We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dandenong Ranges”
Review of Healesville Hotel

Healesville Hotel
Ranked #10 of 59 Restaurants in Healesville
Price range: US$ 12 - US$ 26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Old world charm with new world style, this classic country hotel is at the heart of the Yarra Valley. We are now offering great food, seven days of the week using the best of the season and region. Choose from a selection of smaller snacks and tastes to nibble on with your glass of local wine... Next, let us carve some of our famous K&B charcuterie; Italian parma ham, bresaola, Spanish salamis, and our house made pork, veal and pistachio terrine... served with crusty bread, little pickled vegetables and caper berries. Our kitchen are slow cooking local lamb shoulders for 12 hours... and roasting local Berkshire pork belly. Finish with Sophie's selection of perfectly ripened cheeses, hand picked from our copper cheese cabinet in our providore, Kitchen & Butcher. Our new menu also features hearty classic 'pub style' dishes to satisfy the hungriest diner.
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

Very pleasant area. Nice atmosphere and helpful staff. Beer prices were very good and served ice cold. Food was a little expensive Chicken Caesar Salad $24. But very nice fit out and welcoming. I would come back.

Thank tommymoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

The Healesville Hotel was once a place for weekend assignations and Sunday drinking in the days when Melbourne’s pubs were closed and “bona fide travellers” could indulge in rural hamlets. While it is still a pub, it now boasts a good restaurant with a fantastic local wine list in a large room that retains vestiges of its faded glory. While our party had booked, the white table cloths were beautifully displayed on the unoccupied tables while we were treated to a bare wooden table without much style. But cost saving measures do prove that you can’t eat style, and at least we had napkins. The Buxton trout was very good, as was the cassoulet - though the pork belly was a tad fatty and would have been well replaced by the more traditional duck. The pear and almond pudding was a treat. The service was attentive without being intrusive. This hotel is well worth a visit, and the wine list provides an excellent overview of what the Yarra Valley has to offer.

Thank MirandaProrsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elise L, Manager at Healesville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Thanks for your comments on your recent visit, Healesville is certainly a town enjoyed as a day trip from Melbourne now more because of the amazing wine! We take on board your feedback regarding the linen, we are trying to make the dining room feel a little less formal and to mix it up with styles. I'm pleased you noticed and appreciated the linen napkins which are becoming more and more a thing of the past for us! Your comments on the pork have been taken on board - we do have a great whole wood roasted duck special on but you need to visit on Wednesday nights for that one!
Thanks for visiting and we hope you do again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

Visited for Sunday roast. Having a contemporary twist is fine, but one sort of expects a traditional gravy if you are going to have roast meats and potatoes. Soup was on the tepid side. But the biggest problem was that one of the two roasts advertised on the Healesville Hotel Sunday roast menu on the Internet was chicken (double checked it again after our visit), but that turned out to be untrue - the actual choice was sirloin or porchetta. If two of your diners don’t really like pork or a big hunk of beef, that’s a problem. It’s like getting a piece of egg shell in your omelette - it’s not a disaster but pretty off-putting. Dessert was good, though so at least we left a bit happier than when we ordered.

Thank ptelfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elise L, Manager at Healesville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Thanks for your feedback Pat, we will take on board your comments. While we do try and keep our website menu perfectly aligned with our weekly menu this will be one of those times we had a last minute change. We update our weekly Sunday roast through winter and find that most people are happy with the choices. I have taken on board your comment about the gravy and we will look at adding in a traditional sauce next winter. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed the dessert and we do hope you visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

We recently had lunch with friends at this hotel in Healesville. We had been past this hotel a few times on our travels and decided to try the Sunday lunch. I can understand the variance in the previous reviews from customers in that the style of food served is not for everyone's taste. If you are looking for your typical and simple "pub food" do not bother. If you looking for something modern, upmarket and different then give it a go. The soup was excellent but the main course, which was pork, was OK but not overwhelming. The service from the table staff was excellent and the ambience of the hotel together with the warmth of the open fire was great. Certainly worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Indy215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elise L, Manager at Healesville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Hi there! Thanks for joining us for Sunday Lunch. I'm glad you enjoyed the soup, our service and ambiance. I'd love to hear from you for some further feedback regarding the pork dish if you get a chance to give me a call: 03 5962 4002.
We really appreciate the feedback, thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018

Great atmosphere, we came in on a very cold night and it was great to be able to have the warmth of the wood fire.
Nice friendly staff.
Food came out quickly and was nice, yet I had expected a more flavorsome meal, due to this we are likely not to return for meal.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ahky12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elise L, Manager at Healesville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2018

Thanks for popping in and for sharing your experience.
I'm pleased you were able to warm up by our cozy fires. We'll take on board your comments concerning the food and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Healesville Hotel also viewed

Healesville, Yarra Valley
Healesville, Yarra Valley
 
Healesville, Yarra Valley
 
Healesville, Yarra Valley
Healesville, Yarra Valley
 

Been to Healesville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing