Strawberries and Muffins. Hard working owners!

Room tip: We had the cottage in the middle. The one closest to the road could be a bit noisy?
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank schatzieNoosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

The property is well located in Dixon Creek surrounded by many wineries and scenic landscapes. It is within short drive to Healsville, Maroondah Dam, Kinglake, Toolangi and Yea. The one bedroom cottage we stayed in is well maintained, cosy, spotless clean, comfortable bed, cosy lounge with well equipped kitchen. It has all that you need for a homely place away from home. The well supplied breakfast provided has shown that Jan and Ron, the owners have made the effort to ensure guests enjoy their stay. The surrounding garden areas are well maintained and neat. The Dixon Creek Cafe and Restaurant which is also a popular place with the locals and visitors is only 5 minutes walk just behind the cottage. Strongly recommended as a place to stay to truly enjoy Yarra Valley.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BeeVS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2016

This is the second time we have stayed in Rose Cottage at Leafield. The cottage is quaint, welcoming and comfortable. There is nothing that is too much trouble for the proprietors who are fantastic hosts. Rose cottage has 2 bedrooms, a good size & comfortable lounge and a well equipped kitchen which also has BBQ facilities if needed.
The cottage is central to many local wineries and, of course, the Chocolateir.
We could not speak more highly of this facility and would recommend it to anyone wanting to explore the area.

Room tip: Rose Cottage is fantastic
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016

We booked the cottage as we were going to a wedding nearby. It was easy to find the place, the owner was friendly and ansered our questions. The cottage we stayed in had a real kitchen a slow combustion oven as well as reversed air con. Breakfast was provided and consisted in croissants, bread, cereals, milk, butter, jams, tea coffee.
We also had chocolates. I thought it was a bit noisy due to the water pump? And the traffic. But i would certainely stay again there.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AussieCatalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews