We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A special place for couples and families”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
September
August
September
Christmas Day
July
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Ocean Grove, City of Greater Geelong, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Daniel M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A special place for couples and families”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Another awesome stay at Alice's Palace. It was a great place to stay for a weekend trip down the Great Ocean Road. The home was comfortable and clean with all the amenities we needed. We especially loved the beautiful gas fireplace and the board games that were available to use. Easy to find and close access to shops helped make our weekend away extra special.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2018
Thanks so much for your review Daniel. Glad you enjoyed your break at Alice’s Palace. Most welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for a getaway with the beach practically on the doorstep”
Reviewed 13 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Unbelievably close to the main surf beach. We didn't quite appreciate how close it actually is. We saw a Southern Right whale off Ocean Grove beach! Great excitement. Word spread quickly. Nice vibe.
Had a lovely winter break there. Well presented. Gas log fire was easy to operate. It made the place warm and comfortable and had a nice atmosphere. A lot of thought has gone into this place and it shows.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2018
Hi Caroline,
So glad to hear that you saw the Southern Right whale. Whales skirt the coast from May to early October so it's a great time to visit the Bellarine Peninsula and Surf Coast. Glad you had a great time at Alice's Palace, and thank you for acknowledging our efforts to provide quality holiday getaway accommodation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaside60...
2 reviews
“Great light airy condo/apartment, right there at the main beach. A great place to wind down and relax.”
Reviewed 4 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This condo is fantastically close to the beach with an incredible cafe. Whilst we choose not to cook, the kitchen is well equiped if we had wanted to use it.

Style wise, this holiday rental has an understated sophistication and we felt very at home. Loved the deck, garden and especially the gas log fire. The nook upstairs we used as an office and with the fast wi fi was perfect for our business needs.

Access to the apartment was made easy and communication with the owners was consistent and friendly. I would highly recommend this apartment and look forward to coming back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2017
Thank you for your great review D. So glad you enjoyed your stay at Alice's Palace. You got to enjoy the recent renovations, which we're pretty excited about. Nice feedback on that, and most welcome as a return guest :-).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great position, v.well presented, fantastic communication”
Reviewed 17 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Ocean Grove is a great location to be based to explore the Bellarine Peninsula. Alice's Palace is literally a stones throw from arguably one of the best beaches on this entire coast line. We had fantastic communication from the Owners, who clearly take their property very seriously and have put a lot of time and effort into the style of it. It is VERY well appointed and comfortable. Big TV, great sound, comfortable furniture, well thought out kitchen requirements, luxurious linen, etc etc. Obviously a lot of time & passion put into the property.
There are 2 car spots, although one is a little tight if you had 2 large 4WD's, and there is no actual lockable storage for surfboards / bikes, so make sure you bring an external lock if you have these. We brought bikes and had an awesome time riding into Barwon Heads on the separate bike path. Be aware that it is also a long walk to the shops restaurants in Ocean Grove but you have the cafe / restaurant at the beach which is certainly worth visiting. Many restaurants also deliver so it is not a downside.
Frankly, being at the beach in 2 mins beats being close to the main shopping strip every day!
Overall - highly recommended!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2017
Thanks for that great review David and a nice acknowledgement of our time and passion. Totally agree about the best beach (and most family friendly surf beach in Vic). Best kept 'secret' that we're happy to divulge and glad that you're putting it 'out there' for others.

The walk to the shops is less than 1km, so you might have taken the long route or been exhausted from bike riding ;-). And I have to agree, a 2 min walk to the beach wins over 11 min walk to the shops any time.

Am happy to get a lock for the under-house storage - easy fix. Done. Good feedback.

The 2nd car spot is tight if you have a big car (we have a small SUV and a Holden Cruz and they're easy to get in/out). The road is being paved at the moment and we're hoping that space/access expands.

Look forward to seeing you again - was a pleasure hosting you and your family.
Kind regards,
Sue & Phil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne K
Roseville, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 28 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We stayed at Alice's Palace for a week. We had a fabulous time! Daily walks to the surf beach, morning coffee at the Dunes, and beautiful sunsets. Conveniently located near Ocean Grove & Barwon Heads for restaurants, markets and shopping. The townhouse was comfortable, cute, and clean. Kitchen was well stocked for cooking meals at home.

Alice and Phillip were great with communication and very helpful with information and suggested activities. they truly have thought of everything to make your stay enjoyable and easy!

We highly recommend Alice's Palace and will definitely stay again the next time we are in Australia!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2017
We're glad you had a great time at Alice's Palace and surrounds and enjoyed your stay in Australia. You and your family are welcome on any return visit. As our first guests via TripAdvisor your review is important to us and we really appreciate you taking the time to write a lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing